X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stray Cat Hostel Reviews

Mebusan Yokusu 35, Findikli Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
794 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a good place. If I return to the city I will stay there.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy new travels.

77%

close to bus station but very difficult walking(hill)...good staff and the breakfast its ok...to share just a little living...you can visit the mosque walking 25m

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback and we enjoy to know you had a overall nice stay with us.

89%

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel! The paintings everywhere are so nice and the fact that you offer some cats a home gives the hostel an extra feeling of being very welcome. It's close to taksim but the hill is quite steep, i didn't see that coming. Wifi unfortunately doesn't work very well on higher floors (as well in the dorms as in the Twin bedroom) but downstairs is enough space to sit down. Breakfast was perfect! Thanks for all your good help! P.s. I was a little cold at night :s

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for being very kind and giving us such a nice feedback. Special thanks for mentioning about kitties. Nice to know we see you again in your next Istanbul visit.

89%

Location was great next to restaurants and cafes. Walking distance to two or three metro and tram lines. Room was a little cramped and the building and my room was a little noisy from the plumbing. Otherwise the staff was super helpful and friendly, and I felt welcomed. Recommended but maybe some rooms are hit or miss.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience for Stray Cat Hostel.We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our location and staff , We apologize if you experienced some small problem with the size of your single room . We have different sizes for single rooms, when you inform us beforehand or upon arrival we are more than happy to make the arrangements according to your wishes. Happy travels.

97%

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. The beds were comfy, the showers warm and the staff were wonderful they were really friendly and full of great advice The cats were an addedd bonus!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice words for Stray Cat Hostel . We enjoy to know you had a joyfull stay in Istanbul. Nice to know we are going to be your choice again for your next trip to Istanbul. Happy and Safe Travels

100%

The hostel staff was amazing, such a nice and cozy place. Very clean! Hope to be there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice words for the athmosphere and staff. It was a pleasure to know we are going to be your choice for your next Istanbul visit. Happy and safe travels.

100%

Honestly this place is perfect, however, if you are not into cats then this is not the place for you. Location is perfect. You are close to the tram and the ferry that takes you to the Asian side/prince's islands. You are a steep walk uphill to taksim but please be aware that Istanbul is FULL of hills. Staff is very friendly. I would come back if given the opportunity to do so.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was a pleasure to have you and your friend here. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, and for the nice words, a special thanks for mentioning about kittens. We wish to see you again for your next Istanbul visit.

80%

Close acres to the metro and Taksim Square/Istiklal Caddessi make this a good location, but the neighborhood is a bit run down. The atmosphere is very friendly and artistic, and very friendly staff.

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice words about our location, staff and athmosphere. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed the vibe in hostel. We hope to welcome you again for your next Istanbul visit. Happy and safe travels.

89%

Awesome people running and working at the place! They can give you awesome recommendations on what to do and to see. And they will make sure you stay away from the tourist traps :-) just ask them anything you wanna know about the city!

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul . Thank you for your nice words, it was a pleasure to host you and your friend . Safe and happy travels.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

A wonderful time ,a place to relax from the stambouliotes bazaars,i will come back see you soon Kevin

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for your nice words, it was a pleasure to host you and your friend . Nice to know we are going to be your choice for your next Istanbul visit. Safe and happy travels.

97%

Staff were all helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them, whether it be trying to rebook flights to finding good places to eat or luggage storage, they couldn't help quick enough. Rooms were extremely comfortable and large. Bathrooms all clean and in working order. Short walk down the hill for a 5 minute tram to the old town. Or 10 minutes walk up the hill to Taksim square. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. As long as you don't mind cats this place is great!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was great pleasure to welcome you and your friends . We enjoy to hear you loved your stay with us in Istanbul. Thank you for your nice words , special thanks mentioning about the kittens . Hope to see you again in your next Istanbul visit. Happy and safe travels.

83%

It's very near the Taksim square,but when we arrived to Taksim we could not find the right street and had to take a taxi, because buildings don't have marked streets so good.We recomend a board on the Taksim square,on which it would say Stray cat hostel-in what direction it is.Rooms don't have WIFI,only in the common room. Shower in the 3rd floor is really bad.It is very cold in the common room.We really really liked the rooms and staff!!They are helpful and so nice!We Would choose again!LAURA&M

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you found us very helpful and friendly.Thank you for your time to evaluate our hostel. At our hostel we strive to provide a social and welcoming environment where travelers can meet and sleep for a budget rate. We regrettable apologize for not fulfilling some of your expectations and wish you safe and happy travels.

89%

Excellent hostel with amazingly helpful staff, good location and a great atmosphere to boot. Definite highlight being the staff who help you with anything you may need or want to see.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We enjoy to hear your nice words about staff and athmosphere, it is a pleasure to know you liked your stay with us and your visit to Istanbul. Wish to see you next time again. Happy and safe travels

89%

The staff is extremely helpful and nice,though you have to pass the steep way before getting there,the location is perfect with easy access to tram and taksim sqare,recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your comment about Stray Cat Hostel. Happy to know you enjoyed your overall stay , we wish to see you again for your next Istanbul trip.

100%

Stayed here only for a night. The staff was good and friendly. Had to walk uphill for the bus to the airport. Overall would definitely recommend .


97%

There are cats in the living room :) and the staff is very nice, they share all the valuable information with you even before you ask, I enjoy the caring.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was our pleasure to host you , thanks for mentioning about the kittens in common areas , and nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul. Happy new travels.

91%

I was looking for a hostel where id feel safe but where it would be easy to meet people. Stray Cat covered perfectly both of these requirements. There was someone always at the reception, the hostel was located on a lighted street that had at least some pedestriands even at night (i left 3:30 am but still walking alone to the havatas stop didnt make me scared), theres 24h grocery shop just across the street, hostel staff is extremely nice and helpful and the common are perfect for making friends

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to be a part of your trip to Istanbul which you will always remember with a smile. Thanks for being here and for all nice words. Happy and safe travels.

91%

The staff try to help you a lot, they are so friendly. The location is good , but be aware, from the hostel to Taksim is a very hill road.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tsen Thank you for your review for Stray Cat Hostel, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Istanbul. Special thanks for your nice words about stuff and location. Hope to see you again for your next Istanbul visit. Happy and safe travels.

94%

Absolutely loved staying at this hostel. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the hostel itself is very clean and social. If I had to nitpick, I would say the only things wrong are the fact that the WiFi doesn't reach the rooms, the kitchen does not allow for cooking, and the location makes for a steep climb to Taksim Square. Besides that though, this is a great choice for your stay in Istanbul.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for wonderful words about stuff , cleaning and athmosphere. We have a kitchen at basement with cooking facilities and a kitchenette in common room, Sorry for not being informative enough for that issue, We are delighted to know we are going to be your choice for your next Istanbul visit. Happy travels.

91%

Great place, thank you for the music, chilling time and breakfast... love to the team!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice words about our free breakfast , athmosphere and staff. We hope to host you agaın ın your next Istanbul vısıt. It ıs a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay wıth us.

(482 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback