Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunny's Adelaide Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 435 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Sep 2017
6.0

It was a weird vibe because most of the people were construction workers who lived there. The rooms were not great and I just was not a fan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
9.1

Place is at the heart of Adelaide. Accessible to pretty much everything. One advantage to travellers is its distance to the bus terminal. Huge common room, quite spacious rooms for a backpacker. The staff are friendly and efficient. You got an instant tour guide!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Probably my favourite hostel on the face of the earth. Great vibe 👌👏

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.6

This hostel is ideal for anyone using the bus terminal in adelaide. Just a short walk and you are there. I have stayed here twice now, mainly for the convenience of location but also the staff go out of their way to help you. The only draw back to this hostel for me, as it was winter, I was cold at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
9.1

It's a bit old-fashioned but that makes its charm. The manager and the staff were always friendly and helpful. This hostel is like a little family where everyone knows each other. I just booked half an hour before my arrival and could already check in at 10.00 am. Car parking was no problem at all. The hostel is not accessible for foreign people. Furthermore I got an upgrade to a 6 bed room. The staff cleaned the rooms every day. The only hostel I would stay again if I came back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

The owner is amazing. He made an effort to get to know me, remember who I am, and he even drove me to the airport at 5am! What a legend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

I had a great stay at Sunny's everyone was just warm and friendly. I liked how the owner went above and beyond to drive me to the airport. It's a no frills hostel with basic amenities but just what I needed for a short weekend trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • SWDuncan
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.0

Owners were very helpful and friendly. Moved our beds when they realised we were a couple booked into an all male room (we didn't request this but was a nice touch). Beds were comfy and the free breakfast and tea/coffee was good. Small kitchen and nice communal dining area for people to socialise. Maybe not the cleanest but would stay again as the general atmosphere and friendliness of the hosts were worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katefoster
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2017
9.4

Aside from Sunny's having an excellent location literally around the corner from the central bus station, the staff go above and beyond to help you out, which was absolutely invaluable to me. They gave me advice/insight on places I was going, allowed me to store my bags safely at the hostel while I went out of town for a couple days free of charge, and even drove me to the airport so I could continue on my travels afterward - I've never had such a caring and generous experience at a hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th May 2017
8.0

Lots of long termers in this place, but friendly atmosphere and staff. Decor is dated but place is really clean. Drawbacks are slow Wifi and no lockers. Was good for a one night stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×