Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sunshine Home

  • Hui Yang Yuan Residential Complex, Building no 201, Huangsha Avenue 201 Liwan District, Guangzhou, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
10.0

An amazing hostel and great people. The owner was very friendly and helpful and spoke great English. She made arrangements for me even though my flight got delayed 4 hours and I ended up getting to the hostel at 4 AM and she got everything ready so that I could check in without issue. The room itself is great. The beds are very comfy. I do prefer a slightly more firm mattress but each bed has a real mattress and a foam topper. The common area was spacious and had great airflow. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Very decent hostel, good value for money. However, not super central and only one bathroom for the whole hostel makes that I only give a 7.7.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
10.0

Sunshine Home lives up to its name in every way! Instead of a typical 'hostel experience', where you feel that you are 'just passing through', here you feel at home, even if you are only staying one night. There is a feeling of visiting a friend's (expansive) apartment, where you encounter fellow travelers from all over the world. Our hostess is exceptionally knowledgeable and multilingual. The view from the 24th floor balcony overlooking Lychee Park and the Guangzhou skyline is breathtaking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

I've staid there twice already. It's a nice place with a firendly, familiar atmosphere - the hostel is basically like a very big apartment (with an amazing view over downtown Guangzhou from the balcony). The hosts are cordial and can help you with a lot of stuff and one of them speaks English quite fluently. It may be a bit difficult to find at first, although it's not far from the ZhongShanBa Metro, so make sure you follow the site description for the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
7.7

The girl who run the hostel are very nice, she can give you good advices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jan 2017
7.7

Mixed feelings. We turned up at midnight to a residential block with no indication of there being a hostel. It didn't feel legit and when we saw the sign written in biro on lined paper outside the door we decided we didn't want to go in as just a small group and booked a nearby hotel. Our friends told us it was ok inside and we then stayed there two nights. Shower water and wifi patchy. Good atmosphere. Nice enough place with a good view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great value for money. The host was very welcoming and helped us with planning out things to do in Guangzhou. Instructions on how to get there were clear. The balcony offered some nice views of the city, including Canton Tower in the distance. The only slight inconvenience was the lack of a bar on the premises, however, as the name suggests, the place is more of a home than a large hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rickadapter
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jan 2017
9.1

Sunshine Home, is a hostel that drills in the home feeling. You're greeted by the hostess (mom) on arrival and your accommodation is sorted immediately. The view from the common balcony and shared rooms are breathtaking. Bathrooms are clean and beds are comfy. I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review, son! It would be lovely to have you guys as our children (grin) Would love to welcome you again! All the best with your study!

3rd Jan 2017
7.1

Sunshine home is ok. The place doesn't have amazing facilities, the rooms are a bit tight and the toilets could do with some extra cleaning. However, the atmosphere is nice and the manager is very nice. It's fairly close to the town centre. I'm not sure if I'd stay there again. Maybe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Jan 2017
9.4

Very friendly owner who helped me have a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.