Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers Melbourne

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2017
8.0

The hostel wasn't too bad. All rooms had large security lockers. Staff was amazing, very friendly and easy to get on with. The bar area has something going on every now and then. The rooms were nice however the kitchen was not well maintained at all. The dishes were never put away and a lot of the time just left in the sink.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2017
9.7

Fabulous place, great people and overall legendary hostel. Good long term or short term rates.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
9th Sep 2017
8.3

The hostel is not that close to a tram stop when carrying my big back pack and had to take a taxi. Facilities great, pub next door, Netflix on top floor and convenience store next door also free breakfast. The guy on the front desk needs to smile more

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jackdavidturnbull3026
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Aug 2017
10.0

The BEST hostel we have stayed in since we came to Australia. The staff are amazing, the hostel is super clean - but the cleaners aren't disruptive if you are sleeping etc. Attached to a public bar, this doesn't mean it's a party hostel - but it's brilliant for live music during the day at weekends etc. 10/10!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2017
9.7

Best hostel I ever stayed in. Teddy? Ireland

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jun 2017
9.7

Lovely staff, helped me out with everything. Hostel is clean and beds super comfy. Loved this hostel, such a good atmosphere and easy to make friends. I'll be back! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I stayed in! It's really clean, even it's getting renovated ;) (but not loud at all) The rooftop is amazing and it also has a backpacker bar :) I really enjoyed myself staying there as the staff is the best! I will come back soon! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.7

Had the best view on the rooftop common area overlooking St Kilda Beach. FREE Wifi works really good and there is free breakfast too. The bed is so comfortable that i would love to sleep away the day but unfortunately life is more than that :-p Staff is very friendly and the hostel is very clean So easy to get here, the Skybus stop is just opposite of the hostel and the tram stop is just few minutes away to get to the city, very handy. Overall, brill stay and highly recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2017
10.0

Friendly staff! Clean! Great location! I had an awesome time at Summer House. Will definitely be back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
6.9

The atmosphere was sort of awkward. The room (dorm) wasn't clean - before going to bed I discovered a lot of hair on my duvet cover. The shower was moldy and the bathroom in a rather gross condition. It was the cheapest hostel for that time and okay for that one night, but wouldn't have stayed much longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×