Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Summer House Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Summer House Backpackers Located at 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo, Sydney.
Summer House Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo
82% 215
-33.8739110 151.2192642
Summer House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
6.9

The hostel itself is a friendly, clean place to be, the staff are very nice and the facilities are decent, however there are alot of Germans staying at this hostel, which isn't a problem at all- however when there are so many people from the same country they naturally speak in their own language making it difficult for other people to approach or make friends. I don't understand why this particular hostel lets so many people stay there from the same country at one time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

German people everywhere! :D It was fun. We got some lovely pancakes on a Sunday morning. So delicious.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere, great people, great staff. Comfy beds, good location. Showers clean, although water temperature a bit iffy. WiFi in all rooms but sometimes slow. Will stay again next time in Sydney. Kept extending as I didn't want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
10th Jun 2016
8.6

Had sockets by all of the beds and the free WiFi was great but was pretty slow at peak times, showers were missing doors and the whole place seemed a bit run down

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
8.6

Good location near a train station and a reasonable walk to most of the main attractions. The staff are helpful; the facilities are clean; the free breakfast is basic but better than most hostels. The price is more than most but the hostel is maintained well. There are so many Germans here but I didn't feel excluded or unwelcome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.7

Clean rooms, Staff are very friendly and helpful, friendly roommates, free party everyday, near to Kings Cross train station and to the city. Summer House is for sure the place to be in Sydney :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.7

So impressed by this hostel! Everything was top notch! You guys gave me a very comfort stay, warming staff, and good facilities. Good location, so don't worry to get lost or hungry!!! Good job, guys!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Really loved my stay at the hostel. Staff were all super friendly and helpful, giving suggestions and tips for day trips. Only complaint would be that there aren't many bathrooms/showers, especially because the one on my floor was under construction while I was there. However it opened up my last day and it was really nice, so overall can't complain!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.0

The activities that are going on every night are really great. Kitchen is big and adequate storage space/supplies. The bathrooms/showers are a huge problem with this hostel.. Not enough, dirty, SO small (literally the size of an airplane stall). The hostel is old and could use a major update. Also, a lot of long term stayers. Great location and wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.0

Everyone spoke German, it was very much like a working hostel and there were a lot of cockroaches in the movie room. It wasn't that clean but I think that's due to the people living there being messy not the staffs lack of cleaning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.