X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sultan Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi 21, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
696 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great except I don't like that there is only one key per room, it is not safe if the last person out doesn't lock it. Need a key per person!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bathrooms need maintenance or renovation.


100%

The location and the desk guy were amazing!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I left an iPhone at the hostel after leaving and was able to email the staff, who then passed it off to some friends who were arriving at a later date. I had written off the iPhone but was pleasantly surprised by the speed and ability of the staff.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There is only a key in room, means the room not lock until the last person go out of room. So, other can easily enter your room as well. But there are lockers outside the room. The wifi works well near to the reception. There is bar/ restaurant infront the hostel. The buffet turkish breakfast is fine. Location is good to go anywhere in walking distance in Sultanahmet. The check in time late at 12.30pm but you can leave your luggage.


80%

Nice hostel, good services. Breakfast could be better.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Had a private room with ensuite, the room size and beds were good and had a bit of a sea view but bathroom and in particular shower was not good. Location in old town is very good, only a short walk to main attractions and located on a lively street with plenty of places to eat. Breakfast was average, with cereals, bread, cheese, tomato, cucumber. The bar area was ok but overall the hostel lacked some atmosphere. Decent hostel for a few nights but nothing special, would recommend private room.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was awesome...the staff really goes out of their way to help their guests! The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the place is ridiculously cheap, great location (about a block from the blue mosque), they provide you with a free locker, and the lounge is pretty sweet!


63%

Perfect location, Close to everything

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The guys at reception were friendly and went the extra mile.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff is amazing! Truly wonderful people.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Food and drink at the hostel restaurant is pricey and all together not very inspiring, but the hostel itself is fantastic. Can't be beaten for location and an excellent place to chill and plan your next adventure in Istanbul.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty small rooms, only one key for the whole room and one powerpoint for the whole room.


80%

if you're in need of internet maybe don't stay here but otherwise it has a great vibe and friendly staff :)

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

I would say that the Sultan Hostel's staying was one of the highlight of our trip to Turkey. We were treated as a first class passengers and helped and advised properly every single time we ask for. Our marking on the above review just reflect how good our feeling on this hostel and its personnel are.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent place - well located This hostel is also very caring towards senior travelers like us Staff very helpful & courteous

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

The way that the breakfast is laid out was not the best...the line just didn't seem to flow as people waited for coffee/tea etc. The food was great though!!!


83%

Great location - would be good if rooms had lockers especially as there is communal keys

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Second time i stayed here and overall very happy. But at one stage the bathroom didnt have running water. Also one girl apparently got bites down her arm so they changed rooms. Personally i didnt have problems. Miss istanbul i wanna go back again and would stay here :)


(436 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback