Hostelworld.com

Surf City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,093 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
83% 1093
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
8.3

SSH is in an unbeatable location! The facilities are slowly being upgraded, but there are currently few bathrooms, and they could use a facelift. They just finished installing one very nice bathroom with several stalls for toilets and showers when I'd gotten there. The price is unbeatable, the staff was awesome, and the other guests were super cool too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.0

Overall pretty good value for money. Pluses: good location, nice staff always willing to help, friendly atmosphere, free wi-fi, breakfast, kitchen to cook. Minuses: no parking, lack of privacy (understandably though, it's a hostel!), may be noisy at night because of the nearby pubs and restaurants. On the whole, better than I expected. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Fantastic host who goes the extra mile to make you happy. Really good location away from scummy Hollywood. Right near the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
8.0

I enjoyed the location and people the most. I must say the staff were friendly and accomodating. Thank you! I'll be back to stay next time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel located right on the beach. The staff was very nice and there were so many cool travelers from all over. Very nice and I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
8.9

The reason I gave security a middle face is because I don't believe propping the outer doors open is safe. I believe the gathering areas could be reconfigured for more comfort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
9.7

Would absolutely recommend this place.. The staff alone makes it worth it to stay here. It was one of the most welcoming hostels I've been to, and the location is amazing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • caitishay
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

Was a great place to stay - hard to find initially, but was a block away from the beach. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. There was free parking about a half mile away, short cab ride from downtown. Overall, great value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
9.7

Best location ever!!! Especially for that price. Rooms were very clean and it was nice to leave the window open and hear the ocean. Everyone I met was super friendly, including the staff. Don't forget to bring your passport! Enjoy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
8.9

The manager is a very sweet french woman who treats all of her guests like family. She made the place very nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.