Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Strand Continental

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
Strand Continental Located at 143 Strand, London, , London.
Strand Continental
England
London WC2R 1JA 143 Strand, London
73% 421
51.5116003 -0.1184463
Strand Continental
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • mimrulz18310
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.1

Good solid hostel relative to the price in London. Good for an overnight stay. Had an issue where a staff member charged us 10£ on the day we checked out to hold our bags which was never refunded. Never had that happen before which was annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
7.4

Be prepared for very basic accommodation (only 1 out of 2 showers on my floor had hot water, the 4-bedroom dorm had very little unoccupied floor space, and I could feel all the springs in the bed) at an excellent location. Breakfast room has a lot of character though, and breakfast itself was fine too (despite the instant coffee; but overpriced coffee joints abound anyway). It's about the cheapest bed I could find in London, and considering the location, it was okay with me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
4.6

Not as expected or needed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2016
9.4

Third stay at SC enjoyed, near so many places, really good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.7

If you want a place to just "get your head down" - then the location and cleanliness of the place will satisfy you on a budget. My friend and I paid £40 each for a double room; and we were free to wander around Covent Garden and leicester square without wor ring about transport. It's hard to find- look out for the Indian restaurant next to the newagents. There are a lot of stairs. But the staff are really helpful and friendly, it's clean; and basic. Clean sheets, clean towels, and it'

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
7.1

Best london location ever. The staff is too uptight though (except the finland girl). Breakfast does the job and the shared are quite ok for london (for the proce and location)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
9.1

I enjoyed my stay there. At the price, given the area I was expecting much less. The single room I had was very nice and the location was great. I recommend this hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
7.4

This hostel is good value for money but is in need of some new beds. Could feel every spring! The location is excellent especially if you want to see a show on the strand! The fact you get breakfast included in the price is pretty good to!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
8.0

Hospitable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
5.1

My 4-bed room was two bunk beds - I could only stand sideways in the gap between the beds. I paid extra for "en-suite" - en-suite was a sink.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.