Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunny's Adelaide Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 302 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
Sunny's Adelaide Backpackers Hostel Located at 139 Franklin St, , Adelaide.
Sunny's Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
Australia
Adelaide South Australia SA 5000 139 Franklin St
82% 302
-34.9276712 138.5940313
Sunny's Adelaide Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel within walking distance from the city center! Comfortable beds, and a well equipped kitchen :) a little cold inside during winter, so bring an extra jumper! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.9

The staff at the hostel were really nice. If you are arriving by bus the location is a two minute walk from the bus station. The showers were really not great. The hostel was clean but rough around the edges and everything had the appearance of being a bit shabby and run down. The WiFi was good for the most part and strong in the rooms. My room lock was dodgy and there were no lockers so I felt the safety of my things could be at risk. The pancake breakfast was nice if you got up early enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
6.9

The staff was very helpful to any request I had or information I need and allowed me to store my bags for the day when I was waiting to board a flight. Hostel is very close to bus station and buses to airport only 20 and 3.40$. The hostel is a little run down bedding was clean and beds were compfy. Kitchen and bathrooms looked pretty warn down. Overall worth the money and very convenient location!! There wasn't many people which is why atmosphere could have been better. Large age range of guests

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Sunny's is in a great location just 2 minutes' walk from the bus terminal, close to Chinatown and 10 min walk to the main shops in the cbd. The staff are good decent blokes, and can help you get work/rent a car/recommend places to visit. Rooms are fine, beds nice and soft. Fairly big dining area. The pancake breakfast and free tea/coffee is a nice touch and shows character from the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.4

The staff were amazingly helpful - so knowledgeable and willing to help us sort out any problems etc. Only faults were no lockers in the rooms and the showers/bathrooms could do with improving. Amazing location for all the sights. Kitchen had everything you needed to be able to cook.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 77 reviews
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Well-located hostel, it's easy to walk to most of the amenities in Adelaide a visitor might want to visit. The hostel is a bit rough around the edges and hasn't been renovated in a while - if everything needs to be sparkling, this might not be the place for you. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful with questions about Adelaide, and told us everything we needed to know for our stay. He was also able to organise last minute parking. The hostel has a great common area too. Recommended!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Pete and the other staff were incredibly nice and helpful! Prime location in Adelaide, plus off-street parking. We would definitely stay at Sunny's again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
5.7

I came into the hostel and rang the doorbell as no one was at the front desk. The man that answered was pretty rude and stared at me for a while before finally asking if there was something he could help me with. The outdoor looked a little dingy, peeling paint etc., and inside it looked old and dusty... It just gave me bad vibe and things felt pretty sketchy, so I left and stayed a different hostel. The other hostel said other people have complained about the owner of Sunny's

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
6.6

was an OK backpackers, you get what you pay for. Not very clean, the bunks were weak and they moved too much, and was difficult to reach the upper bed because there was no ladder or something to get up. Staff were nice, they helped me when i needed and gave me directions and stuff. Facilities were OK, but the showers are too far from rooms so was quite uncomfortable but at least the toilets are good enough and clean. Rooms are not too clean, too many holes in the walls

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.1

The staff were great, nice and friendly and welcoming. The place was very cluttered though, and run down in places. The location was great, right outside the bus station and only a short walk to the tram line and CBD.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.