X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Strand Continental Reviews

143 Strand, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very clean hostel, with decent staff and decent guests, quiet, consists mainly of 4-bed rooms, and has a perfectly central location. Would definitely stay there again when visiting London.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

there was no hot water at 10am in the morning, neither at 10pm. Check out at 10am. too early. The walls are like papers, I could here the guy in the room accross snoring Location is amazing. 7 Mins walk from trafalgar square. You got what you pay for

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice and clean room, nice staff and amazing location. Would recommend.


80%

Excellent location, you can get anywhere on foot or by bus (multiple bus stops near), the surroudings are also enjoyable with a lot of facilities near by and a 5 minute walk from covent garden and leicester square if you are looking for a night out. Another good thing is the continental breakfast. However, must point out that the rooms are EXTREMELY small and the water supply is far from enough. From 7.30am no more hot water, so you'd better wake up early! It's about time they fix this...

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I over paid ten pounds more and they didnt return it back, obviously it's also my fault i didn't check when they gave the exchange, but the manager who is dealing with this is too busy to sort it out, quite disappointed


69%

The rooms are not well cleaned. The mattresses are old and very dirty. They do not have sufficient hot water and more than once have to take a cold shower.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Best part is the location. The facilities are older and a bit rundown, Still it was clean, if spare. The breakfast was continental, and was nice.


77%

Clean bathroom and toilets. Sink and enough shelves in every room for 3 people. COULD NOT OPEN WINDOW FOR FRESH AIR, but the rest was ok. Breakfast room a bit smelly but had a good view. It's where all theatres are. Perfect place for visiting theatres low budget wise.


51%

Good: Friendly staff, great location in the centre Bad: - No kitchen to prepare food. At least the friendly staff offered heating foot via microwave. - Room has been way too small for 6 persons. Beds were instable and uncomfortable. - Cleanliness was awful. On our first way up to our room (6th floor) we discovered a big spider on the floor. It remained there for several days. Some of the bathrooms and toilets were just disgusting - There was a smell of chlorine in the whole hostel

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

lacation is good and price is also good. but staff is so boring even she shout me,, cause after shower i didnt make up the toilet... i cannot understand .. The problem is not over. Facility is big problem in here... But wifi is so strong!!! i love it!!!


71%

Cold water for two days...


66%

Very basic, but for the price you pay you can't really expect much else. Excellent location and got a good nights sleep - can't really ask for more!

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The location was excellent, a few minutes away from the main views of the city. The hotel has wi-fi only on the reception floor. The rooms are small, and are located in the upper floors with no elevator.


71%

NO HOT WATER FOR TWO DAYS OF OUR STAY


83%

For what it is and the price I thought it was very good. The room was clean and had a sink and plenty of space. The bed was clean and comfortable. The toilets and showers could have been cleaner and maybe a bit more modern. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was no noise through the night. The location is excellent for central London. If you're after a cheap visit to London, I would recommend this budget hotel!

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The neighborhood is a little bit dangerous but the hotel is fine.. not what expected for the amount of money I paid but ok to sleep.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Panama
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback