X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Summer House Backpackers Reviews

153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
37 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I really enjoyed the time I stayed there; however the hostel could improve some facilities, mainly the bathrooms.


51%

This could be one of the best hostels in sydney, if they only would clean it!! Bathrooms are really really dirty and the carpets in the rooms are disgusting! Kitchen gets cleaned every day, but guests leave all the dirty dishes so it gets dirty again very soon- you have to be more strict!! Rooms very crowded by stuff of long-termers


86%

Staff is amazing, people here are welcoming. There's a party organized every night with free drinks! Free breakfast. Bathroom can get durty but mostly because of the people who're staying (cleaned up everyday). I would definitely recommend this hostel. I only booked 2 days but decided to stay here longer since the prices are very low compared to other backpackers in town.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great hostel with friendly staff, a good breakfast for the price, great location and opportunities to go out with the hostel each night. The size was small enough that it was easy to make friends, would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.


49%

Except free WiFi, breakfast and location, this place isn't the best place for you to stay if you're a traveler, and especially if you are a solo female traveler! Almost everybody there are workers and not travelers. I had some bad experience with some "cave" guys staying there, when they were tryin to pull out something on me just because I was sitting and eating dinner in front of the TV by myself! Also another guy made a racist comment about me in front of me! Should have gone elsewhere.


66%

I stayed only for 3 nights, so the atmosphere was quite bad as most of the other people stayed longer and had some "closed friends-groups". It was not very clean, especially the kitchen, but the location is great and i could walk to all of the famous sightseeings.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast includes original Nutella!!! Very nice place to stay.


74%

The staff who welcomed us was very friendly and the atmosphere very good ; there was some work during our stay but still it was not so noisy. Showers had temperature problems, certainly because of the work ! WiFi is the big surprise, would definitely recommend the place !

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It wasn't that good, bad atmosphere! (9.9.2014)

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Really dirty dirty dirty there are insects in my bed... Also some staff is rude.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

In terms of value for money this is the place, i have stayed in 3 other hostels in Sydney, this is by far the best. Great location to everything, free breakfast, free WIFI, comfy beds. What more could you want. Just finished/finishing a big renovation, new and upcoming, this is the place to be.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Under reconstruction but soon to be THE hostel to stay at in Sydney. a fun bunch of travellers, great atmosphere, super friendly staff, fast wifi, cheap and well located. I was sad to leave!!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

New owner, very nice and careful staff. I highly recommend it !

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is under new ownership and a lot of improvements are underway. Once they are done this place will be close too 100% rating. A great price for what you are getting. The hostel is easily accesible by train from the airport or shuttle (free). Only a 20 minute walk to the opera house it is well located. Highly reccomennded. Always a party but quiet enough to sleep by 10pm


80%

The hostel is going through renovations at the moment so can be a bit chaotic but the staff are so helpful and friendly they made up for any inconvenience. There's something going on or some suggested trip every evening. I've decided to stay longer as I'm enjoying it so much. Hoping there are plans to renovate the toilets/showers on the ground floor as they are the only aspect letting the hostel down for me (blocked drains, doors which don't lock, etc).


80%

I'm really conflicted about this hostel. It's being completely refurbished which is why it's so cheap now. The owner obviously understands backpackers as each bed as it's own power outlet and there's free wifi throughout all the dorms. Staff were also great. However it is already clearly becoming a "house share". It's full of long-term people who make a bit of a mess in the kitchen and don't seem to be too welcoming of outsiders which makes the stay pretty crappy if traveling alone.


80%

Hostel is under construction, price is really low. Location is very good and staffs are very helpful. People in my room are all very nice~ just need a bit improvement on the bathroom. Everything is great.


80%

Up and coming hostel Needs work but is well on the way to greatness Great staff with a great vision Made my kings cross trip


89%

Perfect place to stay in Sydney. No long-term travelers, well, not the annoying kind trying to make up their own rules. Hostel is renovating the place but hostel is ready to sleep in. Reception wasn't done yet when I arrived but didn't matter. Staff was friendly and trying to help where they could. Wifi is fast and free, breakfast was free . Clean showers and rooms and cool garden where they prepared a BBQ the night I was there. I would def. go back.


91%

Enjoyed my stay here! Staff are very helpful, dorms are clean with plenty of space, good facilities, location is excellent and great value for money. Going through a refurb at the minute but the owner is careful that it causes minimal interference to any of the guests. No complaints.


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback