X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Summer Hostels Canal Point Reviews

22 West Tollcross, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
64 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

This is good for an affordable room. Rooms are impersonal but clean and OK looking. Beds are OK, there's a small desk, chair, a wardrobe and a big window opening on a private courtyard. Bathroom is small but OK looking. it could be warmer, more intimate, more stylish but I wouldn't expect more at this cost. This is overall very good.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

I would recommend it . It's very clean, the room is pretty nice and really secure. They let you keep your lugage there for free after checking out. The kitchen is great but only a small number of utensils. The ventilation in the bathroom goes on for 20 minutes, which is very annoying at night. To use the laundry, although it is not expensive, you have to buy a card first for 5£ (you can use 3,50£ of that) so it's better for those who are going to use it several times.


74%

Student accom - each 'apartment' has 4 or 5 rooms, and a shared common kitchen. The bed is sized between a single and a double, and the room is very small - my partner and I had to squeeze past each other if we both moved at the same time! - however everything is clean and tidy. Location great - a short walk to fringe venues and close to lots of restaurants. Only negative is that the kitchen wasn't cleaned in the 4 nights we stayed - the same dirty dishes remained by the sink the whole time...


89%

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the bedrooms and kitchen area were clean and had everything we needed for our short stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Very friendly staff, but pretty expensive for a hostel (even though booked in advance) without towels and breakfast. Also, a toilet brush was missing and the wifi-connection did not work.


94%

Greeting by the reception staff was excellent and made us feel very welcome as well as giving good recommendations for the festival.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff but there where times when more should have been present. They had run out of towels which is forgivable but it wasn't very late. Room was small but neat and comfortable. Perfect for a night or two.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Staff young and unprofessional, one in particular had bad attitude. Badly run and disorganised. No towels available. Was clean. Rooms were bare. Little equipment to be used in the kitchen considering number of guest. Late check in time and early check out mean expensive for the little time spent there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. We're so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here at Summer Hostels, especially with a member of our staff. We will do our best to improve customer service given these concerns.

63%

The cleaning at this hostel is 'do it yourself'.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We clean every room and bathroom before check in. We do not believe it is a lot to ask our guests to keep up their private bed and bathroom and clean up after themselves in the kitchen. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience here at Summer Hostels Canal Point.

49%

Unfortunately we are unable to comment on the quality of the accomodation as when we arrived we were informed that under 18s were unable to stay at the hostel (of which we had 2). We were informed that it was our responsibility to have read his in the small print, and once the member of staff had shown us where this was stated (with help from a colleague as she couldn't see it), we saw it stated age restrictions. The actual ages should have been clearly stated on the web site. City rooms full!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The room we stayed I was perfect for a young couple with a double bed and an ensuit bathroom. We also were able to save money by making breakfast in the kitchen. This hostle is usually student accommodation but brand new, by the looks of it. It was a lovely stay and such good value for money.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Its a good place to stay, its a student housing. its really new. 15min walk from Edinburgh castle Double beds are not full size about 3/4 the normal size doors do slam easily and can be a bit noisy if its hot then the rooms can be a bit hot, a fan would fix this i would stay here again


74%

Got a double bed with a friend because all twin rooms were full. Double bed was even for a couple REALLY tiny. Fortunately the nice staff organized some extra blankets and pillows for us so we "created" a second bed on the floor.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We do not have any any twin beds here at Summer Hostels. We advertise the 3/4 double bed right in the description on the website!

63%

Nice place, good

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

There is no parking available near the hostel. And public parking lot is very expensive.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This is a university dorm that they have turned into a hostel over the summer. Naturally, the rooms are very small. It has been recently refurbished, so it is quite clean. The kitchen and fridges are a good way to save a few pounds as restaurants in Edinburgh are expensive.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

great staff, facilities and location however, being a new build the doors tended to slam a lot. Overall loved it!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Did'nt use shower as no towel provided but possibly could have hired one - didn't ask!!

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Everything was great, except there was no toilet brush and no trash can


80%

Good things: located in the centre, perfect for sightseeing ... room was clean and renovated shortly :) ... staff was friendly Not so good: Since I was travelling alone, the room was quite expensive ... towel 5£ extra ! ... the ventilation in the bathroom was very noisy and was running for at least half an hour after using the bathroom... unfortunately my room was next to the floor's entrance door, which closes automatically and quite noisy :( ... no waste box in the room


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Edinburgh Apartments

Please give us your feedback