X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sultan Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi 21, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
626 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Excellent place - well located This hostel is also very caring towards senior travelers like us Staff very helpful & courteous

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The way that the breakfast is laid out was not the best...the line just didn't seem to flow as people waited for coffee/tea etc. The food was great though!!!


83%

Great location - would be good if rooms had lockers especially as there is communal keys

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Second time i stayed here and overall very happy. But at one stage the bathroom didnt have running water. Also one girl apparently got bites down her arm so they changed rooms. Personally i didnt have problems. Miss istanbul i wanna go back again and would stay here :)


80%

We picked this hostel as it was a pick up and drop off point for a lengthy tour we were doing and were really happy with our stay. We booked a private double as it was cheap enough and the room was lovely, open and spacious enough for us to be able to get in and out of our luggage. The bar downstairs had a great evening atmosphere and it was nice to mingle with locals and other travellers. Would stay here again.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Best hostel ive stayed in on this trip, and in an unbeatable location!! Guys who work there are super nice and helpful. The bar in the front is great for chilling out and having meals. Hostel is on a very lively strip of restaurants and hotels very close to arasta bazaar and the blue mosque. Enjoyed my first stay so much i came back a second time a week later.


77%

Good stay and central for all the tourist sites. Bar good with nice food. Double room was basic but clean however only one shared toliet and shower for the floor of 6 rooms. We would stay again and recommend this place for its location

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was excellent location and very friendly people. I enjoyed it.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A great atmosphere and good location, the cafe/common area is a great place to relax. The wifi wasn't very strong or fast and the bathrooms/wet rooms were quite small and hard to keep clean. Only one powerpoint in the six bed dorm. The man in reception was very helpful, the men in the restaurant were friendly but sometimes a little too much to females. Apart from a few small negatives it was a good stay.


91%

As it was our first time in Istanbul we didn't quite know what to expect. From the get-go we realized the hostel was located just a stone-throw away from the Blue Mosque and several other touristic points. It is on a very vibrant street that comes alive at night, with loads of bars and other hostels. The staff were incredibly nice and accommodating, giving us tips on where to go and what to see and it just made our trip so much better. I strongly recommend it.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel in great location, planning to stay again

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for money in an excellent location

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Very good hostel, perfecto location, good bar at the entrance.


71%

There is only one key per room and no lockers. Very little space in the rooms.


51%

Patronizing and ill informed reception workers, bad WiFi, no kitchen, the restaurant downstairs as the only common area, only 2 showers and toilets between about 20 people, and bugs in said showers. The multiple person dorm rooms had only one key each, which means that if the last person in the room forgets to lock the door, anyone can have access. Mostly big groups at this hostel means it's harder to meet people as a single traveler. Working A/C and the roof terrace were nice.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Everything was good. But at the end, we wasted our money and lost comfort due to the mismanagement (delay) in arranging a SHUTTLE BUS from hostel to the airport. So we had to take a Taxi and pay extra for it. We hardly took our flight. So dont take any risks like this.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

good location! the room is a little small but clean


94%

Can't complain about our stay at this hostel. Location was awesome, the hot showers, towels, linen and wifi were all great! The bar downstairs had a great atmosphere, spent both our nights there drinking for a great price. Would recommend and stay here again.


91%

The staff here are amazing, as a solo traveller they introduced me to other guests and where genuinely nice people. The only down side is that there is only 1 key for each dorm and no lockers in the room for my bag, I could lock my valuables away but when the room is left open and I don't yet know my room mates it's not ideal. I would stay here again if I make it back to Turkey


91%

The staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the atmosphere was welcoming. The place was spitting distance from all of the sites in Istanbul as well. The neighborhood that the place was it was nice, albeit expensive. All in all, the Sultan is well worth the price.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback