Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
86% 1269
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
9.7

I'm in that area of Los Angeles once a year and I stay there every time. The staff are friendly and, surprisingly, they remember me each time I check in. That's pretty cool :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
10.0

I loved this hostel & its location! I stayed in a clean & tidy women's 6-person dorm in a corner room with a view of the sunset & beach. The BEST room! The only cons were the street noise that faded around midnight & the flight of stairs one must climb to enter the hostel (not normally an issue unless you are traveling with a touring bike, 4 panniers and 50 lbs of weight). My bike was welcomed & stored in the hall next to my room (locked to itself). I felt safe. Everyone was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Oct 2016
7.7

Really good location right at the beach. Nice staff and good atmosphere! Unfortunately the wifi was bad and the beds not so comfortable. The showers and toilets are used by quite a lot of people so not always really clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Oct 2016
8.9

Amazing location right on the beach. Place is a little run down but adds to its overall charm. Literally 30 seconds from the ocean. Awesome way to start the day. Oh and it has free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel was good. THe only really bad thing for me was my matress (I could feel the springs on my back) and there was a chimney of a restaurant that pointed straight to our room window so it smelled like grilled beef the whole day. Otherwise ww were hot dead.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
7.4

Proper backpackers vibe. Excellent location. Highly recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • shanephilpott749088
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
8.9

the location can't be beat. you can hire surfboards and bicycles. Bike ride from hostel to Santa Monica pier was my highlight..see the sunset from Hermosa pier amazing..the staff were very nice and extremely helpful.met a couple of really nice people there hate the plastic sheet on mattress in hostels makes bead uncomfortable and hot..breakfast was great would stay again for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
4.9

Lack of AC and poor Wi-Fi. Dodgy/loose electrical wiring and only one socket per room for four people. I would expect better for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.4

bit difficult for me to review as I spent literally 8 or 9 hours there but the staff were really friendly and helpful and make the effort to show you around even when you arrive at midnight. rooms are a bit cramped but seemed pretty clean and there seemed to be a pretty good vibe overall. hostel is right by the beach and wish I could've stayed longer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.1

Space under bunks need cleaned. When 6 women share a restroom, it would be a good idea to have extra roll of tissue in restroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.