Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Strand Continental

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 432 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.1
Strand Continental Located at 143 Strand, London, , London.
Strand Continental
England
London WC2R 1JA 143 Strand, London
72% 432
51.5116003 -0.1184463
Strand Continental
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
6.6

A great location with easy access to many sights. There were many stairs and the bathrooms could do with some hooks to hang your belongings from to keep them off the wet floor. The staff were helpful and as long as you don't expect too much it's fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lucibart
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.3

Perfect location for theatres, shops, restaurants, tube. Staff are friendly, wifi is only is lobby and hardly works. Rooms are small but fine just to rest her head

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Aug 2016
7.1

The hostel covered the main considerations when booking a room for a night. The bed was comfortable enough, the bedding adequate, and showers hot. The main thing going for this hostel is its location. Doesn't get much better than this. The hostel could be something special with its India Bar and art decor interior. However, instead, it looks/feels dated, neglected and a bit on the run down side. And NO LIFT! A large, suitcase barely fits in the stairway and lugging one up 4 flights is hard work.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.6

Great location right in the thick of things. Facilities are nothing fancy but clean enough and I'm not really there to hang out in the hostel anyway. They lock up at 11 pm (I wasn't told this!) so if you come back after there is a bell you can ring. free breakfast in the morning is a nice plus too. overall, satisfied.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
4.9

If you are looking for hot water, look no further! Extremely hot water coming out of every faucet. Very compact rooms. With luggage there is hardly any space to move. Not the worst hostel but definitely wont come again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
7.1

The location was awesome. The room could have been cleaner but it wasn't too bad. I felt safe there and comfortable...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.3

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and my room was clean and well kept. However I would note that I was on the 5th floor and there isn't a lift, that didn't bother me but I could see others being put off. Also the wifi didn't reach my room, but I wasn't there much do once again this wasn't a major issue for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jul 2016
6.9

It is in a great place, you can go everywhare walking... If you linke walknig a lot The price... Well, it is London, everything is expensive I didn't see any kintchen which I could use, but I was not looking for one The worst thinkg were the fact it does not have a lift, and the rooms start in floor 3 (I got one on the 6th) and the mattress, TERRIBLE, I could feel the springs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mimrulz18310
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Jul 2016
7.1

Good solid hostel relative to the price in London. Good for an overnight stay. Had an issue where a staff member charged us 10£ on the day we checked out to hold our bags which was never refunded. Never had that happen before which was annoying

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
7.4

Be prepared for very basic accommodation (only 1 out of 2 showers on my floor had hot water, the 4-bedroom dorm had very little unoccupied floor space, and I could feel all the springs in the bed) at an excellent location. Breakfast room has a lot of character though, and breakfast itself was fine too (despite the instant coffee; but overpriced coffee joints abound anyway). It's about the cheapest bed I could find in London, and considering the location, it was okay with me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.