X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Sumac Chaska Hostel Reviews

Medium Street, 106, Chaupi Calle, Ollantaytambo, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
151 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Nice facilities and great location. A little pricey, though, and COLD! When we were there they were having some plumbing problems because the common area smelled like toxic sewage fumes. They have a nice commons area with a heater, but the lights were off and the heater never on, so it wasn't very welcoming. Plus, they charge an extra sol per kilo for laundry (compared with the place 2 doors down). It's a newish place, so I'm sure things will come together. The owner does speak English!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not sure this guest is reviewing the right place..... We are having the mildest weather for years. Only in the last few days has it started to get cold in Ollantaytambo, it's cold in Cusco. We haven't had any plumbing problems and we have no heaters in our reception lounge. We don't price our laundry by the kilo either. The hostel has been owned by our family for nearly 20 years, it's not new. We started to renovate and manage the hostel ourselves 2years ago. The managers both speak English.

69%

Great place.... friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and choosing Sumac Chaska 😊

74%

The price was a bit high given the light breakfast that is provided. Eggs can be served for an extra 5 soles, but should probably be included for over 90 soles a night. The hostel did let us use the kitchen which was quite nice.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we will consider that. We are trying to keep dorm beds and shared bathroom rooms as cheap as possible so we only provide a simple breakfast. A cooked breakfast is included with all ensuite rooms. Thank you for your custom.

60%

There's no security at the hostel in terms of locks at the main door, but there's always a staff member in the front room and the city is ridiculously safe. Absolutely no hot water (there's a knob for it in the shower but no results) and the toilet in our room flushed at its convenience. The shared toilet was also clogged and we heard our neighbor (walls are thin) attempt to flush and start swearing at his toilet too. Staff are very helpful in planning activities around the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a peculiar review....of course we have locks on our outside doors and yes, it is a very safe town. We have hot showers and make it very clear that we are happy to help if anyone fails to work the shower correctly. Equally, if people put toilet paper down the toilet instead of in the bin, it gets blocked. Again, we are pleased to assist during your stay if this occurs. The building is concrete construction so our walls are not thin. Sorry you didn't enjoy our service :(

100%

The managers are great. Marie is British and her husband Kali speaks English so there are no problems with communication. We went out to dinner with them and the there beautiful son Tiago. They knew everything to do in and around the city. Every morning they serve a nice breakfast and get you ready for the day. They even packed us a breakfast when we went Macchu Picchu. Thanks so much for helping make our trip full of amazing memories!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We loved having you guys here, you are so very welcome. And what a privilege to be hosting you for your engagement, you had all that romance rubbing off on us 💗 We wish you endless happiness in your married life and don't forget you promised to bring back your first child to meet us. Kindest regards and thank you for choosing Sumac Chaska, love Caly & Marie 💗

77%

Beds and staff are good. They give you a breakfast to go if you leave too early. Bathroom is terrible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, sorry you don't like our bathroom, especially when on the night you stayed, you had the shared one all to yourself so it can't be a cleanliness issue. Perhaps you didn't like our decor?? We appreciate your custom anyway, thank you :)

57%

Pros: Location Cons: Poor breakfast - had to wait, dirty table; the terrace is not worth it - is not part of the room and everyone can be there; additionally there was clothes hanging...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are always disappointed when we don't meet our customers expectations. We provide a cooked breakfast with eggs and juice for all private ensuite bookings, simple for basic accommodation. We don't think that is 'poor'. For a $40 room it's a bit unreasonable to expect the whole floor (terrace) to yourself, there is a private section outside this room with seating. We are a hostel and we do our best to offer a clean, comfy and friendly service. Thank you for your custom.

100%

We stayed at this hostel and we love it. The personal is just great! The kitchen is big and very comfortable. It's clean and they have a nice view if you go up to the terrace.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our place and our town :) :) :)

89%

Due to the directions on the Hostel World website this place was easy to find. The door is right there facing the street. The hosts were great people. Cali (Carlos) the guy in charge is super nice and helpful. If he has time he will take the time to point out all the cool places to check out in the city. The Internet connection here is a little better than the hostel I stayed at in Cusco. The only downside was the bathroom, no soap dispenser nor paper towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you your review and we really glad you enjoyed your stay.

89%

Everything everyone's written is true. The common room is kind of like a family room, but it's nice and so are the owners so it was fine for me. That shower, though, is horrible. Owners clearly are on notice so I'm not sure why they don't fix it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes, we have fixed it, from time to time we have maintenance issues. We are truly sorry for your bad experience. Thank you for your review.

91%

I stayed for three days, I loved it. Very convenient location. They had some construction happening, but it didn't get in the way. The couple are very lovely, open to privacy or open to talk as well. Shared meals with them and met their child also. If I make it back I hope to stay longer! Took me a minute to learn to use the shower, but other than that the beds were very comfortable and warm and they have an amazing view of the city on the top floor. Recommended!


89%

The British woman who runs the place is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Arh thanks Karen :) but I don't run the place alone, I'm part of a lovely Peruvian family team. Thanks for your review :)

80%

They were very kind and helpful. They have deals with local restaurants and will show tell you all of the things to do in the town. We were leaving before breakfast started so she packed us a to-go breakfast. It was very nice. The location is right in the heart of the town and the view from the terrace is wonderful, you can see all of the sites and town. The bathroom had a few issues while we were there, but that was expected for Peru.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to serve you.

89%

Nice and calm hostel manage by owner in the hear of the Inca town. Beautiful!!!. It has a Terrance to see the whole town and Ruins. The owner knows a lot about the tourist attraction near by. He gives us some tips and tour to do. The only bad thing is it has a single toilet for all rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and your custom. There are 2 bathrooms for the dorms, plus a downstairs toilet :)

91%

Kali, the owner, even packed my dormmate and I some breakfast when he heard we had a very early train to Machu Picchu. Very hospitable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Pleasure to serve you! Breakfast is included, many of our guests set off to Machu Picchu early in the morning and come back in the same day. Ollantaytambo is much nicer than Aguas Calientes and much cheaper ;). Thank you very much for your review.

91%

People here is very kind and they gave me useful tips to make my trip to Machu Picchu at the lowest price! For sure I'll stay there again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, you are very welcome anytime 😊

97%

A family lives in the main house; they're very nice and helpful. Not a party environment or your typical hang out in common area hostel, but it has a very nice terrace. Very nice and quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for choosing Sumac Chaska.

71%

The bedroom was so good: comfortable and clean bed and bedcovers. The woman who is in charge is quit kind, but she doesn't speak English. There's only a bathroom on the second floor, so you have to wait until is free. Tha location is good, you're close to the main square and to one of this archeological sites. The main attraction is just a 10 min walk, and the train station a 15 min walk aproximately. Is a good place to stay but it can be much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Just for reference, we advertise ourselves as a Peruvian family run hostel, the native language in Peru is Spanish, hence the family speak Spanish. The managers both speak fluent English (one native English). There are 3 bathrooms and attractions are just a few mins away as we are centrally located. Maybe if you walk slowly or have heavy bags you might take 15 mins. But we will gladly store your bags for free if you want and there are motor taxis available.

97%

Okay, so you have to mess with the shower to get hot water, but that is literally the only downside. I loved the atmosphere and staff! Marie is just lovely and grandma makes a delicious breakfast. The location is lovely and if you have any questions, they are happy to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here.

83%

To be honest, I was so enchanted with Ollantaytambo that I could have slept in the plaza and have been happy. The location of this hostel is fantastic. You walk through ancient Inca architecture to get there. The ceilings in the dorm I stayed in are incredibly low, so if you´re on the top bunk you´re pretty squished in. I did get hot water ONCE for my shower but the electricity quickly shut off after that. Other than that, it can be pretty cold.


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Ollantaytambo Hostels

Please give us your feedback