Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
86% 1247
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
4.9

Lack of AC and poor Wi-Fi. Dodgy/loose electrical wiring and only one socket per room for four people. I would expect better for the price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Sep 2016
7.4

bit difficult for me to review as I spent literally 8 or 9 hours there but the staff were really friendly and helpful and make the effort to show you around even when you arrive at midnight. rooms are a bit cramped but seemed pretty clean and there seemed to be a pretty good vibe overall. hostel is right by the beach and wish I could've stayed longer

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.1

Space under bunks need cleaned. When 6 women share a restroom, it would be a good idea to have extra roll of tissue in restroom.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.4

Staff is great and super friendly!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.4

Good place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.1

Awesome hostel, location is great, the staff is really helpfull, we would like to stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
6.3

Great place to stay if you're on a budget and just want to enjoy the beach. Really basic, and my room and bathroom weren't very clean, but does the trick for a couple days. No huge complaints, was happy to be there and knew what I was getting myself into.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

The staff were by far the best part of the whole experience! Very friendly and talkative and always willing to help! Big shout out to them all!! The location was amazing and the facilities met hostel standards. Overall a very happy stay! :) Apart from coming back to find someone else was in my bed on the second night- being moved to a different room that wasn't with my friend I am travelling with because of a booking error. I was able to move back in the end however so no biggy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
7.4

Everything was quite great though as a person from Europe and who always stays in hostels, this was the most expensive hostel I've ever stayed. I never payed more than 15$ for a dorm room for way bigger and better hostels in Europe. I understand that it's a business that is not as established and common as in Europe in the United States but still I feel hostels can attract more people in the states if they keep their prices a little lower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nicholasmartinezre9687
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

This place is perfect. I was traveling with 4 of my buddies and the location is amazing. The hostel is super close to the beach and amazing bars. The beds were decent and the staff were great. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone traveling and hopping around California.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.