X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surf City Hostel Reviews

26 Pier Avenue, Hermosa Beach, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
801 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

right place for those who wants to spend days and nights at the open air (more or les...) and just need a place to stay and sleep. rooms are slmple but clean and sure 15 minutes from LAX, perfect stop for travellers..

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is amazing! The location is perfect and everybody is really friendly

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Easy to meet nice people :)


86%

The hostel is located right on the beach and next to bars and shops. This is that second time I have stayed at the hostel and I would definitely go back again. The staff are helpful and friendly.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A great hostel in a good location in the context of its surroundings. It's a long journey to get to the city by public transport though.


83%

Nice hostel unfortune the noise from the bars downstairs, couldn't sleep till 3am :(


94%

Staying for a few weeks. Been 4 days and it's SUPER AWESOME.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Stay here every year for an annual event and the staff always look after us. PERFECT location (unless you want to sleep!!)


89%

An awesome location!!! A bit of a frat atmosphere. But the location to the beach and bike path cannot be beat. I would stay here again. Jerry Frye Indiana


69%

The location of this hostel makes up for everything else. It is literally right on the beach. We had booked a 6 bed female room and ended up in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Not only that, we awoke on our second morning to find a 5th person asleep on our (very tiny) room floor as the staff had nowhere else to put them. The wifi didn't work in the room and the power outlets hardly worked. The staff were friendly and helpful however and the atmosphere in the communal areas was fun.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's right on the beach!! One of the cheapest places to stay in the South Bay. Hermosa Beach is very safe at night. Of course, it can be a bit noisy on the weekends. You'll also really need a car if you're staying here and want to see LA. If you just want to surf and enjoy the sun, then maybe you wouldn't need one. I definitely reccomend this hostel. I can easily imagine staying here again.


80%

Hostel was in a great location (right by the beach), it was a little hard to find it at first though because the entrance is kind of hidden. The general security is low - anyone can walk up the stairs. There was sand on my mattress, but it's a beach town so I guess that's expected. Other than that it's a great hostel and I'd probably stay there again.


97%

Very nice hostel. I felt at home here. Very easy to meet friendly people :)


51%

Location couldn't be better, for beach or night time party.Okay to stay, if don't own any thing of value. What ever expensive name brand clothes or accessories. 3 lockers pr room which there are six guests, luggage room open some times (people could grab what ever they want). Front door open. And no self locking door to your room, so the rooms are open usually, when other guest don't lock. Book the hole room if some one want to stay here.


86%

Great location and clean was a great stay and includes breakfast!


63%

Great position. The atmosphere is kind of weird.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place, great price, great location. No complaints!!


71%

The only hostel downside was the inaccurate parking information at the website. The hostel doesn't have any parking area available. You have to park your car at public parking areas which are far away and have day and time restrictions. This information must be updated at the website so no future guest can be disapointed.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome place to stay when in LA. great atmosphere. Right off the beach. Cheap bike rental. Definitely will be back.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel! Good atmosphere and nice location in front of Hermosa Beach. The only problem is that Hollywood is too far away if you are using public transportation...


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback