Hostelworld.com

Stone Hotel & Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
Stone Hotel & Hostel Located at Biltstraat 31, , Utrecht.
Stone Hotel & Hostel
Netherlands
Utrecht 3572AC Biltstraat 31
81% 657
52.0949256 5.1278082
Stone Hotel & Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Thierry19
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Pretty cool hostel in a well situated place. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom were clean but very small and cramped. The atmosphere was pretty boring and the price was quite high, but otherwise this hostel is a good place to stay. The kitchen is big and you can cook anything you might want. The free breakfast is mainly cold cuts, bread and jelly but it is pretty good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Laurenushka
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.3

Facilities are old and not the cleanest. Very squeaky bunk beds and there was one toilet located in the hall for the entire floor. However, really great old school hostel vibes with super friendly and knowledgeable staff, a proper kitchen and common room, and social atmosphere. Location is great, just across the road from a beer shop, a bakery, a grocery store, etc. I had a great time but not for someone looking for luxury.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2016
9.4

The location of the hostel is perfect, just few minutes walk to the city centre. The room was clean and nice, with two toilet cabins in a room for 8 people. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
5.7

The place looked like it seriously needed a refurbishment, the walls and doors were cracked or had marks in almost every room. The 3-person private that we stayed in was tiny. We had a shared bathroom and it was filthy. We ended up cutting our stay short and moving somewhere else. That being said, the staff was very helpful and we received a full refund for the days we cancelled (which I thought was very nice), and the area was lovely.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
8.3

Same as other hostel in western europe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Apr 2016
4.6

This hostel is one of the worst I have ever been in. The structure is run-down. The dorm was small and dirty. My duvet and sheets were disgustingly filthy

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
10.0

Excellent stay! My only quibble is the fact that the top bunks in the dorms don't have railings! If you don't feel safe, ask for a bottom bunk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2016
10.0

Great Hostel- central, clean, and very firendly staff. The free tea and coffee was a lifesaver, as was the possibility of renting a padlock for the night. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
4.9

This place is obviously run by people who don't care, or I'm guessing who work for accommodation? I saw at least a dozen things that could be improved with little effort. Start with new mattresses and replace stuff that's broken or mouldy. Paint job wouldn't go astray. The kitchen shelves were greasy and obviously never get a deep clean. The staff are always just sitting behind the computer - nice enough people but don't take any initiative to tidy up the place or create a vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
9.1

My friend and I had a lovely two days at Stone Hostel. The staff was really friendly and international and gave good recommendations for things to do, the common area had a calm vibe with it where you could chill on your laptop, play boardgames and just as easily turn around and have a great conversation with another guest. Most importantly, clean beds! Will definitely be back if I find myself in Utrecht again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.