Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,080 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,080 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Located at No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur.
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur 55100 No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu
84% 1080
3.1463652 101.7013353
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st Aug 2016
6.3

Value largely comes from proximity to airport bus drop-off, 5-minute walk and super clear instructions. 10 minute walk from Petaling Street Market where you can buy anything, and about a 20-minute LRT ride to KLCC for the Petronas towers. Everything else about the hostel is very basic, would recommend an AC dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Great location! Closed to the towers, china town, etc The place is very basic but clean and all work fine. Breakfast consists in bread & mix fruit jam and that's it which work perfectly well for me. Commun area are great with free tea and coffee and of course free WiFi access. I didn't talk much to the team but they were all helpful. They get along very well with guests in the house which gives a great atmosphere. Don't expect any confort there, but you do get what it's said on description

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.1

Good friendly hostel with lots of communal areas. Little kitchen but could have done with a microwave. Was in a basic 4 bed dorm that only had a fan, which would usually be ok except the room was small with Windows that didn't really open so it was ridiculously hot with the fan just blowing hot air around. Made for a really uncomfortable nights sleep. Really close to Chinatown and metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
7.7

Good WiFi and fan in the rooms as well as the common spaces. I would have liked to have a socket to recharge my phone and a small light in the upper bed of the bunk-beds. Kitchen is not amazing but food is so cheap outside that you don't really need it. Staff was nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.1

The location is good: in Chinatown and one city-train close. Also, nighttimes there is a cool view of the KL Tower lightshow. Common area is nice as the house cat is sweet. The single room is for history friends with just a tiny bed and a piece of furniture under a not so clean fan. Entrance-reception is smokey, again not present levels, but it seems to me that KL overall has become not the greatest value (place in asia).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
8.6

Not a bad hostel for the price, but you could probably do better. We stayed in a private room with bathroom ensuite. The bathroom had earthworms that would come up out of the drain, and wasn't very clean otherwise. Other than that, the place was pretty good. It's walking distance (a kind of long walk) to the Petronas towers and the KL tower. Also, a short walk to a big bus terminal and LRT station. Staff was attentive and helpful for the most part.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice feedback, we are sorry for the inconvenience you have here, its on the top of the list to renovates all the toilets to serve all our guests better. Have a very good journey ahead. Cheers, Step Inn Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Good wifi (30Mbps in our room, reception depends where you are). Staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Good social hostel where it is easy to meet other travelers but not too noisy. Our room was quite clean but the shower leaked and there was no ventilation in the bathroom so the whole place just smelled like mold. Kitchen smells like the Indian restaurant downstairs, especially in the morning. AC worked well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your feedback, we are in a process o upgrade our private room's bathroom with air ventilation window, sorry for the inconvenience, and as you guys know we have cooking area and we have guests from all over the world so people can cook whatever they like. We wish you all the very best and hopefully we will see you next time. Cheers, Step Inn Team.

  • Elsker
  • Czech Republic, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jul 2016
9.7

From the beginning of our stay, staff was very warm and we had a really great time. Every major attractivity as Petronas Towers, Menara, Central market, Merdeka square, were in a walking distance. Around hostel, there were many good and cheap food opportunities with a range of chinese, malay, indian, thai and western cuisine. It was a good choice to stay in Step Inn.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your lovely words, we really appreciate that and we are happy that you had fun time here, we will be happy to welcome you here again, take care.

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome people to greet you. Close to everything in KL. very affordable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we wish you all the best for your journey ahead. Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.4

I booked a dorm but was upgraded to a single fan room. And after 1 day I checked out I thought I were just bite by mosquito and finally I knew it's bed bug when all over my body is so itchy and biten. Hope management will do something on this. Thanks for upgrade or I might just have a Norma stay only.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and sorry for any inconvenience caused, you should have told us about it and we could resolve the problem immediately by changing your room, we block and clean our all rooms on regular basis to control any insect or any other issue can cause any trouble to our valuable guests. We wish you all the best for your next journey and we will see you next time and do our best to accommodate you better.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.