X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sun & Moon Hostel Reviews

C/ Ferran 17, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1311 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Lovely place, excellent location. The bathroom is small for the 8 beds room, but nothing that bad.


94%

Had a great stay in Barcelona while staying at Sun & Moon Hostel right off la Rambla a main tourist attraction. Close to great restaurants, St Joseph market and Carrefour market and short walk to waterfront. Short hike to beach. Renovations are completed. New kitchen is small but has a refrigerator and small toaster over unit to heat food. Prices so good at markets it is easy to eat for very reasonable prices.


66%

Chrap place to stay one night

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Big scam ! Don't be attracted by the low prices, you will have to add 5€ in order to have bed Sheets and cover. The kitchen is very small and there is nothing to cook nor to eat. Only a microwaves and 3 forks for all the hostel. Free wifi is also a scam : it Works only in the kitchen at the ground floor. Rooms are small and dirty. The cleaning seems to consist only on changing the sheets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The statement you are giving is written in the description of the hostel already: sheets, towels and blankets for rent. We never advertise that there is kitchen facility in the hostel, therefore it is not relevant what you mention. And there is not only microwave but also an owen and fridge and much more cutlery to customers can make and warm food. The cleaning service is 24hrs.We have staff working all day and night in order to provide good service. Wifi, as stated, works only in the lobby too.

80%

Breakfast quality is bad and the quantity is not enough important. Some computers don't work.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It was not bad, it was cheap considering the location. But the room was quite small and for 8 people there was just one bathroom. But the staff were nice and also the breakfast.


49%

A lot of hidden costs with this hostel, you have to pay for a blanket..... you get given a pillow on a mattress and you have to pay for a sheet to sleep under.. you have to pay for a locker and for luggage storage room aswell. you also have to pay for a towel if you want one. the rooms are pretty dingey also. If you are only staying for a few nights and want somehting cheap thats close to everything then stay here, but dont if you like your comforts


94%

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Great location, definitely recommend.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I found my stay at the Sun and Moon Hostel very pleasant, friendly staff and atmosphere !

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

was too cool inside the room, almost freezing at night.


86%

Nice value for money, friendly staff, excellent location and clean (fair enough for the price paid). Negative side: very noisy during one of the nights due to a party at 4 am, staff people came to interfere but the party went on..


83%

Sun and Moon was a great place to stay. Made lots of friends. Perfect location!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Slept in a locked dorm room by myself and left my phone to charge less than a meter from me, woke up to find the phone gone and door wide open..... otherwise a great location


83%

Only bad part is breakfast. Really not great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for your comment. We will try and improve our breakfast. Thanks for letting us know.. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

89%

It was very clean, nice facilities and excellent location!


80%

Excellent location. Free breakfast was a bread roll uht yoghurt and a tea/coffee - glad to say it was free. Mattress was rather terrible as was the small pillow. Was an ok hostel for a short stay


40%

No kitchen was available, only an oven - don't write you have a kitchen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest Actually, we are not writing or advertising there is a kitchen.. that is why we don't offer it. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

83%

I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful whenever you had questions etc. I also had good access to wifi in my room and in the lobby area. the greatest advantage was that the hostel is located in the centre of the gothic area and makes for convenient sight-seeing.


66%

The front desk staff were very helpful and patient with our many questions. My only complaint was that the AC in our room didn't work, even after the handyman came up several times to look at it (he had to remove shattered mirror parts a previous guest had put in the vent to avoid a fine??). We had to open the door to the hallway during the middle of the night to make the room the room a bearable temperature to sleep, but it doesn't seem like that's the norm.


71%

In Barcelona most hostels are great (clean, modern, etc), this one was the excepetion. The building was old, the room seemed like it was dirty (it was not) and there was no electricity in our the room. Everything else was good. Great location!


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback