X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sumac Chaska Hostel Reviews

Calle del Medio, 418, Chaupi Calle, Ollantaytambo, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
235 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stayed here one night, it was very easy to find and the facilities and staff were great. They gave us a lot of tips on where to go, and what to see. Everything was so great, that after our train to Machu Picchu we decided to come back and spend another night because we hadn't gotten to see all of the town we wanted to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we were delighted to have you back and glad you got to enjoy all the free things to do in this beautiful town. Best wishes from all at Sumac Chaska.

43%

I am glad I only stayed here for one night. It is a good location, though one of the guys who works there will do and tell you everything possible to get you into bed. The weirdest was that he even came into our all girls room, just to talk to me. There was no reason to do that, other than he tried to kiss me. It made me very uncomfortable. The next morning as well, he came back to check up on me. There were no lockers for valuables.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sorry to read this, as you know, this incident was followed up. Unfortunately, there's not much you can do with Bricheros, they simply don't think they are doing anything wrong because they know nothing about respect. Sometimes female guests are stupid enough to buy him dinner, clothes, maintain an on-line romance, even think they are in love! Only to find out its just an ego trip for him. Good for you for respecting yourself, respecting his family and telling him where to stick his ego.

89%

The room was comfortable (big bed, good matress) and so, so cute, all wooden like a treehouse. It's a quiet street just off the main square, got excellent sleep. Owners go the extra mile telling you all about Ollantayambo, which is WAY more authentic than Aguas Calientes. Totally reccomend staying there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to make sure everyone receives a full orientation when they arrive to that you don't miss anything. There's never enough time to see everything so absolutely, don't waste time in Agues Callientes! Excellent recommendation!

69%

Bad internet, only one key for the room between 6 people, lame breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sometimes its clear that travelling gets some people down. We are sorry we could not please you. The dorm is a SHARED room, we don't give every person their own key. We have 3 keys in total and unless we are accommodating groups we never have 6 people sharing. There are 3 dorms and we spread people out. On this occasion there were 3 people sharing and 2 keys because someone took one and didn't return it. A simple breakfast is complementary, a larger cooked one is available for 5 soles more, we like to give people options. The wifi has been upgraded in the whole town, so we are now delighted to have a good service. We hope your trip improved and we thank you for your custom and your comments.

89%

Had a really lovely stay here and would absolutely come again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, you are very welcome anytime Xx

66%

The location was great. The room was fine but the lighting of the room was poor. There was no internet in the room and even in the counter was extremely slow compared to the internet available at any restaurant at the main plaza.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. You are right, the Internet service has been really bad for anyone off the square because the lines were saturated. The town has just recently had optic cables laid and we are now delighted to offer a much better wifi service for our guests. We've also changed our lights and redecorated the rooms. Thank you for your custom 😊

91%

Fantastic hostel - the staff made it. They went out of their way to help. They picked us up from Cusco and stopped at a alpaca wool making place then also at a lovely restaurant for dinner! The location and hostel itself are great too, would def recommend! We only stayed one night on our way to MP but would have stayed longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, it's always nice to be appreciated 😊. You booked our airport transfer service and enjoyed the complimentary stops. We were lucky to squeeze the nice buffet lunch it too, Caly & I love to go there as we pass through the valley. It's always a shame when people can't stay longer, there's plenty to do here, but taking the transfer service does maximise your time. Thank you for choosing Sumac Chaska, all the best...Xx

71%

the location and security are good, it could've been better if the bed and room are cleaned and the hot shower is not intermittent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, it's important to realise the difference between hostels and hotels. Hotels include daily housekeeping that's one of the reasons why they are more expensive. We clean and change the beds between guests. Guests staying for 3 nights or more get a courtesy clean. Sorry you had problems with the shower, we do our best to help people when they ask. The water supply and pressure in the town is variable but our showers are usually hot. Thank you for your custom 😊

80%

The lady at the desk couldn't speak English but still tried very hard to make our stay nice, and she was very helpful in informing us how to get train tickets to aguas calientes, as we did everything last minute. The hostel itself is very nice with good views of the ruins and places to sit just outside the rooms. Only downside was there was no hot water, which may have been me not being able to work out the shower head but I tried everything to no avail. Other than that great stay.


71%

Excellent location and nice rooms. There wasn't much atmosphere and the Wi-Fi was poor. Breakfast is basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it's true wifi is slow in the sacred valley but you can enjoy the beautiful mountains that surround us instead 😊. It's a tranquil place, original, inka planned town, lots of rocks but not rocking 😉. Bigger breakfast was available for just 5 soles more. Cooked breakfast is included with all private room reservations. Thank you to staying with us.

63%

Bathrooms had no toilet paper. Laundry cost S./40 for something that cost us S./10 in Cuzco. I was also told that it would cost S./10-15. Breakfast was a slice of stale bread and tea. Showers were okay but needed a lot of adjusting to get right. A lot of noise around the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We welcome sensible feedback, but this review is simply not true. If there's no toilet paper in the bathroom simply ask for more, perhaps someone was ill and used a lot. Your laundry included a tumble dryer service because you had a lot and needed it turning around quickly. We have the only tumble dryer in Ollanta and our prices are reasonable for the machine and power use. The free breakfast is simple and fresh daily from the bakery. Sorry you were having a bad day, all the best...

89%

My friend and I enjoyed our stay here! It's conveniently located right off the main square, but far enough away to not get all the hustle and bustle. Generally, it was a quiet town, so it was a relaxing stay :) it was a bummer that they don't have lockers, we were a little worried about our stuff when we were gone, but alas nothing went wrong. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Watch out for the Peruvian men, ladies, sometimes they can be a little pushy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, feedback noted about the lockers. We lack the space, normally there's not too much sharing as we spread people amongst 3 dorms. We can lock anything valuable in our deposit if you prefer. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

Extremely helpful staff -- we showed up without having planned much to do in Ollantaytambo. But the staff was very patient in telling us where to visit around down. Rooms were clean, though it was a bit noisy at night since our window opened to the front. There were a few dogs barking throughout the night. The washroom could also do a bit of an upgrade (but it was manageable).

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is valuable for the money they charge, it has a beautiful fachade and the staff are really kind (Cali was so helpful and also prepare our breakfast in the night because we were going very early in the morning). The downside is that it just had 1 shower for everybody at the floor, so it was really chilly in the morning to get out from the bedroom to reach the shower; also I didn't like that it didn't accept credit card (I run out of cash that evening) and the wifi is very irregular.


100%

Awesome experience. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! Please visit us again sometime, regards Sumac Chaska

89%

Ollantaytambo is a definitely a must-see! We stayed two nights in a 6-Bed Mixed Dorm at Sumac Chaska, a lovely hostel close to the Plaza de Armas. We had a great time there. Breakfast is basic (bread, butter, jam and tea) but satisfying. The rooms are very nice, comfy and clean. The hostel is owned by a lovely family and felt really safe and welcoming. Only mini negative aspects : cold showers and smelly bathrooms. Other than that, we had an amazing time at Sumac and would definitely go back!


77%

Sumac Chaska was great, and Ollantaytambo is an awesome little town! We were only there for a night, but it was a good experience. Little tough to get hot water, but no big deal, and there were no lockers in the rooms. It's really easy to find though, there's a big sign from the main plaza, and then it's just up a tiny little road a few blocks. The owners were really nice, and they always seemed to have local family/friends around, which was great for advice on what to do and where to go!

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Enjoyed our stay. Hostel was clean and comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you choosing us, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Sumac Chaska.

57%

I was very put off by the showers. When trying to turn the shower off after turning it in I wasn't able to get my fingers within an inch of the handle without feeling an electric charge (it hurt! Different from a static shock) I left and the staff were friendly and turned the shower off for me. There were no lockers for your valuables and not even a safe behind the desk. Towels have to be rented and there were very few people staying there. Staff was friendly though and the kitchen nice, clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read about all your problems online, we tried to accommodate your needs and respond to you the best we could. From time to time we have problems, we fix them as they arise. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Peru. Kind regards Xx

89%

Our stay at Chaska Hostel was simply great. The owner was great. From the beginning she help us with our needs, the family room in which we stay was comfy and clean. The double bed was good for my in-laws, and with my wife we were even able to share the lower bunk-bed as it was quite large compared to others. We had hot water all day and night. Finally, she made us breakfast bags to take in the train as we leave really early to Machu Picchu, we didn't see that coming, thanks!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have translated your kind review to the owner and she's dielighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for choosing Sumac Chaska. Regards from all the family Xx



View all Ollantaytambo Hostels

Please give us your feedback