Hostelworld.com

Supertramp Hostel

  • Calle Chaskatika, Barrio Las Orquideas, Plaza de la Cultura, Machu Picchu, Peru
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Supertramp Hostel Located at Calle Chaskatika, Barrio Las Orquideas, Plaza de la Cultura, Machu Picchu.
Supertramp Hostel
Peru
Machu Picchu Calle Chaskatika, Barrio Las Orquideas, Plaza de la Cultura
84% 1474
-13.1560058 -72.5224900
Supertramp Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
7.7

Super tramp was a lovely hostel its walls are covered in messages from past travelers and I had great fun reading all the notes I didn't eat there and the showers are a bit temperamental (but that's what you should expect given the location right at the foot of the mountain range with Machu Picchu) the downside of this hostel is it was right at the back of the town this isn't a problem unless you have just finished the salkantay trail with 12kg bags like I did although I would stay there again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
7.7

When we got there, the staff was very upfront and sincere about the wifi being out, which was a bummer since we were paying for a hostel with wifi, but alright. I then had the least restful night of sleep in any hostel I've ever stayed in. There were windows in our room that led to the common areas of the hostel that would not shut and there was an animal scurrying on the roof all night. I'm normally a deep sleeper but no one in my bunk room had a restful night, all we wanted before MP.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.1

Amazingly friendly staff!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jun 2016
7.7

Good for a 1 night Machu Picchu stop although breakfast was basic and bathroom facilities were basic/ not that clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • carlaenrica
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice place, people are really cool, there's a good vibe here. The only issue for me is that there's just 1 light in the bathroom so you have to shower in the dark hahaha. Oh and they wax the floor so don't go walking in your socks cause they'll turn red!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
8.3

Hot water showers with good pressure. Helpful staff, though only one good English speaker, so ask your complex questions when he is on shift. The lockers cannot be locked with full size bolt locks, you can only lock them with narrow luggage locks. Not a huge deal, but inconvenient if you carry a standard lock. Three toilets in the place, one cannot latch the door, the other you can see down into from the top of the stairs. Bit of a problem, but easily fixed. A good value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
8.3

The place was overall nice. When we first arrived, the person at the check in desk was super helpful. He explained the whole process of getting to Machu Picchu, which was extremely helpful. His advice was great. However, after that we never saw him again. The other person who was there, although helpful, spoke not much English. The bathrooms weren't bad for the price, overall good. Only complaint was that upon arrival, there was an up-charge for using card that was not on the site.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.9

The water in the showers can be a bit unreliable and the first room they put us in smelled but they moved us with no problem. It's a great place for a great price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2016
6.3

Supertramp seems specifically geared for people spending a night to get to Machu Picchu early. There's really not much to it; fair beds, broken lockers, only one shared shower and restroom and a nice-enough terrace bar to spend the evening. It's a couple blocks away from the main din, which I appreciated, and the attached restaurant has from reasonable burgers. They do breakie super early and can even pack you a lunch so you’re set to be on the first bus.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
8.9

would recommand anytime. staff is especially awesome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.