Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • helenkennedy71607
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

We stayed in the Lodge at the hostel and we had a private ensuite room. The location is perfect we had a view of the sea from our room. There are two bars across the road which serve food and have live music. The continental breakfast provided was great with a good selection. The staff we met were friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful location! ;) SurfnStay Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.0

Strandhill is a great location. The hostel is just around the corner to the beach and across the road to several restaurants including the local pub. The staff at the lodge were welcoming and helpful. It is evident that this place has been well used over the years but it's clean, in a good location and has comfortable beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed our beautiful location! ;) Safe travels. SurfnStay Team

25th Apr 2017
8.3

This hostel is perfectly located! Steps from the beach. Food, pubs, seaweed bath, good hiking all right here. Sligo and burial grounds near by. Facility is a bit run down. Very small rooms for the amount of beds. Stained carpet. No place to lock things up. Biggest issue: there was no host. Several non English speaking kids that had no way to share info on area, if they even had any. Never saw anyone. Mid week, maybe owner busy? But missed. No idea about surf school , doors open no one there...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.0

Everything good for me during my one night stay at this hostel. Definitely will come back. Just bear in mind there is not many restaurants open at night if you arrive late. So you may want to pack some dinner if you plan to arrive late at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
8.9

No better location than this hostel right in the heart of Strandhill. We loved the surf lessons as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Mar 2017
9.4

Great location,, friendly people, comfortable too. And you can hear the waves!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Feb 2017
8.3

Nice cosy place Not too many people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
8.6

The place, location, and staff where great. The locals where all so frendly, with a few unreal irish bars in the area!! I will definitely be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.