Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.1
Surf City Hostel Located at 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles.
Surf City Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach
85% 1296
33.8618566 -118.4010261
Surf City Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

great location, right at the beach, with lots of bars and restaurants around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.1

Pretty doozy joint ah, right on the beach and plenty of little bars and stuff around. Venice and manhatten beach aren't too far either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.9

The clientele is great. Mostly 20 somethings who were surprisingly welcoming. International. Run by a French lady who keeps an eye on things. 4 to a room. No problems there. Band plays right downstairs and can be heard outside the window. Had no problems but good to take a suitcase lock. Sound canceling headphones or earplugs. Winter? Pjs long underwear/jacket/sock/ personal throw the rooms can get chilly. Bedding and towels provided. The location is very convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
8.0

The hostel is in a great location- right on the beach with plenty of bars nearby. Very relaxed atmosphere in Hermosa as it is very affluent- a no-smoking law is enforced in the entire area so great to get away from smokey terraces. I met a lovely girl at a bar down the strip and tried to bring her back to the hostel room but got massively c*ck blocked by one of the staff members who essentially kicked the girl out. I'll let you judge for yourself whether this is a good or bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
9.7

This place has got erything I'd look for in a hostel- safety, great friendship, staff, facilities, beautiful location. The staff is willing to take the extra mile for the hostel residents. I would not think twice before staying here again. I can assure a safe, secure and happy stay to anyone reading this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
9.4

What an amazing destination! Hard to get closer to the beach! Great location for bars, food and shopping. Post office and grocery near by. The staff is wonderful and welcoming! Lots of activities, beach toys, bike rides, group dinners and nights out just to name a few. The whole place was very clean and linens were provided. The main doors in are left open most of the time. Didn't seem to be a problem but I would recommend having a pad lock, they provide you with a locker for storage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
7.1

Great location, decent staff. Could be cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

Location, location, location! My first time in a Hostel, it was a wonderful experience. People were friendly and interesting. I could not have made up a more convenient location: restaurants, surfing, volleyball, the pier, the beach and shopping. Lots of things to do and see, all within walking distance. Very relaxing. PERFECT. I felt safe with my roommates, in the building and all around. Building is worn, but clean. I was only there a few days, but felt like I had a week's vacation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Dec 2016
9.7

Wonderful weekend get away. Will definitely be back soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
5.4

Incredibly loud, impossible to sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.