Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunshine Home

  • Hui Yang Yuan Residential Complex, Building no 201, Huangsha Avenue 201 Liwan District, Guangzhou, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 419 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 419 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
4.3

The SunShine Home was shut down by the local police a few days prior to my arrival on 05/16. According to the owner, she already informed Hostelworld about the shutdown! But I continued to receive "0-Day to enjoy the stay at SunShine Home" from Hostelworld even on 5/16! Only after I spent over 100RMB TAXI fare and arrived at the SunShine location, was I informed by the community guard that the hostel was shut down by the police! This is not what I expected from Hostelworld!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • jameswebster5053
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
2.0

Hotel wasn't in the location given. Lost our deposit 5/20/2017

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Apr 2017
7.4

Ok for the money if you need somewhere for a short stay.... but out of the way but near the subway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
5.7

Booked a 8 person room. Arrived and was told they changed my booking to a different room... they did not tell me this "room" was behind a set of lockers in the main living room. Very loud all night. Wifi was slow and kept cutting out. Room was very humid with clothes drying everywhere. Lots of people so lots of bags everywhere. Bunk beds were very shaky, woke up whenever the person below moved. More of a living hostel than a backpacker one. Lady was very nice though and spoke good English.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
10.0

An amazing hostel and great people. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke great English. She made arrangements for me even though my flight got delayed 4 hours and I ended up getting to the hostel at 4 AM and she got everything ready so that I could check in without issue. The room itself is great. The beds are very comfy. I do prefer a slightly more firm mattress but each bed has a real mattress and a foam topper. The common area was spacious and had great airflow. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
2.6

This place is not as advertised on the web, It's a very uncomfortable place, a department adapted to hostel and so heavily overcrowded, there is no privacy and the the bathrooms all the time occupied. I do not recommend it in the least.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Very decent hostel, good value for money. However, not super central and only one bathroom for the whole hostel makes that I only give a 7.7.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Sunshine Home lives up to its name in every way! Instead of a typical 'hostel experience', where you feel that you are 'just passing through', here you feel at home, even if you are only staying one night. There is a feeling of visiting a friend's (expansive) apartment, where you encounter fellow travelers from all over the world. Our hostess is exceptionally knowledgeable and multilingual. The view from the 24th floor balcony overlooking Lychee Park and the Guangzhou skyline is breathtaking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

I've staid there twice already. It's a nice place with a firendly, familiar atmosphere - the hostel is basically like a very big apartment (with an amazing view over downtown Guangzhou from the balcony). The hosts are cordial and can help you with a lot of stuff and one of them speaks English quite fluently. It may be a bit difficult to find at first, although it's not far from the ZhongShanBa Metro, so make sure you follow the site description for the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
7.7

The girl who run the hostel are very nice, she can give you good advices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.