Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1250 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alixwhitt2965
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
5.4

We had booked this hostel in advance and when we arrived at 12:30am tired and ready to go to bed, we were adivised that the hostel was doing "renovations" and the room we were booked in had no bed in it as it was being painted. There was no email or anything from the hostel to advise us that we could stay or that the room was not available. So we were stuck in te middle of the night with no where to go because the rest of the hostel was booked out as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience caused, actually it was an emergency situation and to avoid any trouble we moved some of our guests in our newly opened hostel just 50 down the road and 1 of our staff went with you to accommodate you guys there and you stayed there 2 nights. We are sorry again and wish a nice journey ahead. Regards, Step Inn Team

29th Mar 2017
9.4

Good location, nice vibe, decent facilities. Would stay again if ever in KL

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely words, you are always welcome here, have a good time ahead. Regards, Step Inn

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.7

Overall a really good price for a bed in KL, though the free breakfast is simple the beds aren't too hard making for a good nights sleep. We had a few problems though including having to leave our room with 30 minutes notice to move into another one later in the day meaning we had to repack and unpack in a hurry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guests, Thank you for your nice feedback, sorry for the inconvenience, that time we were doing renovation in some of our rooms so that's why we had to move you guys. We wish you a very good journey ahead and hopefully we will see you next time. Cheers, Step Inn

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2017
9.1

Good hostel You definitely get what you pay for staff are awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Mar 2017
8.0

The Step Inn hostel has a lovely, hippy-ish atmosphere and is in a good location in between the Golden Triangle and Chinatown and there's a Hindu temple just round tge corner. It's a bit tucked away which makes it a bit difficult to find the first time but you are also away from the noise of the street. The dorms and facilities are perfectly fine, staff friendly and helpful, and it was nice having breakfast included, even if it was quite simple.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Got all the essentials and is in a good location. Great staff and good vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
4.6

This hostel is only for backpackers with very little money - I wouldn't recommend it if you can afford something for a few extra dollars. It's absolutely filthy, and the dorm stinks. Check in takes an age and the bathrooms are .. well, you don't want to shower there. I understand it's cheap but I feel sad that the owner doesn't take more pride in their business.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. As you mention our hostel is a budget hostel, which -however- does not mean that it shouldn't be clean or in else good condition. This is why we are currently going under a main renovation process, with room renovation, painting, and fix as needed. So the bottom line is we acknowledge our flaws and actively work on improving. When it comes to check in, the standard and universal check-in our is 2 PM. When possible we always let our guests to check in sooner, but sometimes it is just not possible and we need to stick to the official guideline. Still, we do appreciate your feedback and hope we will meet guest's expectations in the future. Best regards, Step In Guesthouse Team

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.0

Can't complain about anything when it costs RM20 a night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.3

Loved step inn - came back for a second trip when we flying from KL. cheap beer, free breakfasts and clean rooms with fans. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.6

The beds are really comfy and we even had a table in the dorm! People are nice and the location is good. Just toilets/showers are not really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.