Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sun & Moon Hostel Reviews

C/ Ferran 17, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1431 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


the hostel is great and have stayed there before. We went out the Saturday night and fair enough we were a little noisy when we came back and got told to be quiet which we did but then when I have got home to check my bank they have charged us £70 on top of what we already paid on the night is a joke. £70 is a joke!! We were more than apologetic and realised what we had done

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest. All night you distrubed ALL customers from the hostel. All of them came and complained of your bad behaviour. You broke one of our lockers. Even neighbours from outside the hostel complained that you were shouting and drinking. This behaviour is not permitted in the hostel. You were charged 70 Euros, 10 Euros per person for all the damage created. Sun & Moon hostel


Some more cleanliness in the rooms was necessary as well,as some room freshener or cleaning twice a day. Besides the rooms were,a bit too small for the number of people staying.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. We will consider it and put more emphasis on the cleaning. Many thanks. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel


Good central location and nice staff, free breakfast. Only mattress cover is provided, you need to pay extra to get something to cover yourself, which is ridiculous. Have you ever paid in restaurant extra for cutlery? Kitchen consists of two microwaves and few plates, not a single cup. Institutional feel with zero atmosphere.


The staff was excellent. I had made a reservation for a larger group, but some people backed out last minute and the staff at the hostel was very accommodating with my last minute changes. There was also always someone at the reception desk that spoke English which made the whole process easier.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


This was the cheapest hostel in Barcelona.. But I guess you get what you pay for... First room they put be in had two broken lockers so they changed my rooms. The next room had a main door that wouldn't lock... They said they would come up to fix it but I never saw any staff... The rooms were tight and the beds were even tighter. If you are over 6' tall don't go here you will regret it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Patrick Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is that our customers have the best and most comfortable stay. The lockers were not broken however there was a key missing which was fixed immediately when you told us. The lock of the room was working well as the maintenance guy came to fix it. Please we ask that you report these things in reception if they are not sorted. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel


it's a really good hostel. the location is excellent. the breakfast is great as well. nothing to complain about it.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The hostel has an amazing location: It is in the Ramblas Center and between two metro line (1 minute walking from both of them). The staff was Amazing, I have seen the two Italian guys at the reception day and night dealing with any kind of issue and any kind of customers.The hostel itself is not beautiful and the breakfast is not excellent, but I would recomment it to all my friends.


THE WORST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD... Jus pay a few euros extra and get an actual hostel. The rooms smell,no blanket or towel unles u buy one from them. The worst showers, u constantly have to hold for water to come out, so shower with one hand basically. rooms are filthy dark, noisy from outside. The cheap price is not worth it honestly.


The room was very dirty but the day after the guy cleaned it and it was ok. The problem come from the staff, they come into the room and do their stuff like if there are nobody. They turn on the light, ask if the guy beside left or gonna come back while you are still sleeping. The good points is the price and that you are at 1mn from la Rambla but this hostel is such a factory for tourist that I won't recommend. You pay for everything, except for the breakfast that is poor and disgusting.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Romain, Thank you for your feedback. Rooms are cleaned every day - please do let us know when they are not clean (as we explain during welcome day), as our cleaning service is 24x7. The staff has to go upstairs as unfortunately many people don't respect check-out time. On the other hand, the rate includes free breakfast (buffet on drinks, yoghourt, croissant, bread, mermelade, nutella, butter), dinner, free lockers and many more things. You don't pay for everything.Regards,Sun & Moon Hostel


Very Secure Hostel! The rooms need a little improvement. Breakfast is offered which is GREAT!


Good beds with power points, great bar with awesome music and cheap drinks, everything was clean, staff were very helpful, walking tours were good, and of course a fantastic location. Air con worked great and the wifi.


Rooms were tiny and the bathroom's weren't great. Air conditioning was terrible and when asked about it the reception provided little help. Very good location though. A kitchen would have been useful as well


I went there with very little expectations because I've read some pretty bad reviews.But I was positivly surprised.The location is just perfect, you get everywhere so easily and you're right in the center.The staff is very nice and gave us tips about what to see,where to eat etc. The hostel is very clean,not so clean were our rooms,but that's because we had nasty roommates.A minus point: the showers, there is next to no water coming out. Loved the free breakfast and dinner! I would come back!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you Vanessa for your feedback. It is nice to read positive reviews of customers when they are happy about the stay - not many do! So we are encouraged by yours. We will definitely work on the showers - we are actually going to get them all newly done. Thanks! Regards, Sun & Moon hostel


This hostel was disgusting. We spent 4 days here and couldn't sleep in the room- it was putrid, hot & we were put in a very tiny, badly ventilated room with a family of 6 which was awkward for all. The shower flooded the bathroom & smelt of mould. It was incredibly noisy outside which wouldn't have been so bad (considering the location) if this hostel was actually reasonable enough to sleep in. Poor service from staff, only the cleaners & bartender were friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Belinda We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in Barcelona. Actually, we are very shocked about the experience you had. The hostel accommodates all type of ages but if you felt uncomfortable you just had to tell us, we would have changed rooms. Our cleaning service is available 24x7 for any problem.


the location of this hostel is perfect, beside this it is not really great at all. the rooms are really really small, the matress was disgusting. the free breakfast is very simple but okay it's free, the free dinner was nice but not in the hostel and you had to buy a drink to get it for free. there's not really a kitchen and to common room is not nice , no atmosphere at all. they also charge 2 or more euros for almost everything like sheets or towels or luggage storage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Leonie. The price for 25 euros offers a bed, with free breakfast: buffet on drinks, bread, jam, butter, nutella, yoghurt, croissants... dinner offers one big plate of food which could be pizza, pasta, chilli con carne..etc. the drink costs only 2 Euros.. Besides the information about the extra charges are already stated on the site. The cleaning room is available 24x7- if you had told us we could have cleaned the room and change the mattress.


A lot of extras to pay. We got late half an hour to check out (10h) and they kept our deposit fee for the key. Although the common areas are modern and well decorated the room floors are quite old, the same for rooms and bathrooms. The bathroom did not smell very good.


Amazing location and good people staying there. Shame they charge 2€ for blankets and deliberately make the rooms cold with the AC.


I was happy with this hostel. The location is perfect, service is pretty good. There are many facilities, though you pay one or two Euros for pretty much everything on top of the nightly rate. For example, you have to pay two Euros to get an extra bed sheet to cover yourself with. My biggest gripe with this hostel is that there is no place to just sit quietly and comfortably, there is a lobby of sorts but it's completely walled so every sound kind of echoes around. But unpleasant.


The girl with glasses at reception is the best! She gave me amazing suggestions. This hostel is located right off las rambas so it's easy to get to every attraction you want to get it. If walking isn't for you, there's a metro a minute away. The room gives you a locker that I found to be very spacious and safe. Wish there were more social events though and a better way to meet people in the hostel!


The "Kitchen" is best to be avoided..only 3 forks and a spoon. No stove and an old dirty fridge. Not even a kettle. Also the dorms are very small and you need to leave a deposit for EVERYTHING! On the day we arrived, we had no idea where to sleep because we were 9 people in an 8 bed dorm. And we weren't able to find out who or what was wrong because sun and moon don't assign beds. For the price we ended up paying I really can't recommend it to anyone.

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)

View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback