X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Reviews

No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
715 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Close to restaurants and shops. Air conditioning was really nice as it was 30 Celsius at night. Would recommend if you're in KL for a day or a long time. Had some great social facilities in the back.


83%

The tion of the hostel is literally as close as it could be! Walking distance to the Pudu Sentral, the train statin which for example takes you to the Batu caves is walking distance. To the Petrona Tower it was approx 20 min. We had breakfast included (basic as eveywhere: toast, jam, coffee and tea :)) and booked a basic double bed private with shared bathroom. Unfortunately we only had a fan and no ac, but anyways, WiFi worked and location is a plus!


89%

The hostel was great for its price. Pretty central location, close to one of the major bus stations and LRT. It would be good if all the rooms had air conditioning, rather than some which do and some which use a fan instead. The fan struggled to keep cool in the high humidity of the city. Overall a good hostel though.


71%

Nice and quiet place just very close to every place you'll want to visit in Kuala Lumpur, we enjoy our time in step inn for the first time and we repeted in our way back home! :)

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Positive: - Good location - Friendly and helpful staff Negative: Our Ensuite Room for 75 RM/night had - actually no window - very bad smell and not very clean - the bathroom was always wet and muggy - the sink was mounted over the toilet, absolutely not comfortable - worst thing: because the bathroom was always wet there are worms on the floor!

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your constructive feedback and staying with us 7 nights, Fyi:- all our rooms comes with window, we believe you did not realize there is a window behind the curtain. Nevertheless we always inform our guests to let us know if there’s an issue so that we can take care of it instantly. Likewise have a good and safe journey ahead.

77%

We are satisfied with almost everything except that toilet was leaking and the toilet bowl was not washed before we arrived. We also requested to give us 2 blankets since we were two, but still we got only one small blanket and 2 sheets. The rooms were dark which was good for sleeping. There was a window which faced another building.

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay in step inn. staff are great very helpful. Lobby area has great buzz to it and the free flow of tea and coffee all day and night was an extra bonus. Location excellent and rooms clean.


83%

Nice place, good staff

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location and helpful staff. Central and quiet, even if a little lacking in character. My room was freshly painted [yay!] but the high % polyester sheets were a bit rough in the tropics.


49%

Some of the women from the reception weren't very friendly and it seemed like every time we asked for help or directions, we were bothering them while they were reading their book or talking to other guests from the hostel/making friends.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I have spoken to my staff and they were happy to assist you and checked you in and also provided you with 1 bottle of cold mineral water since it was a hot day. We apologies on the matter hence we did not receive any complain about them but only good compliments. We will make sure all our staff pay attention on your next visit or you may speak to the manager "Alan Leo" Personally if you have any question.

54%

Although the people seem lovely and I'm sure the atmosphere amongst travellers is homely, the room itself was but a tiny step above sleeping in a cell. Windows with bars and walls painted in dilapidated dark grey, with no natural light, certainly wasn't the nicest place to spend a night. In addition, the 'wet room' bathroom approach could be significantly improved by some structural changes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We Appreciate your comments and sorry that you were disappointed on the paint and lighting, we are in the mid of of making certain changes and gradually it will be completed. It is a pity that you did not bring these issues to the attention to our staff during your stay as we could have rectified these easily solvable issues instantly.

80%

Great location, spitting distance from KL Sentral. The common area is not always air conditioned, which is not a huge deal, but would be nice in the hot afternoon as the rooms only have aircon at night. Absolute best location to see the city.


74%

The hostel is in a great location near Chinatown so plenty of cheap places to eat and drink. The showers are hot but the shower/toilet combination leaves much to be desired when you are showering with a wastebasket filled with used toilet paper. The free breakfast is bread and bananas (on a good day) but it's better than nothing. The staff was very helpful with directions and anything else I needed. Overall very good for what you pay.


77%

lovely people, nice room, but loud construction work next door... :)

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

it was a wonderful moment to have spent a night at STEP INN. Will surely book again the next time i happen to be in KL.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A warm welcome granted us two tired travellers when we arrived. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable. They seem to enjoy being here! A chilled and friendly atmosphere, that saw me extend my stay!!!!


54%

No air conditioning. Weird smell in the dorms (I stayed in two and they both smelt bad). Staff friendly enough. There must be better available for the same money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Emily, Thank you for your review. You actually booked for a NON AC dorm therefor it is only with Fan. We do have an AC Dorm but your booking was for a NON AC Dorm. All of our Dorms and Rooms are mopped and kept clean. We always urge guest to take care of their personal hygiene since its a shared Dorm, nevertheless we will pay more attention and add fragrance in all our Dorms. Like wise have a safe journey.

89%

central kul value for money security

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel was in a great location. Everything was in walking distance as my friend and I chose this option to see more of Kuala Lumpur. The directions to the hostel was easily followed as they stated landmarks to ensure you're going the right way. 24 hour security, which was great because we could see more of the night life and street vendors and still get into the hostel. The twin room was standard and clean with a fan, but wished we opted for A/C. Only bad thing I would give are the ants.


71%

+ good location (walking distance everywhere), friendly and helpful staff, good value - shower could be a bit cleaner But overall it was good and I would stay again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(83 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback