Hostelworld.com

Summer House Backpackers Melbourne

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
4.0

First off, I booked an 8 person WOMEN dorm. I was placed in a mixed dorm with my bed next to a male in a separate pry of the room so clearly they don't take your preference into account or your online booking in general. They said 24 hour reception but when I tried to check out at 3 am because I had an early flight nobody was at the desk. I have a taxi waiting for me which was about to leave until somebody finally showed up about 15 min later. The hostel was smelly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jan 2017
6.0

An ok hostel for a few nights, but the kitchen is far too small for the number of guests (no fridge space or food storage space) and it doesn't look nearly as smart in real life as it does in the photos. St Kilda is lovely but this hostel is at the end of street featuring a few 'working girls'.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Good hostel in a nice part of Melbourne but our room wasn't the cleanist and didn't have a window so felt a bit weird. Also air con was broken so literally had no ventilation but other than that was a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lisanotley
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.6

Really enjoyed my stay here and have ended up extending my time. Good location, nice staff would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel for those looking to party near the beach. Comfy beds and near other hostels. A little smelly, but it's a hostel, what can you say. Provides lockers but no locks. Breakfast is toast and cereal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel. Maybe it just needs one more toilet/shower. But I really liked it all in all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Big lockers for your backpack. Ensuite dormitory with toilet and shower in one room for 8 people is a bit annoying since you have to wait often. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast mostly runs out before 10am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
5.4

The location was great- a 5 minute walk to the beach. However that was pretty much the only good thing. The rooms themselves were modern but there was rubbish everywhere from previous guests that the 'cleaners' (who were just backpackers themselves) wouldn't take away. Staff were rude and unhelpful especially with our airport transfer. The kitchen was disgusting with barely any cooking utensils, it was too small and dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
5.1

staff are rude and wake you up to clean the room at 9:30. A lot of people are long term residents so don't go out and are boring. No communal area to meet people so if you have boring people in your room have fun!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Pros - good location in st kilda. Nice people and good atmosphere. Rooms were spacious and there were lockers Cons - no windows which was a big con made the rooms feel a bit like a prison cell. Also rooms were not kept very clean rubbish from previous guests was never cleared away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.