Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
4.9

This hostel, whilst being in a top location is quite dated. Wifi barely works in the rooms. The place just feels dirty. On top of this the management is questionable at best. I paid for a "private" room yet on return one night I found 2 people sleeping in my room with my stuff thrown into a pile on the floor. I complained and was practically brushed. Unacceptable behaviour. I wouldn't stay here again

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
4.0

This is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. The hostel sits conveniently above a bar, which likes to play thumping club music until 1am. So if you're looking for a place to sleep, you might want to look elsewhere. Oh, and when I say thumping, I mean it. Not only can you clearly hear the music (not quiet), but the bass is turned up so much that you FEEL it. I was told that this only happens on Fridays and Saturdays, so on weekdays you might be safe. Still, an unacceptable surprise.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.6

I really enjoyed staying at the surf city hostel . There were always somebody to talk to and when there was another woman accidentally sleeping in my bed at 1 am in the morning . The quickly figured out a new solution . I would definitely come back !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.9

I stayed there couple of days n a week after I came back for more few days. I needed 3 days however my flight back home was during the night so I woudn't sleep there in my last day. They aloud me to pay half price wich was very nice. Good stuff: - good free breakfast; - plenty bars n good fun around; - close to the beach; - bathrooms are fine; - good shower; - fine internet. - friendly staff Not so good things: - weak wifi signal inside the bedrooms;

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
7.1

This was my second stay at the Surf City, I enjoyed my first stay and there were no complaints on the second either, the cleanliness was lacking this time, the toilet and bath could have been cleaner, the place needs a new coat of paint and a little "loving". every thing else was just fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

great location, right at the beach, with lots of bars and restaurants around the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
9.1

Pretty doozy joint ah, right on the beach and plenty of little bars and stuff around. Venice and manhatten beach aren't too far either

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Russell_Coight
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.6

Hostel was very good. Not a real lot of atmosphere there in the winter being mainly a summer beach place but that is to be expected I suppose. Facilities seemed clean, staff were helpful and free breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.9

The clientele is great. Mostly 20 somethings who were surprisingly welcoming. International. Run by a French lady who keeps an eye on things. 4 to a room. No problems there. Band plays right downstairs and can be heard outside the window. Had no problems but good to take a suitcase lock. Sound canceling headphones or earplugs. Winter? Pjs long underwear/jacket/sock/ personal throw the rooms can get chilly. Bedding and towels provided. The location is very convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
8.0

The hostel is in a great location- right on the beach with plenty of bars nearby. Very relaxed atmosphere in Hermosa as it is very affluent- a no-smoking law is enforced in the entire area so great to get away from smokey terraces. I met a lovely girl at a bar down the strip and tried to bring her back to the hostel room but got massively c*ck blocked by one of the staff members who essentially kicked the girl out. I'll let you judge for yourself whether this is a good or bad thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.