Hostelworld.com

Sunshine Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,003 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
Sunshine Hostel Located at Via Giolitti, 208, , Rome.
Sunshine Hostel
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Giolitti, 208
74% 1003
41.8925981 12.5136637
Sunshine Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2016
7.4

The hostel is nice - quite clean. But I did not know we were supposed to pay the tax part of the fee in cash. So this caused an unpleasant argument. In case you spend any night at this hostel, bring cash, specially if you go at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.4

Great location from termini station and the colosium. Both are within walking distance. Florinda was very nice and gave us a croissant every morning and when we woke up late she still saved us croissants and made more coffee. The showers were interesting.. clean but interesting... rooms were great... it felt like home because she was so nice to us!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
2.0

sketchy area. there were bedbugs. owner continued to charge us after we requested to cancel after seeing bug. she demanded we came back to 'show them to her'. very accommodating at first, but once we left, the hostel owner became aggressive and rude, yelling at us via phone. she even had the audacity to claim that we had brought the bugs to her. no 24 hour reception. she's difficult to get in contact with. overall- not worth it. go stay in a hotel, if possible, instead.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • santiagoavidal658
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
8.0

I guess that it is ok if you are looking for a place to spend the night near termini. The place is a bit far from the main attractions and it doesn't have the facilities and atmosphere that you can find in other hostels in Roma for the same price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2016
7.7

Sunshine hostel was one of my favorites, but the location is terrible. It is located on a really rough side of town which kind of ruined our Rome experience. If you are male or okay with staying a little far off, then I highly recommend this hostel. She has is set up like it's home with cozy decorations and cool bathrooms. There is no kitchen or laundry facilities but she brings in delicious pastries for breakfast. She is like a mom, but make sure to inform her if you will be checking late

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
6.3

Overall it was a fine stay! Finding the building was a bit difficult because we expected a sign or something, it's actually just a ladies apartment with renovated facilities. She was nice, and explained things well enough. Every morning there was a croissant and coffee or tea, which was great. The beds were mediocre and the building itself smelled a bit odd. It's a bit of a walk from major transport, but completely do-able. I guess, just don't expect a hostel, expect an odd Airbnb?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • maslowsasha
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Nov 2015
6.9

We had an interesting stay at this hostel. Florinda is very nice and helpful, but the hostel itself is odd. The wifi only works under the router, there's no common room, and the washrooms are unkept. The hostel is right beside the train tracks, so it's not a great location, but there's 3 locks to get into your room. Overall it was a fine experience, but I'm sure there's better places in Rome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2015
10.0

Alessandro Downtown is a great hostel! It is very clean and well-kept, it has nice rooms and a kitchen equipped with a stove, a microwave, electric kettles, pots, pans etc. It also has a really large common. In a few words, it has everything that a hostel needs. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, especially Ovens, who is really kind and did a lot to help me and make my stay as comfortable as possible. I'd also like to thank Giandi and Alex. A special thanks goes to my late friend Allan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2015
9.4

Wonderful host, friendly atmosphere, had a great stay and would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Oct 2015
6.0

Hostel very hard to find. City tax 3.5! V informed in advance v wud b arriving around 9 pm and got a "OK. no problem" mail in reply.But the owner gave a long lecture to our friends who had arrived an hour earlier, gave them the responsibility of opening the gate for us (who had to cancel their plans of going out that eve) and left. Breakfast is exactly 1 croissant per person (which the owner will not let you touch but will give you personally). She tries to keep a sweet face but is angry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.