Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
86% 1203
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
8.0

Pros: although things appeared well used, they are clean. Staff was quite nice. Roommates quiet, clean and respectful. Really good value, right on the beach. Cons: over a bar. Bring earplugs. They overbooked my first night so i ended up on a couch, but they knocked down the price. Second night i was in a room. They said overbooking was unusual and i believe them. Takeaway: i would use hostelworld again in another LA location, not above a bar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
9.4

As always, excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Swell experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
10.0

Had a fantastic experience:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.3

Amazing place. You get yo meet lots of new ppl aNd I looove thr staff so kind hearted and welcoming. Only disadvantage was Its nit the cleanest place aNd we found both live and dead cockroaches in the room 😐

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
7.4

It's a very basic hostel with a very basic and squeaky bunk bed, Security is not great, because there is one locker where you can fit a laptop sized backpack (not those for backpackers!) Electricity plugs are scarce and far, but they exist :) Price: definitely not cheap, if you think that a motel costs just a tad more with way higher comfort. The plus is the awesome breakfast, the location -- literally next to the beach and to a handful of restaurants, bars and pubs --, and the hostel-life!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Awesome place, right on the beach, nice pubs under the hostel, love the place and the vibe will stay hear again for sure ! Nice reception, good facilitiys, have all you need. The parking is couple street up but its look like a safe nighberhood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
5.4

Incredible location offset by a poor management of the hostel. There is a lack of security (3 lockers for 4 beds for example, entrance door open until late with no one filtering the access during the day...). Worst breakfast ever. Just do not provide this kind of breakfast, what is the point? The hostel would need to be freshened up. At least painting and carpets. Probably 10 years without works done. Noisy people when I was there and no one from the staff to ask them to be quiet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sylviet1372375
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Surf City Hostel has a vibe of cool people and this was one of the best hostel stays I've had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.