X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Strand Continental Reviews

143 Strand, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
315 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good hostel however annoying that there was no elevator and that the wi-fi only worked down in the bar/common area, also that the rooms were a little too squishy. We also booked a female dorm yet somehow ended up with a guy in our room.


46%

Stairs were a massive pain, staff weren't overly friendly. The breakfast included was terrible and the staff member was rushing us all so that he could finish cleaning up. The rooms were hot and stinky and the mattresses looked like they had been donated! Would not recommend this place.


43%

Words cannot express how dreadful goss place was. Will never be back!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

As hostels go this was very good but have stayed in better for less, but being in the middle of london and a prime spot you can see why they let standards slip because you can get away with location compensation

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No safetys in rooms


83%

the best: local the worst: cleanliness

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The bathroom are horrible. Some of them have very dim lights and the water are sometimes as hot as boiling water.


60%

Location is probably the best aspect. Really dank feeling in this hostel. Not cheerful at all. Matresses were really substandard. Wifi only works in the common area.


49%

Good location and it is only good facility. Poor breakfast, Internet only in lobby, dirty rooms, toilets and showers, no towels.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

After reading the horrifying reviews of others others, the expectations where low. However, considering the location, and not being to picky, it was a good stay. I see why some people might complain, especially if I compare to hotels from other business trips. But doing budget traveling implies for me to not have a problem with minor 'quality issues'. It was fine. But isn't for everyone.


29%

Stolen electronics from locked room. No signs of forced entry, very suspicious. Has not been the first case of theft at the property (see trip advisor, november 2010). I would not recommend staying here, especially considering how unhelpful the staff were after our robbery (taped the surveillance tape shortly after our report)

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean hostel, with decent staff and decent guests, quiet, consists mainly of 4-bed rooms, and has a perfectly central location. Would definitely stay there again when visiting London.

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
69%

there was no hot water at 10am in the morning, neither at 10pm. Check out at 10am. too early. The walls are like papers, I could here the guy in the room accross snoring Location is amazing. 7 Mins walk from trafalgar square. You got what you pay for

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice and clean room, nice staff and amazing location. Would recommend.


80%

Excellent location, you can get anywhere on foot or by bus (multiple bus stops near), the surroudings are also enjoyable with a lot of facilities near by and a 5 minute walk from covent garden and leicester square if you are looking for a night out. Another good thing is the continental breakfast. However, must point out that the rooms are EXTREMELY small and the water supply is far from enough. From 7.30am no more hot water, so you'd better wake up early! It's about time they fix this...

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I over paid ten pounds more and they didnt return it back, obviously it's also my fault i didn't check when they gave the exchange, but the manager who is dealing with this is too busy to sort it out, quite disappointed


69%

The rooms are not well cleaned. The mattresses are old and very dirty. They do not have sufficient hot water and more than once have to take a cold shower.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Best part is the location. The facilities are older and a bit rundown, Still it was clean, if spare. The breakfast was continental, and was nice.


77%

Clean bathroom and toilets. Sink and enough shelves in every room for 3 people. COULD NOT OPEN WINDOW FOR FRESH AIR, but the rest was ok. Breakfast room a bit smelly but had a good view. It's where all theatres are. Perfect place for visiting theatres low budget wise.


51%

Good: Friendly staff, great location in the centre Bad: - No kitchen to prepare food. At least the friendly staff offered heating foot via microwave. - Room has been way too small for 6 persons. Beds were instable and uncomfortable. - Cleanliness was awful. On our first way up to our room (6th floor) we discovered a big spider on the floor. It remained there for several days. Some of the bathrooms and toilets were just disgusting - There was a smell of chlorine in the whole hostel

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(147 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback