Hostelworld.com

Sumac Chaska Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 265 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.3
Sumac Chaska Hostel Located at Calle del Medio, 418 , Chaupi Calle, Ollantaytambo.
Sumac Chaska Hostel
Peru
Ollantaytambo Cusco cusc 01 Calle del Medio, 418 , Chaupi Calle
80% 265
-13.2573962 -72.2631311
Sumac Chaska Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • viggen011385
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th May 2016
9.4

Excellent location to explore Sacred Valley and catch the train to Machu Picchu. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable owners. Happy to provide local information and help with trips to surrounding sites. Handy for facilities and restaurants in Ollantaytambo with collectivos and taxis nearby. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Cheap and great place to crash late and wake up at that ungodly hour for Machu Picchu! Was walking around trying to find a place to stay and the owner snatched us and brought us here. Super friendly staff, clean, and helpful. Even hung out with her cute kids for a bit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • andrewsauls
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.9

A fine hostel. Good bed and comfortable. Breakfast included. However the wifi didn't work at all throughout the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to report, the wifi is now fixed and it's fast 😊

7th Apr 2016
5.4

Would not stay there again. Check in was dreadful and not professional, the guy checking us in started talking to other people while we were checking in. Did not provide any information about the hostel, breakfast etc. Wifi non existent! We had to go to a local restaurants to book things! However, the elderly lady who only spoke Spanish was lovely and friendly!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
3.1

They tried to way overcharge me, despite having a reservation. They didn't seem to have the six bed female dorm that we booked. He instead showed us three different double rooms, ensuring it would be 70 soles. The next morning he tried to charge us $45 (~130S.) and we argued for a while. He seemed to be trying to make more money on the side, taking advantage of us, but my spanish saved us. Finally we just gave them 100 soles (plus the hostel world deposit) and left. Plus no hot water or wifi.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.1

Very nice felt comfortable and was in a great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Really lovely and clean hostel with very nice and friendly staff:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
7.4

Showers were cold and not very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
8.3

The design of the hostel is nice and it is in a picturesque location. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfy. The take away breakfast for Machu Picchu was a nice and well appreciated touch. The only real problem during my stay was that there was a power cut in the evening (apparently it's a normal occurrence) which hadn't been resolved by the time I left at 4:30am, which made getting ready a little more awkward and it meant I couldn't charge my camera.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Great location and extremely helpful staff. Room could have been a little cleaner (stains on sheets). Great views from the roof

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.