X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Supertramp Hostel Reviews

Calle Chaskatika, Barrio Las Orquideas, Plaza de la Cultura, Machu Picchu, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
898 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Honest price for the location and the friendly staff, but the cleanliness is under average.


71%

Super tramp has all the amenities you need for your stay at Machu Picchu pueblo. The staff is friendly and helpful. Went to bed early and woke up extremely early for the hike up with no disruptions at night. The beds are comfortable and the price is good.


97%

A little outside of the main tourism area but that only means an extra 5 minute walk. Good location around lots of local shops and restaurants. And the soccer stadium which is cool! Order their sack lunch for your day at MP! Good value, nice staff, great vibe and nice breakfast. Would recommend.


34%

There were no towels for rent. The receptionist said they were being washed and they would be ready about an hour after our check-in. However, the receptionist disappeared after this time and then my group went to sleep without showering because there were no towel for us to dry off. Beside, the room smelled because it hadn't a very good ventilation.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

WONDERFUL STAFF! Had a great time watching World Cup matches with some great folks before heading up to Machu Picchu. Bring ear plugs if you want some good/relatively undisturbed rest (they're an essential anyway if you're staying in large dorms). Very close to the river and great restaurants, but we rarely left because the food and company at the bar was so great.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

To many workers partying into the night!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

A normal hostel. They have early breackfast for people that ia going to machu picchu


69%

Really artistic and unique hostel! Art work everywhere, you can almost spend a few hours looking at the walls. Really cool but small bar area.


63%

In a town where travellers often wake up early to start their climb to Machu Picchu, and with an advertised breakfast time of 4:30am, this really should be maintained. Our breakfast of bread and nutella was half an hour late and required us to wake the receptionist sleeping in the lobby.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The atmosphere was absolutely fantastic, so was the stuff. Super helpful and marvelously nice abd entertaining. Had a wonderful time and didn't want to leave!!! Oh, also very very clean. Just excellent in all dimensions


83%

Supertramp was awesome. The crowd was great and it had an great vibe to it. Staff was very friendly, even when cooking us breakfast at 5 in the morning. It was a little hard to find but Aguas Calientes is pretty small. Definitely the best value around.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great atmosphere, friendly staff, really cheap.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Incredible staff, very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast :)


66%

good location and well priced for aguas calientes. little noisy.


100%

The staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable...it was an amazing deal and I would reccomed this hostel to anyone! Thanks again!

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

One of the most vibrant hostels I've stayed at and definitely one of my favorite. If you are staying the night in aguas caliente definitely stay here!


94%

The hostel is well located (only about 10 minutes of walk from the bus station or train station), the staff is very nice and helpful. When we stayed there, it was calm and the breakfast is included and served from 4:30 in the morning! We were very satisfied with the price and quality.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I had an excellent time with the SuperTramp crew! They were helpful, super-friendly, and genuinely cared how good of a time you had. Great terrace bar with games and drink deals for relaxing after Machu Picchu. Very close to the local market and the train station! They also offer guided trek of Putucusi with a great packed lunch for 30 soles--which for those who have the energy and ability I definitely recommend.


100%

This is one of the places that I've stayed, it is inexpensive and provides a great vibe and clean facilities. The decoration of the house is very cool and the bar-terrace has an awesome view of Aguas calientes mountains

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff were great, the rooftop bar is good, and the bathrooms were mostly always clean. The breakfast is timed out for those leaving to Manchu Picchu in the wee hours in the morning, which is major plus. It's a bit pricey, but what isn't in Aguas Calientes, so it's ok in comparison.


(67 results)


View all Machu Picchu Hostels

Please give us your feedback