X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surf City Hostel Reviews

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
911 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

A clear 100% if not for the club underneath. Shakes the whole place up but only until midnight. Amazing free breakfast and I got all the help for my special needs at the time. No reason for me to stay anywhere else.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

We had the best time at Surf City Hostel. Super cheap bike/surf hire. Next to all the local bars. I would recommend going to The Spot a vegetarian restaurant - amazing food!!! Yes it's loud until 2 am but don't be boring go and get drunk then you won't even notice!


80%

Good free bagel and bread breakfast. Directly at the beach. Good busconnection from the airport


83%

Perfekt located!!!


94%

This hostel is ideal. It's literally on the beach, the staff are helpful and interested in your happiness, and it's clean.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Its kinda far from a lot of things... But overall was good. Had the chance to leave from the hostel and in 1 min i was able to see the sun fall from the beach!


80%

Nice located! Wide beds


77%

Located right by the beach, perfect for surfing. No communal area, there is a tv room but too small to socialise, hence no atmosphere, you are either in your room or on the beach. Not recommended for solo travellers. If you thinking of traveling to downtown or Hollywood from there it takes about 2-3 hours to get there. Clean rooms, free breakfast, friendly staff


80%

Nice little hostel right on the beach. Price is a bit high for the facilities, but I guess the beach pays for itself. Kind of old building. Loud during night and early morning. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Staff were rad!


100%

Excellent staff, very clean facilities. Met some great people during my stay. The location cant get any better. I could see the beach and the ocean from my bunk bed. Will return!

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first hostel experience and it couldn't have been better. The staff was super friendly and I couldn't have hoped for a better view of the beach.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel right on Hermosa beach. Only a 30 minute bus ride from LAX airport. Rented a bike and cycled 20km along a safe bike trail along the coast to Venice beach and Santa Monica. Very far from downtown Hollywood and other tourist attractions. Staff were helpful and friendly. Easy to meet other travellers.


91%

Thank you beautiful people of Surf City Hostel - for a very pleasent stay! What makes a good stay at a hostel is mainly the people you get to know and a clean surrounding - this is what we had. It can get a little loud in this area though - so just be prepared for a little party here´n there :) Danke Francis für die hundert Fragen die du steht´s bereit warst zu beantworten! :) We apreciated this a lot!!! ♥⚓♥

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • GacelaG
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Es war mir eine Freude, Tabitha! :) Ich wünsche euch beiden nur das Beste!

94%

Location....location!!! Right in the middle of all the action in Hermosa Beach. Can't go wrong for the location or price. Nice staff too, very accomodating and welcoming!!!


80%

Great location, right by the beach. Lots of bars and restaurants close by but it wasn't too loud at night.


100%

I WOULD VISIT HERMOSA BEACH JUST TO STAY AT THIS HOSTEL AGAIN!!!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This was by far the best experience at a hostel I've had. Truly outstanding. It is the staff that really made the trip. Nick, in particular, was absolutely dedicated to keeping everything together while also promoting a good time with all. Through his efforts, this was much more communal and social than I've seen lately. Of course the beautiful landscape and weather helped. 10/10. Fantastic.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice staff. Only stayed for a night though so not much more to add


83%

Hostel is in a cool neighbourhood, pretty safe area, right on the beach, easy access to public transport! Staffs are friendly and helpful too!


91%

The staff was really helpful in all aspects of our visit, and it's location was perfect for our needs! Would recommend this place for anyone looking for a relatively inexpensive vacation.

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback