Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1349 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Really nice and friendly hostel right by the beach (50 meters). The only inconvenience is to get there and to go to other places in LA. You always have to take a long public transport journey if you don't have a car.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
6.6

Staff was friendly. Nice breakfast available. $15 bike rental which is a good deal. Bring ear plugs because the area is noisy, right next to a bunch of bars. The bedrooms need to be cleaned better. Don't forget to vacuum under the beds, there were a bunch of old papers and trash under mine. The windowsills were super dusty and the bathrooms were not that clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place to stay for one night, great location and friendly staff. 20 minute drive from the airport - lots of cafes and shops around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
4.3

The people who run this place are nice, but after traveling and using hostels in Europe, Asia, and North America, this is probably the dirtiest, loudest hostel I have been to. I arrived at 11:30pm, the hostel entrance was difficult to find - a very drunk gentleman who was staying at the hostel let me in. The parking area was a mile away from the hostel, which didn't help since we had to walk through the pouring rain to get back. Thank god we were there for the night, left at 7am the next day.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
3.7

Extremely load and unruly. Outside doors were kept unlocked. Location next to a music bar---load. Will never stay at this Hostel again. I would suggest no alcohol allowed and quite policy after 10:00pm.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is amazing, it is an incredible price for such a great location right on the beach. The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in LA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2017
4.9

Dirty, rude employees, weird setup and security, no common areas. Didn't have a good hostel vibe. Been all over, and to dozens of hostels and this is in the top 3 worst I've been in, outside of the awesome location on the pier.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
9.1

Great location, great athmosphere! So many different people to hang out with, and with the beach so close, there is always something to do.. It's the basic hostel where to hang out with other travelers, and get to know new people. Slept through every night with ease.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
6.9

Surf City is your basic hostel. The breakfast was fantastic--such a plus. The location in Hermosa Beach was great, but a little inconvenient for all of LA. Getting around was really hard and expensive. An Uber to downtown LA was around $40 one way, and just to Venice beach it was $20. Though Hermosa Beach was fun to explore, if you want to see more of LA I would suggest staying somewhere else. The hostel itself was fairly clean but pretty noisy. Definitely a party hostel but easy to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
4.0

I suggest you visit a quality hostel or two and go to school on how they do things. I would never recommend yours as it is now.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.