X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Reviews

No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
543 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great and Helpful staff!!!!Thanks for your warm accomodation guys.. God bless you

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed my stay at stepp Inn guest house! The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms clean. As it's really central it's easy to walk to most places like Chinatown, the old town, Petronas, botanical garden,....


63%

The staff is really nice. Allan and Amanda where really helpful and they give you very good advice of where and how to go around KL. The hostel is well located BUT the two different rooms where I stayed had bed bugs and weren't clean and all the installation are lil old.


86%

Great atmosphere and friendly staff makes this rather dated place a good choice for KL.


63%

Amanda was awesome! And i thoroughly enjoyed our little chats - the hostel was a bit dingy, old and not very well maintained. The bed I was given was dodgy at best. On hostelworld there was a 'check' next to airconditioning. There is no aircond in the common area. This can be misleading.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. In order to avoid disappointments, we always recommend our guests to visit our website and to check the pictures and other info provided there. Nevertheless, we have remove the AC (check) on Hostel world to avoid any confusion.

54%

Room was damp, there was on possibility to open the Windows. In generał the whole place needs renovation


71%

We've been travelling for a month in Southeast Asia and in Step Inn Guest House was where we found the most helpful and nicest staff. Without a doubt, the best thing in this hostel! The staff's advice made our stay in KL incomparably worthier. Location is nice as everything is within reasonable walking distance but it could be better. Facilities are a bit out-dated and the rooms are too hot, with an insufficient fan on the wall. However, staff makes up for every flaw and I'd recommend it!

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

needlessly dirty and unkempt- several dodgy characters hanging around with no obvious function.good central location but everything very shabby.adequate for a one night stopover but no more


66%

The location of the hostel is really good. The directions from the airport were spot on as well. The staff is really nice and pretty helpful when it comes to getting info about things to do around the city. The room itself was very rudimentary and it wasn't particularly clean; there was an ant nest in the bathroom. All-in-all it wasn't horrible, but you could probably find a better place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and staying with us for 5 Nights. It is a pity that you did not bring any of these issues to the attention of us during your stay as we could have rectified these easily solvable issues instantly. We always relish the opportunity of showing our guests who have not had a very good stay that we can lift our game on their next stay to prove that these issues are a once off. Whilst we won't get a chance to do that for you we do nonetheless appreciate the feedback

66%

staff is friendly, very knowledgeable about the area, helpful. The rooms are basic, toilets had problems, water supply was a problem so sometimes no water in the middle of a shower. other patrons had bed bug problems..looked like they had taken a red marker and stabbed at their bodies for five minutes...seriously.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying at our guest house, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Unfortunately, due to lack of rain there has been a water shortage throughout the city, so we are experiencing random water shut-offs. Bed bugs is a guest houses biggest issue and we take strict measures to ensure the rooms are properly checked but occasionally they come with guests luggage or clothing which we can’t control and treat immediately.

80%

For the price you're paying, Step Inn, right in the middle of KL, is very reasonable. It's not perfect - a bit shabby, and my room was a furnace, even with the fan on the whole time, though it was late July, so what can you do? - but if you're not a fussy traveller and you're just after a cheap, convenient place to crash, you can do a lot worse than Step Inn.


80%

The staff really cares about you and tries to make you stay in KL as comfortable as possible. After 5 minutes I felt like home. The reception is in a big living room with cosy couches, perfect to chill after a long walk in the city or a long flight ;) Markus and Dimitra


94%

Great hostel....wonderful location.....great staff....total value for money


100%

Fantastic staff, and great location. Breakfast was only ok, but otherwise I would highly recommend. Great atmosphere in the common room.


74%

very helpful staff, bathrooms a bit dirty however.


94%

Just awesome. Dominic and also everyone else working there are fabulous. Will go again! Thank you

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Luxembourg
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great friendly staff, who were more than happy for directions and ideas on what to do. Good room, comfortable bed.


91%

Great place with great staff. Dominic is an awesome host, very helpful and he knows all the good places to see in KL!


97%

Superb Hostel.....hats off to the management, especially Dominic....


89%

Service and value for money is exceptional. Location is perfect; between china town and main night restaurant and bar district. Dominic at reception was exceptional, he spent 20minutes with me explaining places to eat sights to see and time required to do each. This type of service is rare in se asia no matter what your budget! For $6.50 a night this place is great value. Well done Dominic!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback