Hostelworld.com

Summer House Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 7.1
Summer House Backpackers Located at 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo, Sydney.
Summer House Backpackers
Australia
Sydney NSW 2011 153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo
74% 179
-33.8739110 151.2192642
Summer House Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Best Hostel I've ever been! It's like a big family, you make friends for life here. Big courtyard where everyone sits together, tv room to chill out and every night an event with the event manager! Really friendly staff and all you need included: free wifi in the whole hostel, free breakfast in the mornings and free pancakes on Sundays :) can't imagine a better place to be, it turned out to be my 'home' in Australia :) ❤️❤️❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Such a nice hostel!! Friendly helpful staff, good location - close to everything! Big TV Room and a beautiful courtyard. Also free breakfast and Free unlimited WIFI. The event week is awesome,so much going on and always free entry and a free drink in the club's/pubs. Best hostel in Sydney :) thanks guys !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
4.6

If you love partying dude-bros and jocks and only speak German this is the place for you. Only good thing was the TV room. Otherwise, I couldn't wait to leave. Place was filthy as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Feb 2016
4.6

I didn't enjoy my stay here. It was smelly, dirty, water all over the floors, flys and cockroaches were all over. I felt u clean stayingbhere that I checked out a day early! It has a good tv room (tho lots of flys in there) but I found the staff unfriendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jan 2016
5.1

Bed was good and the location superb, however the facilities would be good if they were clean. Bathrooms are small and often occupied. Many insects around even after fumaigation due to uncleanliness of people staying. If this hostel was valued at $10 a night it would still be overpriced.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2016
10.0

Wow, cool hostel! Events every day and WiFi+breakfast included! Thats not a normal thing in hostels! Normally you have to pay a lot for wifi in backpackers, this is awesome! They really care about there backpackers! Its like a big family! I will come back for sure! GREAT STAFF!!! Thanks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2016
10.0

From the first moment I checked in, everybody was welcoming me! It was so lovely! I wish I could stay longer! There was a big courtyard where you can sit in the evenings and having drinks, food with the other backpackers. Everybody there is so nice! The facilities are not the newest, but all very clean! I definitely recommend it to all!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2015
6.0

No Air Conditioning. And ventilation is not good so rooms are quiet hot in summer. Cockroaches. The floor of whole room shakes when even one person is just walking in it. Scared me several times during sleep as the bed shook like there is an earthquake. Staff was nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2015
3.1

Worst hostel I've ever stayed in on the east coast it really put a downer on our stay at Sydney. Infested with cockroaches, rude staff and rude long stay residents, nobody makes you feel welcome at all unless you are part of their click, they didn't make room to sit down for us on a number of occasions when we had made dinner we had to stand up in the kitchen eating. Basically just don't stay there, save your money and your time.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • misschile
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2015
6.6

The bad thing was there were cockroaches everywhere...room, bed, inside the blankets, bathrooms, awful. The good thing, location and all the activities they had for christmas and new years.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.