Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
9.1

First thing is the location is incredible, maybe not if you want to be near LA or Hollywood but as I was just wanting good vibes and beach, incredible. Had an amazing view of the beach and pier from my room. Great vibe at the hostel and the city of Hermosa. The first day I hired a bike and cruised the 25mile ride up to Santa Monica and back. Very glad I didn't stay in Venice. Just be aware that the hostel is on top of a strip of bars. Awesome, awesome bars. Highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
9.4

Loved it! The location is just perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Everything was really great, better than expected to be honest. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and would stay here again myself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Chris and the night receptionist were excellent...and Odille was amazingly helpful and friendly. I would easily and readily stay and this hostel again. Thank you, Mark Lentine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying here! The staff made me feel super welcome, as well as the other guests. Everyone was very approachable so it was easy to meet new people. The location was awesome, right on the beach and near bars, shops, and restaurants. This was my first time stat staying at a hostel, so I was a little nervous. Even though I was traveling alone, I knew I could make friends nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • viking87
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
8.9

Great staff and awesome location. If you want to be in hemorsa this your spot. It is only a 20 minute ride from LAX. Can be a little noisy on the weekends but still worth it. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
7.7

Super friendly staff. AMAZING location. It was not dirty, but not super clean either. A great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.7

Trulia.com safe neighborhood Good reviews Great bar street Right on pier

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
8.0

Great hostel, right by the pier. Fun party atmosphere especially when it's Fiesta Hermosa! IT can get quite noisy so if you don't like parties or loud music then it's not really for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
8.0

This place is very friendly! However, I did not realize it was on top of a very noisy bar/restaurant. My bunk bed vibrated til 2am each night from the music and people in the bar. If you can sleep through anything, this place is perfect for you! I did love that we were a few steps from the ocean and that the staff were so friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.