Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,100 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Located at No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur.
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur 55100 No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu
84% 1100
3.1463652 101.7013353
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
7.7

Clean place, Good location, easy to get from the airport. Beds not very comfortable, just one shower worked properly and the girl at night is not very nice. But in general it's a good place to stay for a good price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
3.1

Situated in a very dirty neighborhood. Room was so tiny. No blanket but just a thin sheet of looks like a towel. Bathroom was too narrow, dirty and horrible. The place also smells like somebody smoked weeds. Washing/Dryer machines right next to our room which was very loud and woke me up too early in the morning. Staffs are not flexible. Did not think the price was worth our stay. I found another hotel that has same price but so much better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
8.9

Really basic hostel in a good location.. Perfect for just a couple of nights in KL. Right next to the train station, walking distance from Chinatown, and about a 20 minute walk to the towers. The Russian guy that works at reception is super helpful and knowledgable. We had a basic fan room which was hot but fine and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.6

Very nice place to stay. Easy to find and a good atmosphere in there. I would definitely go back there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st Aug 2016
6.3

Value largely comes from proximity to airport bus drop-off, 5-minute walk and super clear instructions. 10 minute walk from Petaling Street Market where you can buy anything, and about a 20-minute LRT ride to KLCC for the Petronas towers. Everything else about the hostel is very basic, would recommend an AC dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice feedback, we wish you a nice travel ahead and we will be happy to welcome here again. Thanks, Step Inn Team

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location! Closed to the towers, china town, etc The place is very basic but clean and all work fine. Breakfast consists in bread & mix fruit jam and that's it which work perfectly well for me. Commun area are great with free tea and coffee and of course free WiFi access. I didn't talk much to the team but they were all helpful. They get along very well with guests in the house which gives a great atmosphere. Don't expect any confort there, but you do get what it's said on description

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your nice words, we wish you a great journey ahead, and hopefully we will see you again. Thanks, Step Inn Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.1

Good friendly hostel with lots of communal areas. Little kitchen but could have done with a microwave. Was in a basic 4 bed dorm that only had a fan, which would usually be ok except the room was small with Windows that didn't really open so it was ridiculously hot with the fan just blowing hot air around. Made for a really uncomfortable nights sleep. Really close to Chinatown and metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, actually all our windows can be open by sliding either way, we are putting signs on every dorm window so it will be easier for guests to open them. Thanks and have a good journey ahead. Step Inn Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.1

Very nice common area and helpful staff. Make sure that you get a room with an A.C. because we had only a fan and it was pretty unbearable. I prefer the bathroom facilities in the other step-Inn (pretty much right next door) but they were ok, just not that many. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for your nice feedback, we are upgrading our toilets as well so next time you will see better toilets and showers. We wish you a very good journey ahead. Regards, Step Inn Team

5th Aug 2016
7.7

Good WiFi and fan in the rooms as well as the common spaces. I would have liked to have a socket to recharge my phone and a small light in the upper bed of the bunk-beds. Kitchen is not amazing but food is so cheap outside that you don't really need it. Staff was nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your feedback, we have enough charging sockets in Dorm and private rooms, for safety reasons we don't attached any light or any other electrical device to the bed. We hope you have a very good journey ahead. Regards, Step Inn Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.1

The location is good: in Chinatown and one city-train close. Also, nighttimes there is a cool view of the KL Tower lightshow. Common area is nice as the house cat is sweet. The single room is for history friends with just a tiny bed and a piece of furniture under a not so clean fan. Entrance-reception is smokey, again not present levels, but it seems to me that KL overall has become not the greatest value (place in asia).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.