Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunshine Home

  • Hui Yang Yuan Residential Complex, Building no 201, Huangsha Avenue 201 Liwan District, Guangzhou, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2017
7.7

Mixed feelings. We turned up at midnight to a residential block with no indication of there being a hostel. It didn't feel legit and when we saw the sign written in biro on lined paper outside the door we decided we didn't want to go in as just a small group and booked a nearby hotel. Our friends told us it was ok inside and we then stayed there two nights. Shower water and wifi patchy. Good atmosphere. Nice enough place with a good view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great value for money. The host was very welcoming and helped us with planning out things to do in Guangzhou. Instructions on how to get there were clear. The balcony offered some nice views of the city, including Canton Tower in the distance. The only slight inconvenience was the lack of a bar on the premises, however, as the name suggests, the place is more of a home than a large hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rickadapter
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Sunshine Home, is a hostel that drills in the home feeling. You're greeted by the hostess (mom) on arrival and your accommodation is sorted immediately. The view from the common balcony and shared rooms are breathtaking. Bathrooms are clean and beds are comfy. I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, son! It would be lovely to have you guys as our children (grin) Would love to welcome you again! All the best with your study!

3rd Jan 2017
7.1

Sunshine home is ok. The place doesn't have amazing facilities, the rooms are a bit tight and the toilets could do with some extra cleaning. However, the atmosphere is nice and the manager is very nice. It's fairly close to the town centre. I'm not sure if I'd stay there again. Maybe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Very friendly owner who helped me have a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.0

A good place to stay. Close to the metro station. The staff were extremely helpful. I would be happy to stay there again. Guangzhou is a good place to visit for a couple of days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
5.4

The picture is misleading because not all the balconies look out over Lake. Staff are quite nice. However, there is just no way that you can say that the rooms (at least the ones I saw) have 'AWESOME CLEANLINENESS'. It is quite run-down and we regularly saw insects coming out of the wall and into the bathroom. Since other guests have commented on this as well, it is clear that inaccurate reviews are being written, presumably on behalf of the owners. 10/10 for all the criteria is completely false

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
6.0

Firstly, the owner asked me to leave a good review and explained in detail on how to do so. I would be doing a disservice to other travelers if i wasn't honest. Negatives: Paid for a 8 person dorm but 9 people stayed in my room. Bathroom smells of sewage. Owners husband used our 9 person dorm bathroom twice around midnight, tried telling me how to hang laundry and questioned my purchase of beers at the hostel.Hostel literally feels like a home. Positive: helpful owner, wifi,comfy bed

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.