X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sultan Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik Caddesi 21, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
674 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice rooms with comfy beds, bathrooms were not very nice though. Bar seems like a nice place to chill out. Right by the blue mosque and a bazaar.


94%

Buena relación calidad precio. El desayuno es bueno pero tiene poca variedad. El personal muy atento, excepto algunos. La habitación cómoda, pero la calefacción no estaba encendida y no había con qué secar el baño.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

СПАСИБО. Н.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I add a very good time in Istanbul in that Hostel!!!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location if you're looking to do the touristy things in Istanbul. Bathrooms were clean at times and rather gross at others. Staff was helpful but not super friendly. I stayed alone and that was fine except the environment lends itself better to groups and it's not the best place for meeting people. Overall a good time and I'd come back with friends!


94%

Best staff members, the bar is awesome set up, location is perfect.


74%

Stayed 1nt on a busabout tour, and then a following 2nts. The room on the 1st nt on the tour was amazing - Spacious, massive shower/ensuite in the room. Wifi however didn't reach this room. The other 2nts was in a very cramped room and the shared shower outside was not good. So I had a mixed experience at this place. Overall though location is very good, wifi good at times, food was okay and breakfast basic. Really enjoyed my time instanbul and was a cheap place to book! Thanks


80%

Sits above a nice pub so location wise you have everything there. Rooms are clean and great, shower and toilet facilities not so much but do the trick. You have to hire towels and the room key is communal and left behind reception, but you are provided lockers. Wifi works in all rooms and the breakfast is ok.


91%

I stayed in a private room with bathroom and it couldn't be better for a hostel. We booked for 2 people but it actually fit 4 in our room, so there was plenty of space. Very clean, organized, helpful staff and great atmosphere. Breakfast was ok and bar could get loud at night. Cons : wifi barely worked in my room, only 1 power outlet in the room (hard to charge phones and cameras at night) and no lockers in the room. Overall it was great and if stay there again.


89%

No lockers inside the rooms, and the rooms were a bit of a tight squeeze. Otherwise really couldn't complain. Great location, on a great street - close walk to all the sights. Atmosphere at the hostel was fun and friendly. Good food and drinks (cheap too). We stayed in for dinner one night too - definitely recommend.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great except I don't like that there is only one key per room, it is not safe if the last person out doesn't lock it. Need a key per person!

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bathrooms need maintenance or renovation.


100%

The location and the desk guy were amazing!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I left an iPhone at the hostel after leaving and was able to email the staff, who then passed it off to some friends who were arriving at a later date. I had written off the iPhone but was pleasantly surprised by the speed and ability of the staff.

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

There is only a key in room, means the room not lock until the last person go out of room. So, other can easily enter your room as well. But there are lockers outside the room. The wifi works well near to the reception. There is bar/ restaurant infront the hostel. The buffet turkish breakfast is fine. Location is good to go anywhere in walking distance in Sultanahmet. The check in time late at 12.30pm but you can leave your luggage.


80%

Nice hostel, good services. Breakfast could be better.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Had a private room with ensuite, the room size and beds were good and had a bit of a sea view but bathroom and in particular shower was not good. Location in old town is very good, only a short walk to main attractions and located on a lively street with plenty of places to eat. Breakfast was average, with cereals, bread, cheese, tomato, cucumber. The bar area was ok but overall the hostel lacked some atmosphere. Decent hostel for a few nights but nothing special, would recommend private room.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Este hostal es muy recomendable, el personal es en su mayoría muy amable y te ayudan en lo que necesites. La ubicación y la onda de la fiesta es excelente! El desayuno igual salva y al tener de área comun un bar se da la posibilidad de conocer harta gente. Lo único que mejoraría es que las camas estan muy pegadas, no hay mucho espacio en la habitación y el loker es muy chico.


97%

personale gentilissimo,mi hanno fatto entrare in camera per farmi fare la doccia prima di effettuare il check-in,mi hanno aiutato con enorme pazienza ad effettuare il check-in on-line per l aereo,nonostante avessi problemi con la e-mail,tutto ciò per dire la cortesia che hanno in Turchia rispetto all 'Italia....vicinissimo al palazzo Topkapi,Moschea blu,Basilica Cisterna e Santa Sofia!


100%

This place was awesome...the staff really goes out of their way to help their guests! The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the place is ridiculously cheap, great location (about a block from the blue mosque), they provide you with a free locker, and the lounge is pretty sweet!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback