Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Sep 2017
5.7

Meh. Location was about a 20 min walk to anything point of interest, there's only a few communal showers and toilets for everyone and it gets really loud at night because the windows open right over the area where everyone hangs out and plays music. But... on the good side, someone stole my vegemite so that saved me from having to eat it. Haha

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jeroenvankammen8510
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
6.0

Hostel is pretty nice, staff is amazing and helpfull aswell. The long stay people are just anoying and LOVE to scream, and be rude to other people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2017
8.6

Loved staying here! The place was really clean and tidy. People we met were lovely. Good TV room to chill in. Receptionist was really lovely and of great help! Well done :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
10.0

Great hostel- friendly staff, social and approachable guests, comfortable rooms. It is a large hostel, but without the run down dirty or impersonal feel of many Sydney hostels. Keep it up guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jul 2017
6.6

Hostel was alright. I was in an all girls dorm for a few nights and it was nice not be in bunk beds upstairs, however the room has a constant musty/damp smell which was really bothering. The place is very old, and the kitchen can be absolutely disgusting - however nothing they can really do because it's all the hostel people not cleaning up after themselves. It's in an easy location, close to Kings Cross station, and overall I enjoyed the place for what I needed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Jul 2017
7.1

Lockers, kitchen to use, comfy bed, cinema room was quite disgusting, but i suppose the blame could be on the other travelers staying there, Staff were meh, good value for money, good location, 10 mins to cbd, 20 mins to opera house, bridge,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.0

A cheap, no frills hostel. Good location and a huge shoutout to Timbos free pancakes on Sunday mornings-awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
4.6

Don't come here if you want to party- loads of like my term stayers who work- meaning every morning you are awoken just in time for the 7am train... also wifi is one of the worst i have ever encountered. Didn't even get it in our room even though it had 3 bars... it really teased me:/ Also I saw 2 huge rats so stay away. Staff very slow to respond to the correct question.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2017
6.3

FACTS: Overrated. Wifi doesn't work in rooms, only in common area downstairs. Although they clean often, there are cockroaches in the rooms, they may come from out of the hand sink that's in each room, otherwise I'm not sure what's going on with the infestation. One total toilet for each floor, many showers though. Lots of long term guests living there who either work or are looking work in Sydney. Kitchen is small an busy due to the working residents. Location may be the only major plus here :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
9.4

Hostel was very clean. I saw the rooms being cleaned every morning. It is a lite far from the city center but close to Kings Cross Station. Free breakfast! And its a decent breakfast - pancakes on Sundays was stellar. Staff was friendly and helpful. Besides a little distance I would def recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×