Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Step Inn Guest House and Hostel Reviews

No.35 Jalan Pudu lama, Off jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


844 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Really lovely hostel staff who gave us a full tour as soon as we got there. Great location 10 mins from Chinatown. A good way to meet people as there are a couple of communal areas, one with a TV. our double room was nice and big (if not a little dark!) and had everything we needed. Would stay here again, thanks for having us!


Wonderful and helpful staff en relaxed atmosphere :) Everyone was nice. Facilities are basic but clean and it's conveniently located, subway wise. Would definitely stay here again.


Great hostel and great stuff! I had a lovely stay.


i dont know what i must to tell this hostel. they hae staff so friendly but for the toilet i dont think so. The bathrooms and toilet no water. every floor no water. so how i can get take shower, poop and pee? i must going to my house's friend for shower. arrh its horrible. i dont think going back this place while they hve good staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry about your bad experience here, actually that day quite a few areas were hit by a pipe burst from 6th to 7th of August, including the area the hostel is in. The hostel management was doing everything within out power to improve the situation, but, unfortunately, this water disruption was out of our hands. The cleaning staff was doing their best to keep the toilets at some resemblance of cleanliness We apologize for inconvenience, Step Inn Management


The staff was friendly and helped us to explore the city. They are all travellers so they can relate to you. The only problem with our stay was that we had no water for two full days. No showering, flushing the toilet or brushing your teeth. Resulting in very unsanitary situations and bad images in your mind..


Very nice and helpful staff. They are not lying about making you feeling home. Also in good walking distance to many major places. Would stay there again!


It is a very nice and quiet Place you van have in this Hostel what ever you want when you want Party you can have Party and when you want a quiet Place for chill out you can have it here ;) Bevor i come to this Hostel i have Been in an other Hostel in Chinatown and that was very bad no athmosphere and so i changed the Place and here was it very good ;) i ll be back here again should i be once again in kuala lumpur. Thanks for the awsome stay her.


Calm, clean and cheap place to stay near Chinatown.


Great experience here; great location, loads of food options nearby and the wifi was brilliant! Rooms and bathroom were nice and clean. Staff were amazing. This was actually our second stay with them and they welcomed us back very warmly.


An overall good place to stay. Helpful staff that is always on duty (so you don't have to worry about getting locked out). Located near a bus terminal to the airport and also an international food street. Rooms were clean and well-cooled. Wi-fi was good. My only complaint was that the building itself felt a bit austere to me, but the service was spot-on.


We booked private room with A/C. It smelled of moist. Bathroom was also terrible. Not properly cleaned. We asked for another room and they gave us one without A/C and bathroom, but didn't smell of moist. We could use bathroom in our old smelly room. Breakfast is really small simple as they tell you at the reception (toast, butter and jam and that's it). Staff is excellent. Kind and very helpful. Location is ok. Very near China town and transport to the airport.


the staff are very cheerful particularly the receptionist but the hostel has a bit of a wierd vibe with more solo and older travelers at least while I was there. The beds were very comfortable in the double bed privates but there were no screens to protect from mosquitos on the windows and the room without ac was very stuffy. overall though, because of the location (close to metro and right in the middle of everything) I would stay here again.


Awesome people and place! The staff was really nice and helpful.


Woman was kind of rude when we wanted to get a room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us at Step Inn. We have checked and you booked a Double Room without AC hence the following day at 5pm you decided to change the room to an En Suite room due to the heat. Our front desk staff spoke to you and manage to secure a room with AC and gave your good self a discount to make your stay pleasant. We would have appreciated it if you could have told us up front if there was an issue so we could have rectified and resolved it. Have a good jouney


Great atmosphere, very nice international staff, really great location with plenty of cheap restaurants nearby, but overall very expensive for what you get: the rooms are small and very hot (even with the ventilator, you simply get no air!), the breakfast is a joke (cheap toast, margarine and something supposed to be jelly), and the place is not very clean. Great place to stay due to the amazing people we randomly met, but hadn't they been there, we wouldn't have had much positive to report.


Great hostel nice atmosphere , location,friendly staff


It was very nice to stay in this hostel ,staff very friendly and helpful


Really a Good Place to Stay .. This Hotel Is in Plaza Rayat... All Places Are Very near in walking Distance And easy Catch For LRT Train Station .... Other Then Hotel : If you dono where u need to go And How , Just Go Near by Station And Ask There.. Outrside Peoples Dono Nothing.. Taxi drivers wont tell u nothing.. always say dono dono...... For comming to Hotel : KL sentral to Plaza Rayat Station... Dont Take Taxi To come Hotel.. Bus And Train Very Cheap Best Place is Step in

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The dorm rooms and beds are very nice.It is a good location fpr the airport or buses to other parts of Malaysia


No atmosphere in the hostel, a few weird dudes watching tv at all hours of the night. Bed in hallway- unclear who is sleeping on it. Staff very friendly, good advice re what to see, where to go. Location fairly central, quiet street although a little dark at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We do not Tag our customers nor people being "Weird" The TV is for everyone as long they keep the volume down. The reason you say the bed is because the room is being painted. we apologies if you were uncomfortable with the atmosphere. Like wise have a good journey..

(46 results)

View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback