X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sumac Chaska Hostel Reviews

Medium Street, 106, Chaupi Calle, Ollantaytambo, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
163 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

SUPER!!! Better wifi would be nice, but not sure that is possible in Ollantaytambo?? Nowhere had good wifi, but there was no wifi in my room. It will be great when the gas showers are put in. Marie and the abuela are the best. They make you feel like part of the family. Baby Tiago is great too! :-) Good location, lots of local contacts. Great terrace view. Good breakfast - a good deal for the 2 soles for eggs. Pretty good beds. Amble blankets. Soap and towels included. Pillows weren't great.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lots!..

89%

Great location, friendly and helpful english speaking man working as the owner. Great breakfast made for us by the lady. Great relax from busy cusco. The whole place is having renovations and it is looking great. The workers were polite and didn't interrupt sleep or recreation.


94%

Very helpful owners gave us lots of details on what to see in the area. Our matrimonial/double room was lovely - very modern, clean & comfy. Nice and quiet too for a good night's sleep. Shower water was hot and the shared bathroom was clean. Breakfast was a welcome inclusion with eggs, bread, jam. Would definitely stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we work hard make people's holidays pleasurable and memorable, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to see you again 😊 Cheers, Caly & Marie 💕

77%

Hostel was excellent - thank you all! The only feedback I would give is to proactively ask your clients if they need more bathroom supplies/anything in general. Other than that, everything was very nice. Thanks again!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback , much appreciated 😊

31%

A lot of money charged for a very poor establishment . It's not even worth one fifth of the money that's charged. And this does not qualify to be advertised as a living place.


46%

This place was so terrible, we found another place to stay. The lobby is dark and dingy. The staff seemed nice and the room was ok, but the shower basically faced outside with a window that did not close. It gets very chilly at night, and there is no heat or insulation in the rooms. It was more like a treehouse, and there was construction and supplies everywhere. There are many places like this in Ollantaytambo, but this was definitely overpriced.


69%

Great place.... friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and choosing Sumac Chaska 😊

74%

The price was a bit high given the light breakfast that is provided. Eggs can be served for an extra 5 soles, but should probably be included for over 90 soles a night. The hostel did let us use the kitchen which was quite nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we will consider that. We are trying to keep dorm beds and shared bathroom rooms as cheap as possible so we only provide a simple breakfast. A cooked breakfast is included with all ensuite rooms. Thank you for your custom.

60%

There's no security at the hostel in terms of locks at the main door, but there's always a staff member in the front room and the city is ridiculously safe. Absolutely no hot water (there's a knob for it in the shower but no results) and the toilet in our room flushed at its convenience. The shared toilet was also clogged and we heard our neighbor (walls are thin) attempt to flush and start swearing at his toilet too. Staff are very helpful in planning activities around the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a peculiar review....of course we have locks on our outside doors and yes, it is a very safe town. We have hot showers and make it very clear that we are happy to help if anyone fails to work the shower correctly. Equally, if people put toilet paper down the toilet instead of in the bin, it gets blocked. Again, we are pleased to assist during your stay if this occurs. The building is concrete construction so our walls are not thin. Sorry you didn't enjoy our service :(

77%

lovely place surrounded by amazingly beautiful site , warm sheet and clean cozy room. I enjoyed my time staying there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Tweety, you are welcome any time 😃

100%

The managers are great. Marie is British and her husband Kali speaks English so there are no problems with communication. We went out to dinner with them and the there beautiful son Tiago. They knew everything to do in and around the city. Every morning they serve a nice breakfast and get you ready for the day. They even packed us a breakfast when we went Macchu Picchu. Thanks so much for helping make our trip full of amazing memories!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We loved having you guys here, you are so very welcome. And what a privilege to be hosting you for your engagement, you had all that romance rubbing off on us 💗 We wish you endless happiness in your married life and don't forget you promised to bring back your first child to meet us. Kindest regards and thank you for choosing Sumac Chaska, love Caly & Marie 💗

77%

Beds and staff are good. They give you a breakfast to go if you leave too early. Bathroom is terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, sorry you don't like our bathroom, especially when on the night you stayed, you had the shared one all to yourself so it can't be a cleanliness issue. Perhaps you didn't like our decor?? We appreciate your custom anyway, thank you :)

57%

Pros: Location Cons: Poor breakfast - had to wait, dirty table; the terrace is not worth it - is not part of the room and everyone can be there; additionally there was clothes hanging...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always disappointed when we don't meet our customers expectations. We provide a cooked breakfast with eggs and juice for all private ensuite bookings, simple for basic accommodation. We don't think that is 'poor'. For a $40 room it's a bit unreasonable to expect the whole floor (terrace) to yourself, there is a private section outside this room with seating. We are a hostel and we do our best to offer a clean, comfy and friendly service. Thank you for your custom.

100%

We stayed at this hostel and we love it. The personal is just great! The kitchen is big and very comfortable. It's clean and they have a nice view if you go up to the terrace.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our place and our town :) :) :)

89%

Due to the directions on the Hostel World website this place was easy to find. The door is right there facing the street. The hosts were great people. Cali (Carlos) the guy in charge is super nice and helpful. If he has time he will take the time to point out all the cool places to check out in the city. The Internet connection here is a little better than the hostel I stayed at in Cusco. The only downside was the bathroom, no soap dispenser nor paper towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you your review and we really glad you enjoyed your stay.



View all Ollantaytambo Hostels

Please give us your feedback