Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Reviews

No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


822 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We booked private room with A/C. It smelled of moist. Bathroom was also terrible. Not properly cleaned. We asked for another room and they gave us one without A/C and bathroom, but didn't smell of moist. We could use bathroom in our old smelly room. Breakfast is really small simple as they tell you at the reception (toast, butter and jam and that's it). Staff is excellent. Kind and very helpful. Location is ok. Very near China town and transport to the airport.


the staff are very cheerful particularly the receptionist but the hostel has a bit of a wierd vibe with more solo and older travelers at least while I was there. The beds were very comfortable in the double bed privates but there were no screens to protect from mosquitos on the windows and the room without ac was very stuffy. overall though, because of the location (close to metro and right in the middle of everything) I would stay here again.


Awesome people and place! The staff was really nice and helpful.


Woman was kind of rude when we wanted to get a room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us at Step Inn. We have checked and you booked a Double Room without AC hence the following day at 5pm you decided to change the room to an En Suite room due to the heat. Our front desk staff spoke to you and manage to secure a room with AC and gave your good self a discount to make your stay pleasant. We would have appreciated it if you could have told us up front if there was an issue so we could have rectified and resolved it. Have a good jouney


Great atmosphere, very nice international staff, really great location with plenty of cheap restaurants nearby, but overall very expensive for what you get: the rooms are small and very hot (even with the ventilator, you simply get no air!), the breakfast is a joke (cheap toast, margarine and something supposed to be jelly), and the place is not very clean. Great place to stay due to the amazing people we randomly met, but hadn't they been there, we wouldn't have had much positive to report.


Great hostel nice atmosphere , location,friendly staff


It was very nice to stay in this hostel ,staff very friendly and helpful


Really a Good Place to Stay .. This Hotel Is in Plaza Rayat... All Places Are Very near in walking Distance And easy Catch For LRT Train Station .... Other Then Hotel : If you dono where u need to go And How , Just Go Near by Station And Ask There.. Outrside Peoples Dono Nothing.. Taxi drivers wont tell u nothing.. always say dono dono...... For comming to Hotel : KL sentral to Plaza Rayat Station... Dont Take Taxi To come Hotel.. Bus And Train Very Cheap Best Place is Step in

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The dorm rooms and beds are very nice.It is a good location fpr the airport or buses to other parts of Malaysia


No atmosphere in the hostel, a few weird dudes watching tv at all hours of the night. Bed in hallway- unclear who is sleeping on it. Staff very friendly, good advice re what to see, where to go. Location fairly central, quiet street although a little dark at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We do not Tag our customers nor people being "Weird" The TV is for everyone as long they keep the volume down. The reason you say the bed is because the room is being painted. we apologies if you were uncomfortable with the atmosphere. Like wise have a good journey..


The hostel itselfs nothing special but great location just next to Chinatown, bus and MRT station, 7 Eleven. It is definitelly worth for money.


Simple but clean rooms. Very good location, just a short walk from the Metro and chinatown. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The staff are really helpful and knowledegable about the city. Great hostel for meeting people, very relaxed easy going vibe. Breakfast was pretty average, but overall decent value for money, would recommend for budget travellers!


All was good, atmosphere was really excellent. Will definitely come back.


Great location, easy to walk to bukit bintang and klcc. the staff were pretty helpful and got us to the airport bus at 3 in the morning. The dorm and the 3 person private were clean and cold, would recommend!


Got horribly lost due to the fact that there are 7-11s everywhere in Malaysia! Other than that I had a blast at this hostel. The staff are lovely and super helpful. Met some lovely people here too! :)


That place is perfect! Common areas are really cool, the outside one specially with couches and fans. You get free breakfast and coffee/tea are always free, you can also use the kitchen for cooking your own food, fridge available for guests. I also had a great BBQ night with the staff, they do it once in a while, food is free and fun is too!! :) The staff is very cool and can give you great advice of what to see and where to go for any kind of activities.


Definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The beds are good, rooms and bathrooms pretty clean and the location is really good both when it comes to going to the different sites in KL, and when it comes to arriving/leaving KL. But mostly this hostel is something special because of its staff who is super kind, friendly, open and funny. I had the best time staying there and will definitely recommend the hostel to others and will sure stay there again if/when I go to KL the next time.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Really relaxed atmosphere. Staff were chill and made people feel at home chilling in the lounge watching movies. Air con in the room was great. Bathroom facilities were 'damp' and had a strange shower in the toilet setup. Didn't stay anywhere else in Malaysia - wonder if this is normal. Great location regarding seeing this particular part of the city. Close to Chinatown. Prepare yourselves.


Toilets were disgusting. Staff were nice.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

(55 results)

View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback