X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Strand Continental Reviews

143 Strand, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
364 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The staff were excellent and very helpful at all times!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Clean room up 5 floors with a grubby shared toilet . Did the job but glad it was only for one night!!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great Location ! Staff very friendly and helpful. Great that its history is about India independence, but this is where it relates to the hostel. If you have visited India you will know how accommodation standards fall very short. Not dirty but very shabby without the chic,really needs an overhaul (badly). Restaurant more canteen with restaurant prices, portions not enough for a weary traveler but nice. The waiter eagerly pointing out service charge not include ! rooms are grim !

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Location was great, I had a single room so cannot comment on dorms, my room was fine , floor a bit dirty but bedding clean. Toilets could have been cleaned more and there was only one working shower on this floor found it clean one day and dirty the next also got very busy.take flip flops for the floors. Breakfast was an added bonus cereal and toast with tea and coffee

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The water that they have for showers is scalding hot, the rooms are also extremely small. The breakfast and location were both excellent, though!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff is awful, they aren't helpful at all! The lady is as rude as can be. I borrowed a plug and she came and took it out of my room without informing me, while I was not there. It's not clean, the restrooms are disgusting and you can barley move in them as well as the rooms. They are TINY. They also only have one plug for four people. They are also extremely hot, the window only opens about 1/4 of the way. Everything is rigged, the sink had a bottle cap in the drain to keep it opened.


77%

anything more than a whisper in your room and you risk being overheard in the adjoining room. doors need to be fitted with a dolby sysytem as tehy close with a firece BANG so pray that you have considerate neighbours !! staff are helpful climb upsatirs is quite steep - so no worries if you have missed the gym for a few days room(s) are small but bathrooms and toilets are clean


80%

Mirrors in bathrooms would be great!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

The location is good. Everything else about this hostel is bad. Bad staff, bad facilities.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great indian food

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good location close to the main attractions and the tube . Girls from tthe front desk were very helpful with indications about places ( cheap supermarkets and shops) . The area is safe duringthe day and the night.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

For the price and location, amazing.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed in a single room at 3rd floor and was woken up at 2am with door banging, laughter and loud talking then another similar episode at 5am. I was heading for a job interview and with such restless night, it was not very advantageous for me. I know it is not the hotel's fault but I feel that staff member should address this issue. Only 1 small bathroom was available. Cheap but is it worth it?


31%

Honestly, probably the worst hotel i've ever stayed at in my life. 1. the location is very noisy. got no sleep the whole night as there were horns honking, sirens going off and drunken lads shouting all night outside. 2. the wifi is only available in the lounge area and none at all in your rooms. 3. the hot water runs out after 2 people shower. i couldn't even shower the 2nd morning; had the tap running for 15 minutes and it was still freezing. 4. no lift. lots of stairs 5. not cheap


100%

It is a hostel, although very quiet inside.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a single room with shared toilet and shower on the 5th floor. The room was very clean and the showers and toilets in the hallway were cleaned several times a day. Water was hot and great water pressure. The breakfast was good. The location was the absolute best. Across the street from several plays I saw. It is also right on the main street and walking distance to the Tube. You could not ask for a better place to stay. I stayed 3 nights and the place was very quiet and clean. Great place!!


77%

There is no wi-fi in the rooms, only in the bar at the ground floor. In my floor the shower was only cold!

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, adequate facilities, low cost, good people.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

It has a great location on Strand Street between St. Paul's and Trafalgar Square but the place is a dump. The rooms are small and some of the holes in the wall were fixed with duct tape. WIfi is only in the lounge.


69%

The location is the best thing about this place. It is right in the heart of London. The price point cannot be beat for this part of town. It is very basic and rundown which is expected anyway. Don't expect to socialize or make friends here, it is just really a place to rest your head after a long walking day.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(168 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback