Hostelworld.com

Summer House Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1
Summer House Backpackers Located at 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo, Sydney.
Summer House Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo
74% 191
-33.8739110 151.2192642
Summer House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
9.7

So impressed by this hostel! Everything was top notch! You guys gave me a very comfort stay, warming staff, and good facilities. Good location, so don't worry to get lost or hungry!!! Good job, guys!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Really loved my stay at the hostel. Staff were all super friendly and helpful, giving suggestions and tips for day trips. Only complaint would be that there aren't many bathrooms/showers, especially because the one on my floor was under construction while I was there. However it opened up my last day and it was really nice, so overall can't complain!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Apr 2016
6.0

The activities that are going on every night are really great. Kitchen is big and adequate storage space/supplies. The bathrooms/showers are a huge problem with this hostel.. Not enough, dirty, SO small (literally the size of an airplane stall). The hostel is old and could use a major update. Also, a lot of long term stayers. Great location and wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
6.0

Everyone spoke German, it was very much like a working hostel and there were a lot of cockroaches in the movie room. It wasn't that clean but I think that's due to the people living there being messy not the staffs lack of cleaning

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2016
10.0

I love Summer House so much, that I decided to stay here instead to get an apartment. Staff is awesome, always friendly, Anna the Manager is very helpful, rooms in top condition and the location couldn't be better for exploring Sydney. Also Wifi and breakfast is included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Best Hostel I've ever been! It's like a big family, you make friends for life here. Big courtyard where everyone sits together, tv room to chill out and every night an event with the event manager! Really friendly staff and all you need included: free wifi in the whole hostel, free breakfast in the mornings and free pancakes on Sundays :) can't imagine a better place to be, it turned out to be my 'home' in Australia :) ❤️❤️❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Such a nice hostel!! Friendly helpful staff, good location - close to everything! Big TV Room and a beautiful courtyard. Also free breakfast and Free unlimited WIFI. The event week is awesome,so much going on and always free entry and a free drink in the club's/pubs. Best hostel in Sydney :) thanks guys !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
4.6

If you love partying dude-bros and jocks and only speak German this is the place for you. Only good thing was the TV room. Otherwise, I couldn't wait to leave. Place was filthy as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2016
4.6

I didn't enjoy my stay here. It was smelly, dirty, water all over the floors, flys and cockroaches were all over. I felt u clean stayingbhere that I checked out a day early! It has a good tv room (tho lots of flys in there) but I found the staff unfriendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jan 2016
5.1

Bed was good and the location superb, however the facilities would be good if they were clean. Bathrooms are small and often occupied. Many insects around even after fumaigation due to uncleanliness of people staying. If this hostel was valued at $10 a night it would still be overpriced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.