Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Stayokay Haarlem

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
Stayokay Haarlem Located at Jan Gijzenpad 3, 2024 CL, Haarlem.
Stayokay Haarlem
Netherlands
Haarlem 2024 CL Jan Gijzenpad 3, 2024 CL
79% 223
52.4138856 4.6402215
Stayokay Haarlem
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
6.9

Had a room facing the main road and car park so that wasn't very quiet for the first night, a school party then turned up and were not the quietist for the following two nights. Apart from that the beds were comfortable and the room was of reasonable size with shower and toilet rooms. The shower wasn't the easiest to keep at a nice temperature and quickly went cold. Good food for breakfast but dinner was a little too over priced for what it was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
4.6

Warning to all winter backpackers. Dont come to this hostel, it's a ghost town. You may as well pay for those expensive nights in Amsterdam. Hostel had families staying and staff were very uninviting, we felt like we were a nuisance and in their way. The hostel is too far away from the city centre with hardly any activity around it. Skip it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Oct 2016
7.7

Great place to stay. Wish the check-in was open 24/7. Had a flight delay and didn't get to Amsterdam until 3 and wasn't able to check in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.7

Stayokay Haarlem was the perfect place for me. I needed somewhere to stay while I looked for a new apartment. I had a great experience at the hostel. The breakfast was fantastic and I always felt at home during my stay. The area is by a really beautiful park and a grocery store near by but to get to the city center you should expect to take the bus or rent a bike (walking is possible but maybe not as enjoyable). All in all, a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
6.0

Way out location on busy main road. Bike hire available but still a long distance to Haarlem Centre. Even though the (standard) breakfast is included; it's by far the most expensive hostel I've stayed in. Other hostels offer the same facilities for about half the cost of Stay ok Haarlem.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.0

This is a hostel for families. During the three nights we stayed there we were almost the only young people. That was not a problem for us, but the atmosphere was not great and we met very few people. Furthermore,on one of the nights there was a wedding at the hostel and they closed the main bar and garden. We entered the "ball room" by mistake and we received very bad looks. The rest was ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
9.4

Location was beautiful and the ride through town to get there was nice, but the hostel is far from central Haarlem and the happening areas, around 20 minutes or so by bus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.9

Good points: This is the best breakfast buffet on my travels so far (in addition to the normal spread they had brown bread, fresh fruit and some typical Dutch items, like bread sprinkles, breakfast cake and cumin seed cheese). I just loved the location allowing me to access both town and coast easily by bike. Comfortable beds, good sized lockers. Downsides: The rental bike was heavy-framed, and though the single gear is traditional, it was hard work cycling over dunes against the coastal wind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
9.7

Great rooms, good breakfast, far from the city centre but right next to the national park which is beautiful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2016
6.6

Lots of children, not the best atmosphere for an adult solo traveler. My dorm didn't have enough security lockers. Place was a long walk or a 15-20min bike ride away from the city. The staff were great though. Probably would go somewhere else next time if visiting again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.