Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Suraj Guest House

  • CK1037 Lalita Ghat, Chowk Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, Varanasi, India

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Aug 2017
4.9

Only one of the doors in our room had a lock. The water was on and off, and i git two differe t explanations for this. The bathroom was filthy; the toilet had clearly not been cleaned since the last guests had left, and the trash can was overflowing. I could never find any staff to ask questions. One of the qindow screens had a large hole in it, and the other window could not be opened bc bats would fly in. The location was good, and it was cheap, but there are better options.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
6.9

Breakfast is just toast and coffee. It's very cheap, good location, the staff unresponsive, yet friendly and helpful if they can be, which is not very often. The experience leaves one wanting...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.3

Senior Suraj is helpful and kindness, but i suggest do not join the junior Suraj's walking tour, it is not worth

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2017
9.1

Great value for money and peaceful tranquillity in the heart of a chaotic city. The Suraj provided me with a much needed safe haven in Varanasi. The location is exceptional, being just a minute walk to the ghats and the Ganges river and being located close to great restaurants and cafes, in the maze of alleyways. Best part of the place, is the homely feel. It is a quiet, simple and family run house. The family were so welcoming! If you come to Varanasi you should definitely stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
8.0

Very difficult to find, but is very close to the ghaat good location. They offer tours, the walking was really good but the boat tour was the same as if we booked with anyone at the river side (but half the price). Staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mattmessiha3156
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

Great location minutes away from the ghats with comfortable rooms hosted by a welcoming family.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

The location of this hostel couldn't get any better. We stayed here for three nights. It has an amazing roof top terrace. Staff are very friendly and can assist with any queries.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th Apr 2017
10.0

I stayed in suraj, all family was kind and helpful! It's hard to get there first time, but don't worry, people can guide you. Be careful with scams, there are everywhere in varanasi streets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
9.4

Helpful staff, amazing location (though hard to find), and a great deal for the cost. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.1

Great location and very nice family!. After a very long journey from Rishikesh we were welcomed into Suraj Guesthouse by Prabhat the owner. His son Suraj showed us all the facilities and helped us organise tuk tuk drivers to where we wanted to go. He also arranged the boat tours and a guided tour which he led himself.Varanasi has a lot of touts and can be a bit overwhelming when you first arrive. Suraj helped with all of this and took the hassle out of our stay!We will be back again-Pete&Rory

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×