Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1313 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • christie1975
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.7

Lovely staff, no aircon in our room tho :( could hear the plastic mattress protector which was a bit eh.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to leave us with your review! We appreciate your kind words in regards to our lovely staff members! :-) As well as private fan rooms, we do also offer private rooms with air condition should you prefer that. If we could have done anything different to have improved your stay while you were here we would appreciate if you could let us know. Despite your recent experience we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

6th Jul 2017
8.3

Fan room far too hot - add extra standing fan? Sheets and towels clean but had holes and stains. Everything else was fine for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking your time to leave us with your feedback! As well as dorms with fans, we do also offer dorms with air condition if that is preferred. If we could have done anything different to have improved your stay while you were here we would appreciate if you could let us know. Despite your recent experience we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

5th Jul 2017
6.6

Very basic, have stayed in much better hostels for the same price. Only one fan in the room meant it was extremely hot at night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking your time to leave us feedback. Here at Step Inn Guest House we do also offer dormitories and private rooms with air condition if that is what is preferred over a room with fan. If we could have done anything different to have improved your stay while you were here we would appreciate if you could let us know. Despite your recent experience we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
9.4

Amazing and friendly staff members. Had an amazing time over there. Thanks to Vanessa. Dominika and Jordan for making everything comfortable. Rooms are worth the price as everything is clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rebeccahenry19971418
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
2.9

Worst place I have ever stayed. Massive cockroach in my room. Sheets were not clean, felt unsafe and had to leave early from my stay due to cleanliness, been ill since I left. Do not stay whatever you do! P.s l. I cried when I got there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking your time to leave us with your feedback. Can I kindly ask you if you are sure this review is for Step Inn Guest House? When you were here you did not at any time express that you were unhappy or felt unsafe, if anything you came across very happy and jolly and explained the reason why you were checking out early was due to you and your best friend had both made a reservation for a hostel and you decided to go and stay with your friend at their hostel. After leaving our guesthouse you came back 3 days later to look for yet another room, but unfortunately we were fully booked that day. If we could have done anything different to have improved your stay while you were here we would appreciate if you could let us know. Despite your recent experience we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
8.9

Really helpful and friendly staff and overall a well fun hostel. Lots of places to sit with (free!) tea/coffee or at breakfast. Some things (sofas, bathrooms...) could have done with better maintenance but it's not really a problem. Reasonably priced same-day laundry service. A short walk to Chinatown and to various transport hubs, e.g. airport shuttle so that's convenient. Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking your time to leave us feedback, we here at Step Inn are very happy to receive such good feedback from yourself and we are very proud to be one of friendliest and happiest hostels in Kuala Lumpur. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

We had a private lockable room with a big fan for a very good price. The hostel has a cool outdoor area and a kitchen with fridge to use. Free toast and coffee in the morning. Staff were lovely and super helpful. The showers are above the toilets, so nothing fancy and not super clean. A very simple hostel but good value and okay for a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We appreciate you taking your time to leave us feedback, we here at Step Inn are very happy to receive such good feedback from yourself and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, also thank you very much for mentioning our amazing staff members, we are very proud to be one of friendliest and happiest hostels in Kuala Lumpur. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.1

The location is perfect! Near to LRT and Chinatown, walking distance (if u dare in the heat) to most major attractions. The staff behind reception desk r just the best! Alwayys teady to help out w ur inquiries and if they dont know they'll check or get back to u later. Chilled good atmosphere and reliable goid WiFi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review – and for mentioning our amazing staff members. You have put a smile on our face! We here at Step Inn are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that if you are ever in Kuala Lumpur again you will come and stay with us – and please feel free to bring your friends! Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.4

I really enjoyed my stay here, was in a single room and it was basic with ceiling fan but really clean& comfortable. It is definitely more of a guest house than hostel in that there are a wide range of guests not just travellers but personally I liked this. The staff are incredibly helpful & friendly and I was made to feel at home here. Fantastic value for money &great location for China town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice review – and for mentioning our amazing staff members. We here at Step Inn are very happy to receive such good feedback from yourself and we are very proud to be one of friendliest and happiest hostels in Kuala Lumpur. We do hope that if you are ever in Kuala Lumpur again you will come and stay with us – and please feel free to bring your friends! Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2017
6.6

Good things in that hostel were friendly staff, central location, wifi and AC in the room, laundry service (not free). Please note, that bathroom and shower facilities are really bad. Also the advertised free breakfast is not something you should make your choice about, only plain white bread and jam is provided. Within the 4 days we were there, room were not cleaned once, even trash wasnt taken away or new toilet paper brought. We cannot recommend this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to leave us with your review. We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and if we could have done anything different to have improved your stay while you were here we would appreciate if you could let us know. Despite your recent experience we hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards, Step Inn Guest House.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.