Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
7.7

Good for a crash pad, not much else. It was hard to find, and parking was harder. I had to ask someone where it was and as a solo traveler, that's not my favorite thing to do at night. (It's between two restaurants, The Waterman is on the right). Parking was either really close and expensive or really far and free. The dorm rooms were small and un- air conditioned and the mattress was very uncomfortable. But the people who ran it were sweet and the location was ideal. You get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
8.9

It's a nice place. Location is convenient,closed to the beach. People are very friendly. Rooms are clean and breakfasts are good. I would stay at there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
5.1

Biggest pain point: Only 3 lockers in 6 bed dorm! Lockers are cheap and certainly important (passport, credit cards, ...). Should be a no-brainer to provide as many as beds are in dorms. Furthermore: WiFi only in kitchen area. Not as many power outlets as in other hostels. No lamps at beds. Bathrooms/Kitchen only semi-clean. I still slept well and had a pleasant time in LA. There are certainly better hostels though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dommark11
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.0

Great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
6.9

Room wasn't as cleaned/nice as I would have thought it would be. Bin not empty and top bunk had no sheets on it which revealed an ugly brown stain. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.7

Fantastic overall! The only things I would change would be to add enough lockers so each bed has one available (in my room, there were six beds but only three lockers). Also, from a security perspective, suggest making the door to the hostel is not left propped open. Other than that, had an exceptional stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
7.4

I stayed a Friday night. The location with so many food & drink places, near to the water, was fantastic. However, rather than hearing the ocean at night, I heard the crash of workers dumping empty bottles into recycling bins until 2-3AM. *Crash* I had an early morning surf competition and didn't sleep so well. If I were into staying up and partying, this place can't be beat. For a nights sleep, I think I'd be better at Motel 6 or something.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

I loved this place. It's clean and it just has everything you never knew you needed. Hammocks, surfboard rentals, orange juice and bagels for breakfast and lots more. Whatever you are looking for- you gonna find it here for sure :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.0

Awesome spot just out of the city. Loud bars down stairs on the weekend, right on the beach loved the area. Close to airport

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
10.0

i loved the friendly staff! The breakfast was delicious! I loved the hot coffee in the morning! My bed was comfy! I didn't like the band playing music until 2am on a Tuesday night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.