Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 333 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School Located at Strandhill, Co. Sligo, Sligo.
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
Ireland
Sligo Strandhill, Co. Sligo
87% 333
54.2704871 -8.6086678
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.7

We loved staying in Strandhill, great place, there is a lovely lounge, nice rooms and fantastic location! It would have been great if the weather had been a bit better and the surf, but obviously not the fault of the hostel. Will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • evedaly
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Ideal if you want somewhere quiet by the beach. Our Irish group of 5 got into sligo and immediately left as no where to park in the town, and strandhill was lovely location nearby. Staff were polite and helpful. Bes were comfy. We went back for another night a few days later and they accommodated above expectations by grouping is together as much as possible.Would recommend to anyone. The WiFi is a bit hit and miss depending on where you are in the hostel though, that could be improved.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2016
10.0

The bedrooms are spacious and clean and staff friendly would go back again .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
9.4

Nice place, phenomenal location. Kitchen is pretty small, and would be a challenge to use when the place is full. We stayed in early June, and the place wasn't too busy. I'd bet it's hopping when the surf is up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
10.0

A really nice surprise...loved the area so much extended for a day...tricky to make sure you know the restaurants hours...the seaweed bath was awesome!! So much to see and do within a short drive...don't miss bringing a rock up to Queen Mauve ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
8.3

We were not there for the surf, but I can imagine that for a surfer this hostel is even better. We enjoyed our stay. There is plenty of hot water for the showers and the hostel is very close to the beach. The kitchen is too small, this is the negative point. It is hard to cook more than one person or group at a time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
6.0

My stay was ok. Great location! Only a few 100 meters to the beach. Strandhill is a great place to chill out for a couple of days. Breakfast nothing fancy, 2 cereals, toast, tea, instant coffee. Security is a problem. Back door left open most of the time. Room keys are of the ancient skeleton variety! NO lockers! Not much backpacker interaction while I was there. But I did enjoy my stay in the area. This hostel is ok for a visit to Strandhill which I highly recommend. The hostel is adequate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Nice hostel, feeling as at home! Clean, very good situated, the man that receives me explained me everything while check in and even show me my room up the stairs. I was a bit cold and he gave more additional covers straight away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Such a Paradise village. Jean and Edgar at hostel are superbe along with rest of staff. This hostel and village is a must. I will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
6.9

The hostel was acceptable. Sheets and bathrooms were clean, showers could use hooks though. Shared facilities were a bit questionable (kitchen, lounge, dining). Wifi was good. Top bunk mattress was really good, bottom was poor with a huge dip in the middle. Size of 4 bed room was decent. Location was good, right by the beach in Strandhill and the few bars / restaurants. A good budget place to stay for a night or two to see the area and walk around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.