Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.0

The Step Inn hostel has a lovely, hippy-ish atmosphere and is in a good location in between the Golden Triangle and Chinatown and there's a Hindu temple just round tge corner. It's a bit tucked away which makes it a bit difficult to find the first time but you are also away from the noise of the street. The dorms and facilities are perfectly fine, staff friendly and helpful, and it was nice having breakfast included, even if it was quite simple.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Got all the essentials and is in a good location. Great staff and good vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
4.6

This hostel is only for backpackers with very little money - I wouldn't recommend it if you can afford something for a few extra dollars. It's absolutely filthy, and the dorm stinks. Check in takes an age and the bathrooms are .. well, you don't want to shower there. I understand it's cheap but I feel sad that the owner doesn't take more pride in their business.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Can't complain about anything when it costs RM20 a night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.3

Loved step inn - came back for a second trip when we flying from KL. cheap beer, free breakfasts and clean rooms with fans. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.6

The beds are really comfy and we even had a table in the dorm! People are nice and the location is good. Just toilets/showers are not really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Basic but has all the essentials and is clean. Free towel use. Comfortable bed and quiet room. I stayed in a single room with a ceiling fan which was excellent. Toast with jam and tea/coffee for breakfast. Would stay there again, location is excellent for sightseeing and transport links.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.7

Dorms with lockers inside. Cool party space on the balcony

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.7

Really nice hostel to stay in Melaka. The staff is lovely, there is a great atmosphere on the rooftop. The facilities are really good. The only down sides are a rather poor wifi connection and the mattress wasn't like a cloud but more like a bag full of spings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.1

The staff was super helpful and friendly when we arrived at 4 a.m. totally tired. The atmosphere was really nice and our stay was great in this hostel. Moreover, it is well-located close to the city center. The breakfast was simple but a good start in the day. Rooms were clean and the balcony was a good place to hang out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.