X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Studio Beach Hostel Reviews

Rua Santana, nº 7, -ao lado da padaria, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
332 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Well run hostel in good location, great cable TV for the rainy days, can get a bit hot if you end up sleeping on one of the top floors, breakfast is the best I've seen


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

this place is a must during the period of July/August as it will not be crowded. excellent location close to the beach and supermarket. the owner is extremely helpful and the breakfast is A-MA-ZING, no kidding. for 25 reais a night, it is an incredible price to quality ratio. we loved our 3 days stay there.


66%

A place or a clothes line to put wet towels or swim suits would be great.

  • 13th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Best value for money on the island!!! EXTREMELY hard to find, but most locals knows the location so aslong as you find the street (not hard) you'll be fine. Only booked 1 night at first, but ended up staying here for all our time on the island.


60%

Too many noisy around and in the hostel, lack of bathroom and cleanliness. The mattres were pretty old and thin, realllly bad. The breakfast was the best thing. The staff was nice also.


69%

Its a fine hostel near the beach, breackfast is great!


63%

The rooms are big and spacious, but the narrow corridors and lack of open space anywhere else in the Hostel makes it feel very claustrophobic. The breakfast area is very cramped and your climbing over people to get to things. We stayed one night and moved on.


83%

You should install lockers for everyone.


66%

Atmosphere was casual and relaxed, everybody can go in and out whenever, usually nobody checks the door. Be prepared not to get a personal locker, then you can give your things to reception. Location is perfect, a few steps from the sea and centre. I enjoyed my time, met great people at the hostel, but if you are lonely there then the hostel staff wouldn't help, they are not very social or talkative to visitors. But Vila do Abraao is such an easy place to meet new people anyway!


66%

The hostel is ok but nothing special. For this money you can't complain, though. Breakfast was good but we didn't find the staff too friendly. The only locker is in the staff room. You can use it but you have to ask sb from the staff to open it. Not very comfortable. Avarage kitchen and you can't bring alcohol in. They could have cleaned the bathroom more often. No space outside or to dry your clothes. It's in the main area of tge town.


71%

good breakfast

  • 30th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel was perfect until we discovered bed bugs in the room... Hopefully they had other beds available and this one was ok. They cleaned everything properly after we told them. The staff is nice, particularly the argentinians. If this would have not happened, I could have recommend it. Location is perfect and the hostel is cozy...


77%

Nice hostel, very close to the beach, all the restaurants and a supermarket. The breakfast is good but funny with a lot of sweets. Staff isn't always too nice, but ok.


77%

Quite hard to find, the directions arent the best on here! however it was a nice hostel and the staff were very helpful! its got the craziest breakfast ever!!


71%

Good hostel it's value for your money only the breakfast was weird with all the candies haha! And I can imagine that's hard to keep the hostel that clean because there were no normal roads! Staff is friendly! Had a nice time!

  • 26th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Unclean, bad smell, not nice staff, kitchen dirty and uncomplete. Breakfeast really good, but we had to wait to long to get a table.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry trying to please you in all your applications, your comment that was already waiting for us on the day of their arrival, we were very expensive this week was the week of Easter national holiday

83%

A little bit out of the main hub but Rio is so big we didnt mind and we were on the right side for the airport. Fab facilities and common areas, good kitchen and eating area and a few computers which was good. Dorms a bit tight but toilet/shower facilities were great and the place was spotless. Would recommend if your happy to hop on buses/metro to explore :)


91%

This hostel is a very cute family hostel. with around 40 beds only, you kind of feel like at home, especially at breakfast time. The owner is such a kind man, the kitchen is decent, you've got what you need. internet is quite slow but i think its everywhere on the island, and the showers could be warmer, they also make dinners for r$13. We had a really good time there, we highly recommend it :)


80%

I stayed here with my boyfriend on a tight budget at the start of a 5 month trip and the kitchen facilities were sufficient, we had a double bed, the rooms were cleaned every day and breakfast is the best breakfast i have had in a hostel, lots of cake and fruit and bread, ham and cheese. The lady who runs the hostel isnt very nice and they are generally unorganised... but it meant we ended up in a better room paying for the cheaper one as a result! Would come back tothis hostel if here budget


97%

Had a really nice stay here perfect location,just a short walk from the pier.The guy puts on a great breakfast,with everything you can think of.They also do a all you can eat meal some evenings for just £5 which is freshly prepared by one of the ladies and it's really delicious!The island has regular blackouts so then theres no Internet,maybe book your next accommodation before going to this island.We stayed here for 5 days and only manages it on the 4day because of this.Also no ATMmachines here


(215 results)


View all Ilha Grande Hostels

Please give us your feedback