X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Reviews

No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
614 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great staff! I've really enjoyed my time there! Thanks guys!!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I was satisfied with my stay at the Step Inn Guesthouse. It was simple, but clean and had a great atmosphere. Very easy to meet other travelers. I also liked how it was conveniently located in the city, within walking distance of the Petronas Towers and other locations. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who's looking for a comfortable place to stay and is on a tight budget. I'll be sure to stay here the next time I'm in town. Jonathan Rento. New Jersey, USA


94%

In this very central place (plenty of food — especially Chinese area, train station, bus stops, walking distance to Pavilion mall), don't expect a new building but for a very good fare you got clean place with a bed in large enough 4-dorms and plenty of share spaces (TV area in the front and relatively quiet but large space in the background and a kitchen. What's more? Free simple breakfast, hot shower and .. friendly staffs, a real home feeling. Definitely the place to stay in KL!


100%

Good hostel, clean, good atmosphere, great atencion, very convenient price. I enjoyed my stay there.


97%

The staff here were great. They are currently undergoing renovations, but when it's done, it will be even better. You get your moneys worth and it is within walking distance of the major tourist areas, if you are the walking type. Everyone was very chill and easy to get along with here.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It is the the best cost effective option in Kuala Lumpur. The accomodation and staff are very good with a cheap price.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of our favorites places to stay on our rtw trip. The staff are always there and helpful. Little things count, like breakfast in the morning, very competitive prices from the vending machine and welcoming atmosphere.


80%

Staff was great, very welcoming and helpful in showing you how to get around KL. Facilities were fine and place was pretty clean. Only one outlet in dorm room. Good location to access most of KL by foot (if you like to walk)..


77%

Good location in the center of KL. Very friendly and helpfull staff (special thanks to Enes!). Breakfast (toast, jam and hot drinks) included, nice common area (there is always a mooie playing) and little terrace, Heineken beer 50 cl: very cold and only 7 Ringgit! You won't find cheaper. Not even in the stores. 😄


97%

I really enjoyed my stay at step-in. The rooms are basic but clean, and all that you need in KL. The location is perfect and has everything in walking distance. Helpful and friendly staff. I've already booked my next stay with them, and I recommended them to friends who will stay with the early next year. You can't go wrong with step-in.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay, staff friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Would recommend.


80%

Perfect for a short stay, nice people, perfect location, excellent price/performance ratio

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved my stay at the Step Inn - the instructions to find the place were clear and the staff were great!


89%

Really close to everything you want to see in KL. Staff drew me a perfect map with walking directions to everything I wanted in the city. Really close to the bus station so no need to get a taxi to and from the airport. Good hostel for your money !

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Super nice staff and best location ever!


91%

This was my second stay here, and it was just as good as the first. The staff are friendly, and more than happy to help or just have a chat. There is wifi, a cheap same-day laundry service and friendly social areas. There is lots within walking distance, but being next to the bus and train station there are also plenty of taxis about.

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel


80%

Location pretty close to most sights and easy to get to and from the airport by cheap bus transfer! Staff really helpful. Free breakfast great start to day! Same day laundry service super useful. Great stay and would stay again!


80%

Great location and atmosphere but rooms are cramped and get very hot. Good value for money, and decent facilities.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

decent place to stay for people of all ages t seems. convienent location in KL. There was construction next door and a dam car alarm the would go off about every 20 min everynight, but hey not the guest houses fault just city noise. So good review for the house bad review for the city.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback