Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.3
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 424 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.5
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.3
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Located at Level 1, 102 Albert Street, , Auckland.
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Level 1, 102 Albert Street
63% 424
-36.8482727 174.7638344
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.0

Good location, warm staff, but lot of longstay backpackers and it's a mess in the rooms! Nice bathrooms!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
6th Sep 2016
4.0

Long term people never lock the doors, anyone can and do walk in. room also disgusting, I did not have any space to even step to get to my bed let alone put my bag anywhere. Peoples stuff everywhere and half the kitchens cutlery in the rooms. Did not get told about 15 mins free wifi a day when I checked in and found out the day I left. Doesn't feel like a backpackers

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
7.1

I stayed here a few days but had to move in the end cause the Internet here is expensive and it never works. Couldn't even load a Facebook page! The people who stay long term here told me that it's always been like that, and they have all given up on using it so they go elsewhere for Internet. Great location. Rules at this place are loose and a bit flexible, I really like that. Very relaxed vibe. Very good for meeting people !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
8.0

Pretty chilled place, great location, everything you need is walking distance. I was really welcomed by people at the reception and by other guests in general. The rooms are quite simple but comfortable enough for a couple of nights rest. Toilets and showers are ok, they seemed relatively new. The reception and the kitchen are open 24h, which was pretty useful during my stay. Quiet lively atmosphere without being too rowdy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2016
4.9

The rooms were dirty and the staff didn't seem to know what rooms were available or not. I booked an all female room and got put in a 4 room with 3 makes because the female room had a rodent problem.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
8.6

It's the cheapest hostel in the middle of Auckland CBD. Transport, super market, restaurants and take away shops are just in the door step. All basic facilities are satisfactory comparing price. Kitchen and reception are 24/7. A big group of very friendly long-term guests stay here which can give a homely feeling being away from home. Staffs are really cooperative and helpful to sort out any problem and very professional to sort out budget travel plans in NZ. It was indeed very good experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Jun 2016
4.0

WORST HOSTEL IVE EVER STAYED IN. The hostel was really dirty. Me and my friend paid extra for a private en suite room. The room had no windows and ventilation so was stale and smelt. The hostel had provided a fan. There were patches of mould in the bathroom and the bed sheets were marked and stained heavily. To sum up we felt like we were staying in a boiler room mixed with a crack den. DO NOT STAY HERE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.7

At first, I did not expect much, as it is the cheapest hostel in the town and one of my friend did not recommend me to stay here. However, the rooms are relatively clean and tidy. Friendly staff and perfect location, just central of Auckland close to transport(bus, train) station and supermarkets. Kitchen was big enough and it has all required utensils. Overall, I enjoyed stay here even though it was only one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jun 2016
5.7

This hostel is pretty basic from the rooms to the facilities (kitchen, tour desk, bathrooms, chill out area, reception). A lot of Japanese tourists stay here and they are very friendly. Abit expensive for what you actually get. But you can get discounted prices for long term stay so make sure to check out the rates before you pay for each night. Great location but uncomfortable mattresses and some showers have poor water pressure and lack of hot water which is terrible in winter.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
6.3

I didn't like this hostel. The mattress was too thin ( and I usually don't complain about that) and I had no place at all to put my backpack. Even though it is very cheap, I wouldn't go back there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.