X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sultan Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi 21, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
681 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Perfect location, Close to everything

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The guys at reception were friendly and went the extra mile.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff is amazing! Truly wonderful people.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Food and drink at the hostel restaurant is pricey and all together not very inspiring, but the hostel itself is fantastic. Can't be beaten for location and an excellent place to chill and plan your next adventure in Istanbul.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty small rooms, only one key for the whole room and one powerpoint for the whole room.


80%

if you're in need of internet maybe don't stay here but otherwise it has a great vibe and friendly staff :)

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I would say that the Sultan Hostel's staying was one of the highlight of our trip to Turkey. We were treated as a first class passengers and helped and advised properly every single time we ask for. Our marking on the above review just reflect how good our feeling on this hostel and its personnel are.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent place - well located This hostel is also very caring towards senior travelers like us Staff very helpful & courteous

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The way that the breakfast is laid out was not the best...the line just didn't seem to flow as people waited for coffee/tea etc. The food was great though!!!


83%

Great location - would be good if rooms had lockers especially as there is communal keys

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Second time i stayed here and overall very happy. But at one stage the bathroom didnt have running water. Also one girl apparently got bites down her arm so they changed rooms. Personally i didnt have problems. Miss istanbul i wanna go back again and would stay here :)


80%

We picked this hostel as it was a pick up and drop off point for a lengthy tour we were doing and were really happy with our stay. We booked a private double as it was cheap enough and the room was lovely, open and spacious enough for us to be able to get in and out of our luggage. The bar downstairs had a great evening atmosphere and it was nice to mingle with locals and other travellers. Would stay here again.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Best hostel ive stayed in on this trip, and in an unbeatable location!! Guys who work there are super nice and helpful. The bar in the front is great for chilling out and having meals. Hostel is on a very lively strip of restaurants and hotels very close to arasta bazaar and the blue mosque. Enjoyed my first stay so much i came back a second time a week later.


77%

Good stay and central for all the tourist sites. Bar good with nice food. Double room was basic but clean however only one shared toliet and shower for the floor of 6 rooms. We would stay again and recommend this place for its location

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was excellent location and very friendly people. I enjoyed it.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A great atmosphere and good location, the cafe/common area is a great place to relax. The wifi wasn't very strong or fast and the bathrooms/wet rooms were quite small and hard to keep clean. Only one powerpoint in the six bed dorm. The man in reception was very helpful, the men in the restaurant were friendly but sometimes a little too much to females. Apart from a few small negatives it was a good stay.


91%

As it was our first time in Istanbul we didn't quite know what to expect. From the get-go we realized the hostel was located just a stone-throw away from the Blue Mosque and several other touristic points. It is on a very vibrant street that comes alive at night, with loads of bars and other hostels. The staff were incredibly nice and accommodating, giving us tips on where to go and what to see and it just made our trip so much better. I strongly recommend it.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel in great location, planning to stay again

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Good value for money in an excellent location

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


(45 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback