X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Strand Continental Reviews

143 Strand, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
392 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

There's no elevators, one of the toilets was without water. There's no wifi connection on the bedrooms. One of the beds are blocking the door of the wardrobe.


54%

Wifi only in the lobby, not in the room. Badly soundproofed (slamming doors, other guests talking,...), uncomfortable bed. Staff wasn't always available ->delayed check-out therefore.


86%

Very good value for money. Just one thing: think twice about making a reservation for a taxi in the hotel. The drive to Liverpool St. Station very early in the morning would cost me almost twice as much as it did when I got a taxi on the street after my appointed taxi didn't show up. (I paid 10,50 pounds for around 10 minute drive.)


91%

Great location (even though it's kinda hard to find due to the constructions at the moment). Walkable to many attractions, many good restaurants and shops around. Good size room, clean bathroom. Good breakfast. Wifi only in the lobby, the restaurant or the breakfast areas. Some guests were loud at night but I think some people complained and the manager told them to keep it quiet. Great staffs that went out of their way to help with directions and recommendations. Recommended!


77%

This is a good hostel with an interresting Price, it is near many placess such a as london eye big ben the narional galery covent garden soho, the tate modern is a little walk from the hostel. About the facilities, it's g the toilet are very clean, more than any hostel I went to, the showers are ok, but there are easily flooded because the water ge through the s shower cabin, it's not impervious, this statement concerns the showee at the 6th floor. Nothing to say about the room it's clean

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The room was very small, specially for 6 beds.


80%

Nice hostel in London city center. Great value for money and great location!


89%

ItIt is a hidden gem. I am a contract IT worker and I was worried about noise, other people there, etc. The place was fantastic and in such a brilliant location. I will be staying there very often.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Absolutely atrocious. Bloke on reception is the most intransigent person I've ever encountered. Facilities atrocious and general decor can only be likened to what you'd expect in 1970s Beirut. Kindest regards

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff were excellent and very helpful at all times!

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Clean room up 5 floors with a grubby shared toilet . Did the job but glad it was only for one night!!

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

Great Location ! Staff very friendly and helpful. Great that its history is about India independence, but this is where it relates to the hostel. If you have visited India you will know how accommodation standards fall very short. Not dirty but very shabby without the chic,really needs an overhaul (badly). Restaurant more canteen with restaurant prices, portions not enough for a weary traveler but nice. The waiter eagerly pointing out service charge not include ! rooms are grim !

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Location was great, I had a single room so cannot comment on dorms, my room was fine , floor a bit dirty but bedding clean. Toilets could have been cleaned more and there was only one working shower on this floor found it clean one day and dirty the next also got very busy.take flip flops for the floors. Breakfast was an added bonus cereal and toast with tea and coffee

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The water that they have for showers is scalding hot, the rooms are also extremely small. The breakfast and location were both excellent, though!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Staff is awful, they aren't helpful at all! The lady is as rude as can be. I borrowed a plug and she came and took it out of my room without informing me, while I was not there. It's not clean, the restrooms are disgusting and you can barley move in them as well as the rooms. They are TINY. They also only have one plug for four people. They are also extremely hot, the window only opens about 1/4 of the way. Everything is rigged, the sink had a bottle cap in the drain to keep it opened.


77%

anything more than a whisper in your room and you risk being overheard in the adjoining room. doors need to be fitted with a dolby sysytem as tehy close with a firece BANG so pray that you have considerate neighbours !! staff are helpful climb upsatirs is quite steep - so no worries if you have missed the gym for a few days room(s) are small but bathrooms and toilets are clean


80%

Mirrors in bathrooms would be great!

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

The location is good. Everything else about this hostel is bad. Bad staff, bad facilities.

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great indian food

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good location close to the main attractions and the tube . Girls from tthe front desk were very helpful with indications about places ( cheap supermarkets and shops) . The area is safe duringthe day and the night.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(177 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback