Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
6.0

Two words: Dirty and cliquey

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
17th May 2017
8.0

Really good place to stay. Good sized kitchen and rooms were really clean. Every time I went to the bathroom I think someone was in there cleaning it which was great. Put on a free pizza night and generally provided really good customer service. Atmosphere wasn't great with the majority being long termers but was nice and chilled. If I was back in Sydney I'd happily return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • charlottebrz
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay in Summer House Backpackers and I can recommend it. It's clean and the staff is so lovely! And the location is so good. Close to food shops and a 20 mins walk to the circular quay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.7

Very good location and value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.1

I stayed in the girl form which was clean and spacious. The whole hostel was pretty clean and free breakfast was good. There are a lot of long termers living there though so it's hard to meet people if you are just travelling and are on your own - wouldn't recommend it for solo travellers who aren't planning on staying in Sydney long term

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.0

Very friendly staff, the kitchen/ outdoor area is not bad but the rooms Are not ventilated enough, no bedside lamp, no curtains, really basic, and with backpackers who are not considerate towards others when it comes quite and discretion at bed time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.1

Loads of long stay residents so it's not good if you're a solo traveler

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
7.4

The staff were absolutely lovely and so helpful. However the guests staying there were obviously long term and workers so were so unfriendly towards us and we felt extremely unwelcome. Long term guests should be in separate rooms to the travellers to make them feel more welcome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Great atmosphere, clean tidy rooms, attentive staff. Courtyard to meet new people.. probobly the best hostel I've stayed in :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
2.0

Dirty,cramped, no air conditioning and a poorly maintained building. The rooms look nothing like the pictures. You're much better off staying around central station for easy transport around Sydney. I would never stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.