Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf City Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th May 2017
8.3

The hostel had a great position, I could see the ocean from my window. The stuff was very kind and helpful! The room was not super clean but overall I had a great experience. Highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
9.1

Very nice staff, best location. the 3 South LA beach towns are great and you don't need to have a car. Bus or Uber is fine. Pier Av. is a hotbed of activity, lots of restaurants, cafes, shops, etc. Staff is super-nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Apr 2017
8.9

Really good hostel right beside the beach and shops. Excellent location and excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful. Bikes are really good value at $15 for 24 hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • MBONIOR
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
9.1

Awesome location right on the Pier Esplanade ! Very clean and friendly , good vibes !!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
8.9

Really nice and friendly hostel right by the beach (50 meters). The only inconvenience is to get there and to go to other places in LA. You always have to take a long public transport journey if you don't have a car.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
6.6

Staff was friendly. Nice breakfast available. $15 bike rental which is a good deal. Bring ear plugs because the area is noisy, right next to a bunch of bars. The bedrooms need to be cleaned better. Don't forget to vacuum under the beds, there were a bunch of old papers and trash under mine. The windowsills were super dusty and the bathrooms were not that clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place to stay for one night, great location and friendly staff. 20 minute drive from the airport - lots of cafes and shops around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
4.3

The people who run this place are nice, but after traveling and using hostels in Europe, Asia, and North America, this is probably the dirtiest, loudest hostel I have been to. I arrived at 11:30pm, the hostel entrance was difficult to find - a very drunk gentleman who was staying at the hostel let me in. The parking area was a mile away from the hostel, which didn't help since we had to walk through the pouring rain to get back. Thank god we were there for the night, left at 7am the next day.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
3.7

Extremely load and unruly. Outside doors were kept unlocked. Location next to a music bar---load. Will never stay at this Hostel again. I would suggest no alcohol allowed and quite policy after 10:00pm.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
9.7

This hostel is amazing, it is an incredible price for such a great location right on the beach. The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in LA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.