X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sun & Moon Hostel Reviews

C/ Ferran 17, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1302 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

A lot of hidden costs with this hostel, you have to pay for a blanket..... you get given a pillow on a mattress and you have to pay for a sheet to sleep under.. you have to pay for a locker and for luggage storage room aswell. you also have to pay for a towel if you want one. the rooms are pretty dingey also. If you are only staying for a few nights and want somehting cheap thats close to everything then stay here, but dont if you like your comforts


94%

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Great location, definitely recommend.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I found my stay at the Sun and Moon Hostel very pleasant, friendly staff and atmosphere !

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

was too cool inside the room, almost freezing at night.


86%

Nice value for money, friendly staff, excellent location and clean (fair enough for the price paid). Negative side: very noisy during one of the nights due to a party at 4 am, staff people came to interfere but the party went on..


83%

Sun and Moon was a great place to stay. Made lots of friends. Perfect location!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Slept in a locked dorm room by myself and left my phone to charge less than a meter from me, woke up to find the phone gone and door wide open..... otherwise a great location


83%

Only bad part is breakfast. Really not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for your comment. We will try and improve our breakfast. Thanks for letting us know.. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

89%

It was very clean, nice facilities and excellent location!


80%

Excellent location. Free breakfast was a bread roll uht yoghurt and a tea/coffee - glad to say it was free. Mattress was rather terrible as was the small pillow. Was an ok hostel for a short stay


40%

No kitchen was available, only an oven - don't write you have a kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Actually, we are not writing or advertising there is a kitchen.. that is why we don't offer it. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

83%

I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful whenever you had questions etc. I also had good access to wifi in my room and in the lobby area. the greatest advantage was that the hostel is located in the centre of the gothic area and makes for convenient sight-seeing.


66%

The front desk staff were very helpful and patient with our many questions. My only complaint was that the AC in our room didn't work, even after the handyman came up several times to look at it (he had to remove shattered mirror parts a previous guest had put in the vent to avoid a fine??). We had to open the door to the hallway during the middle of the night to make the room the room a bearable temperature to sleep, but it doesn't seem like that's the norm.


71%

In Barcelona most hostels are great (clean, modern, etc), this one was the excepetion. The building was old, the room seemed like it was dirty (it was not) and there was no electricity in our the room. Everything else was good. Great location!


49%

Rooms were really dirty, they ask for money for each facilities; such as clean sheets,towels,luggage storage. There is no internet connections in room. Among whole negative features staff were helpful and friendly.


54%

The room was not cleaned after check-in time. small acommodations. the bread and breakfast was also poor. The value for money in this hostel is the location and the low price.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location and atmosphere, dorms are not the best. Private rooms are the way to go!! Breakfast is a joke but all in all, great value for money!!


71%

Great location with plenty to do close by. Was woken up everyday by the staff coming in asking if we were whoever was suppose to check out that day.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

Honestly after 4 years as a backpacker my expectations are quite low but this hostel was really awful. Location is great, just next to La Ramblas, this is the only good thing about it. Also breakfast was poor but ok. the rest of it was just nightmare. noisy,smelly,small room. Noisy air condition wont let you sleep since u are sleeping without sheets-blankets. I wont recommend anyone even for 1 night. even to stay far from center and use metro it is better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry you had a bad stay in our hostel. We are suprised about the feedback you gave. The rooms are cleaned every day and the common rooms, too. We use special products for hostels so the rooms are clean and have a good smell. However, it is important to note that you are sharing the room with other people, which might be the reason why you felt it was dirty? may be your room mates weren't very tidy? The breakfast consists on a variety of coffees, juice, bread, youghurt, jam, butter..

86%

Great location and perfect hostel to meet other travellers!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback