X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Stray Cat Hostel Reviews

Mebusan Yokusu 35, Findikli Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
659 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Staff is super nice and very helpful/knowledgeable. Breakfast is better than breakfast at most hostels I've stayed at.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I will stay in this hostel if I come to Istanbul again.


83%

The bathroom are not confortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your nice feelings about staff, atmosphere and cleanliness of the hostel, you have booked a bed in mixed dormitory room , next to the room there are separated shower and restroom that are used just by this dormitory , the shower is small and practical. Comfort of this shower is a little question as you noticed it is small. Suitable and decent for a young traveler or backpacker . Thank you for your feedback , we wish you happy new travels and new beginnings.

100%

staff are super nice, they are all very kind and friendly, who are willing to provide information as much as they can for us, for the place, it is full of style and comfortable, we love the atmosphere very much. Meanwhile, cats there made our stay warmer and more unforgettable, thanks for the sweet memory. highly recommend, especially cat lovers ;)


83%

The owner of the hostel Sadar goes above and beyond to accommodate his guests. Rooms were very generously sized and clean, whereas the bathrooms needed a bit of a facelift. The breakfast was really good, and one of the staff even cooked our eggs seperately because we said we liked them runnier. The location is in a safe area with a convenience store across the road, there's just a fairly steep hill to walk up to reach iskimal street. We will definitely come back. Thanks Sadar :-) Cyn

  • 4th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I think this is a great hostel, but expensive. I guess that's Istanbul. The staff are really nice, the room big and attractive, and for me a perfect location, close to the tram in the more exciting, urban part of Istanbul (as opposed to Sultanahmed where I stayed before, a kind of tourist ghetto).


100%

If you're looking for a fun and laid-back place to stay in Istanbul, Stray Cat is good value for your money! Despite having 3 cats roaming around the reception, it's clean, tidy and safe. The Mebusan Yokuşu street where the hostel is at has an incredible neighbourly feel to it, full of local shops and restaurants. And you're just a 10 minutes walk away from Taksim and 2 minutes away from Fındıklı. The staff is welcoming and helpful! Herşey için teşekkür ederim, Sedat & Co.! - João from Portugal

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay there! Nice staff, perfect location.


60%

The staff is nice but the single room I was was not so good. The hostel would need a bit more air and may be less cats.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice words about stuff who were more than happy to assist you in your visit to city, as an update to your comment we would like to inform you and our future guest that air conditioning is installed to all rooms with June 2013, we wish you will enjoy this in your next Istanbul visit and for existence of 3 kittens in common areas and courtyard , as the name implies this is something we cannot compromise. Hope you understand that.Happy new travels and new beginnings.

97%

Was a pleasure stay in this Hostel, very nice atmosphere!!!

  • 10th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good place. Central location helped plan trips all over town. Staff was very relaxed and helpful

  • 8th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff. Amaizing garden facing capadoccian rocks.


100%

REALLY LOVELY PLACE...STAFF ALL FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL...WISHED WE HAD STAYED LONGER SO WE COULD HAVE TAKEN UP THE OFFERS OF GIGS/PARTIES (AND SEEN MORE OF THAT AMAZING CITY)...BREAKFAST WAS FILLING AND A BIT OF A BONUS!! (ONLY ONE SMALL POINTER TO FUTURE GUESTS DON'T MENTION IF YOU FLEW IN.... IT APPEARS THAT FLYING IS BAD DODOS!!) BOOK NOW BEFORE THE KITTENS GROW UP! HOPE YOU MANAGE TO DO THE GARDEN THAT WOULD MAKE IT AN EVEN MORE LOVELY PLACE TO STAY...ThankBecky and Mike (the gardener) xx


94%

Really great hostel. I thoroughly loved my stay and would say that stray cat is one of my favourite hostels in Europe. The staff are super friendly, beds are comfortable and facilities - while not the whiz bang that you get in the big chain hostels were more than enough! Really great breakfast - and I mean that!! Also, it is in a really great location - close proximity to taxim square as well as public transport! I would definitely recommend and stay again.


54%

The rooms are clean and big. Internet is just available downstairs and not in the rooms. The moment you leave the room you can smell smoke and the cats (which also eat from the breackfast table).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear We apologize that we could not meet your expectations , this is very nice of you to tell nice words about rooms and cleanliness. Stray Cat Hostel is not a proper place for travelers who dislike kittens, 3 kittens and mama cat is only stays in common areas . If the incidence you tell happened during breakfast , this is just a mistake that we will be much more careful about it. During breakfast kittens stays in backyard not in the lounge where breakfast is served. " The Stray Cat Hostel has taken Istanbul’s unofficial mascot as its spirit animal and inspiration. The walls of the common areas are decorated with cat-themed art, and the seating in common areas is dominated by, as you guess it, cats." So the hostel is not for a traveler who does not like cats, We wish you were reading our description before booking , and we believe kittens a very important part of our laid back homely style. Thank you for your comment again and we wish you happy new travels and new beginnings.

94%

Staff is extremely friendly!! Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. It's a bit of a walk up a hill to the shopping and club area but it was never a problem for us. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 7th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Hostel, near from taksim square, easy to go everywhere. Good breakfast! Staff was REALLY helpful and friend and always asking if i need something so, thats cool! People all-over the world going there, was really great to connect with different cultures! The bad thing was that the wi-fi only can be used near from the common room so, in my bedroom i never could use the wi fi... but thats ok for me!


86%

Very nice, kind and helpful staff. Welcoming and warm atmosphere. Close to public transportation and bus to airport


57%

Our room (double twin private) was ok. The room should have had more places to your coats and stuff, for example couple hangers and hooks in the wall and shelves would have been nice. Staying there for 10 days, the floor was full of stuff in the end. Shared bathroom was ok, water pressure wasn´t always great but never had to leave dirty! Cats did their own personal feeling in the place, people with fancy noses maybe should not go here. Basement with smokig possibility was pretty uglyish but ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, We are very sorry that your stay in our property was not satisfactory enough and we could not meet your expectations. We wanted to inform you that we do not enter private rooms to clean without guest request during their stay , most probably we were not informative enough when you checked in about this issue. We are going to be more careful about that. Happy new travels and new beginnings.

91%

The athmosphere was beautiful, I love all the art and related touches. Gives the hostel a unique feel comfortable and welcoming. Quite clean, fresh breakfast included and the people were warm, lovely and helpfull.

  • 28th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(398 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback