Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 453 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Mar 2017
6.9

The atmosphere was sort of awkward. The room (dorm) wasn't clean - before going to bed I discovered a lot of hair on my duvet cover. The shower was moldy and the bathroom in a rather gross condition. It was the cheapest hostel for that time and okay for that one night, but wouldn't have stayed much longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.7

We had an amazing time at summer house. The staff was very helpful with whatever you needed. Facilities were clean and well laid out. Amazing location, skybus drops you off across the street, 5 minute walk to the grocery store and about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Definitely recommend staying here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.4

awesome area, party hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • KevinCovone
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Nice place, nice people, nice location. Most of the people staying here are long term residents. The staff is helpful. Located near St. Kilda beach so you can chill out and has 2 travel agencies nearby (CheapAZ Travel next door, Peter Pans in the lobby) so you can easily plan your trips. Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.4

Location was great and security as well! I understand it's a working hostel but I think dorms can be cleaned better than that.. we stayed 4 nights and nobody cleaned the toilet, people where leaving there bottle in the shower and it was pretty messy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Johnerikeklund
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel! The skybus busstop is 50m from entrance, so really easy to get to and from the Airport! Staff was very friendly and wasnt any problem if we needed help with anything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
7.4

Staff were lovely and there were free security lockers in the room. Main issue was the darkness of the rooms with no natural light at all and kitchen was pretty rough but otherwise really enjoyed my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • helenbrodie
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.9

Overall this is quite a nice hostel, however the kitchen is way too small for the amount of people staying. Luckily my boyfriend and I were only there for 1 night, so ate out, but just getting through to get our bags from the luggage storage area (which is at the back of the kitchen) was difficult because of the amount of people in there trying to cook at the same time. The atmosphere while we were there also wasn't great, no one was very friendly, and there seemed to be a lot of long-termers...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Friendly staff, Wonderful location to get st.kilda beach and city, good atmosphere for having fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

I absolutely loved this hostel and made a bunch of friends! Great atmosphere and great vibes. Was a great spot to settle in until you found work, an apartment, or farm work

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.