X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Supertramp Hostel Reviews

Calle Chaskatika, Barrio Las Orquideas, Plaza de la Cultura, Machu Picchu, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
753 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really nice staff, they even were up at 4:30 in the morning frying us eggs. Real coffee, too, and beds with actually comfortable mattresses. We found this a great place to stay before going up to Machu Picchu.


71%

Breakfast not as indicated in Lonely Planet!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Bathrooms are smelly, there is no toilet paper, there is no guard on duty to restrict strangers of coming in /going out. the electric wiring sucks, it blew out and drew my phone chargers int a charcoal. Mixed dorms are stupid way to welcome visitors...., especially couples. They should have 1 dorm males and 1 dorm females respectively which is NOT so difficult to achieve- just separate the rooms...the floors are dirty- please clean them more often since there is a sandy dirt everywhere in PERU.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent Hostel. This was one of the most economical choices in all of Machu Picchu Pueblo and yet had excellent customer service. The staff was very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The facilities were clean and had good hot water for showers. I definitely recommend this as the place to stay for any travelers on their way to Machu Picchu.


71%

Maybe it is great if you want to party but if u prefer a calm place with no noise it is definitely not this one. It will depends on what are you looking for.


86%

Stayed for one night. Nice small/quiet place. Breakfast in the morning included eggs. I would stay again.


89%

Spacious dorms and a good DVD collection. The best thing is they have breakfast from 4:30am for people to go to Machu pichchu early. Internet is patchy at times.


83%

Location was OK but the breakfast sucks good for a one night on your way to Muchu Picchu

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, sorry to heard that you didn't like our breakfast, can you please send us an email, telling us why you didn't like it, so we can improve the quality of our service. Kind Regards

63%

A ok place to stay a night in Aguas Calientes. Pretty average really, good friendly service, although not the best english, Nice breakfast.


83%

Seemed like mostly just a place to crash before going to Machu Picchu, although I got in really late at night. Upsides: Clean, nice staff, good complementary breakfast, fast wifi Downsides: Not set up too well to meet people (except at breakfast), could not find a place to charge electronics overnight


71%

The place is really cool looking and it is a nice place to stay


80%

GOOD PLACE ,FRIENDLY.the personnel is o.k .Well located.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Hope that we could have a better wifi service.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Not that close to the bus and train station, but overall very good place. Staff was helpful, even dried my clothes for free in the dryer (we arrived in the pouring rain) and gave us towels for free to dry off. Breakfast included before the early morning hike to MP! Definitely recommend for everyone to go there!


57%

very noisy. anybody can go to any room. no security


83%

Chilled hostel in the middle of the nature, so that's why were some bugs inside the house!


100%

Great hostel, dorms are quiet, comforters, comfy beds, staff is amazing, best food & cocktails & inexpensive. The only thing I would request is more hooks in the showers.


97%

The Supertramp Hostel in Aguas Calientes was fantastic! one of the best aspects of our travels in Peru. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Marisol at the front desk handled all the hostel transactions with professionalism. Angie did a fantastic job helping us plan and organize our trip to AC and MP. On her own time, she even showed us a few fantastic restaurants in town and spectacular 'local's only' hikes. The facility was clean and atmosphere welcoming.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Fine hostel, nice enough. Between the loud music at the bar, the downpour on the metal roof, and the moviewatchers in the central atrium, it was very loud in the 10 bed dorm. I had some trouble getting to sleep, despite being exhausted from traveling and generally an easy and deep sleeper. Still, a great experience... that's why we go to hostels, right? A good option in the decidedly touristy Aguas Calientes.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel it's self was nice. The beds were big and comfy. However at different stages of our one night stay there was no electricity and no water. But no body explained why or when it would be fixed. We were literally left in the dark!


« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Machu Picchu Hostels

Please give us your feedback