X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Summer House Backpackers Reviews

153 Forbes Street, Wooloomooloo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
48 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

not enough bathrooms... and they are really dirty

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Only one dirty shower/toilet to share between about 50 people. Super hot and crowded rooms. Good breakfast but thats about it. Choose a different hostel.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff were really helpful, gave us lots of advice and free maps. Large hostel with lots of groups staying so made it a little hard to meet other travellers. Free breakfast and free wifi in all rooms is a nice touch :)


46%

Room was tiny, on the ground floor with double doors accedsable from the road and no curtains, this meant that people going by could see in and also the door wasnt very secure. Room should not have had more than 4 beds and it had 8 incredibly stuffy and hot. It says that there are lockers but it is not possible to lock them so you cannot lock valuables. There was mould all over the celing. The toilet handle was hanging off and stuffed with toilet paper and the showers were mouldly cesspits!!


89%

I stayed in 3 different hostels in the area. This one was definitely the most fun with the best staff, and coolest people.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Needs more toilets and showers...otherwise a good hostel.


71%

The staff is absolutely amazing, so is the location! The rooms however were more like sauna's and for me as a backpacker/traveler it was just not the right hostel as there were mostly working-visa people staying at the hostel who mostly formed groups with people who spoke the same language (manly being French and German) and were not very interested in others.


83%

We booked summer house backpackers for our first days in Sydney and we felt immediately welcomed! We stayed here for one month because of the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Actually the hostel needs some more showers but we really enjoyed the big court yard and the numerous activities the hostel offers, like free bbq, free club entrance and a summer party with live music! Best choice for the first Australia trip

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I really enjoyed the time I stayed there; however the hostel could improve some facilities, mainly the bathrooms.


51%

This could be one of the best hostels in sydney, if they only would clean it!! Bathrooms are really really dirty and the carpets in the rooms are disgusting! Kitchen gets cleaned every day, but guests leave all the dirty dishes so it gets dirty again very soon- you have to be more strict!! Rooms very crowded by stuff of long-termers


86%

Staff is amazing, people here are welcoming. There's a party organized every night with free drinks! Free breakfast. Bathroom can get durty but mostly because of the people who're staying (cleaned up everyday). I would definitely recommend this hostel. I only booked 2 days but decided to stay here longer since the prices are very low compared to other backpackers in town.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great hostel with friendly staff, a good breakfast for the price, great location and opportunities to go out with the hostel each night. The size was small enough that it was easy to make friends, would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.


49%

Except free WiFi, breakfast and location, this place isn't the best place for you to stay if you're a traveler, and especially if you are a solo female traveler! Almost everybody there are workers and not travelers. I had some bad experience with some "cave" guys staying there, when they were tryin to pull out something on me just because I was sitting and eating dinner in front of the TV by myself! Also another guy made a racist comment about me in front of me! Should have gone elsewhere.


66%

I stayed only for 3 nights, so the atmosphere was quite bad as most of the other people stayed longer and had some "closed friends-groups". It was not very clean, especially the kitchen, but the location is great and i could walk to all of the famous sightseeings.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast includes original Nutella!!! Very nice place to stay.


74%

The staff who welcomed us was very friendly and the atmosphere very good ; there was some work during our stay but still it was not so noisy. Showers had temperature problems, certainly because of the work ! WiFi is the big surprise, would definitely recommend the place !

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It wasn't that good, bad atmosphere! (9.9.2014)

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Really dirty dirty dirty there are insects in my bed... Also some staff is rude.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

In terms of value for money this is the place, i have stayed in 3 other hostels in Sydney, this is by far the best. Great location to everything, free breakfast, free WIFI, comfy beds. What more could you want. Just finished/finishing a big renovation, new and upcoming, this is the place to be.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Under reconstruction but soon to be THE hostel to stay at in Sydney. a fun bunch of travellers, great atmosphere, super friendly staff, fast wifi, cheap and well located. I was sad to leave!!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback