Hostelworld.com

Surf City Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,134 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
86% 1134
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
6.0

This is the first hostel I've ever stayed at. It was good for the cheap price. You get a bed, shower facilities, which is pretty much all you need. The shower wasn't great. It was dirty, however, that's just from previous people's use. The lock on the dorm rooms were secure. I only spent 1 night, so did not get involved socially much. Hermosa beach is 45 min from Santa Monica pier, so it's not very central for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

I loved my stay! Perfect position, and everybody is so kind and helpful :) Can't wait to return in a few weeks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
10.0

This place is awesome! The location couldn't be better - located right on Hermosa Beach pier with many restaurants, banks and bars. I felt very safe in the area and at the hostel! The restrooms are very clean and feel like you are staying in someone's home (in a good way. Would recommend this to anyone coming to LA and wants to stay closer to the airport, near the beach or see a little more than the super touristy Hollywood area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Friendly staff and awesome atmosphere Clean Great value for money Good location, right on the beach above a strip of bars

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
10.0

One of the best locations you'll find for a hostel in LA. Steps to the beach, great food and bars literally right beside the hostel. Staff is awesome, the hostel is run very well. I'd definitely come back next time I'm in LA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.7

really fun atmosphere. the staff were incredibly helpful and fun. can't beat the location and the night life! would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.6

Yes, it's loud outside but you know it's going to be that way because it's located near shops, bars and restaurants. But the walk to the pier is short and the facilities are great. I encountered a problem with a guest in the room I was assigned, I think she didn't want to share a room with a certain ethnicity (mine). She was rude and somewhat hostile towards me and the staff. The staff handled it well and assured me that everything was going to be alright. She left, I stayed. All good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2016
7.7

Descent hostel, nice location. Far away from club scene. Free parking three blocks away

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jun 2016
4.6

The location was lovely with the beach and restaurants, but the instructions to get to the hostel on the website are not easy to follow after 4hours of trying to get to the hostel I had to get an uber. The wifi didn't work in most rooms, and the showers were at time dirty or cold. The blankets were never changed from guest to guest. no organised day trips or activitys. The kitchen was really small and not clean, only 1 computer. Over all this hostel needs work!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jun 2016
6.9

+ Location is good, right next to the beach. + Price is also okay compared to other hostles in LA. - Bathroom was very old and not that clean - My room was very loud during the night due to the night club below the room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.