Hostelworld.com

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.7
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 4.3
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.2
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.7
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 4.3
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.2
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Located at Level 1, 102 Albert Street, , Auckland.
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Level 1, 102 Albert Street
53% 408
-36.8482727 174.7638344
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.9

Thank you Surf N Snow for this amazing time in your fantastic hostel. I really enjoyed my time in your lovely place with this perfect location close to the City Centre and the Sky Tower. All staff members are really great, helpful and at any time prepared for questions and tips. The Japanese manager is nice as well and comes with experience about New Zealand. All facilities are clean and tidy. I would really recommend this beautiful and international hostel to everyone! :-))

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
7.4

Surf n Snow Backpackers is ideally located right in the middle of Auckland CBD. Everything you need from shops, restaurants, activities, bus stops to the airport etc are all just a few minutes walk away. The staff are very welcoming and will go the extra mile to help you when/if they can. The rooms are relatively basic but cleaned daily, so as long as you don't expect a hotel then they're comfy enough to stay in for a few nights. The kitchen is an OK size, however it can get crowded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
3.1

Staff was not really professional and the facility wasn't that clean !!! Disappointed ... They should ask a quorter of the money that they ask for those kind of rooms. The beds are so uncomfortable if you sleep on the floor it's much better for your back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
4.0

I walked into a dark stuffy windowless room with no aircon and only a loud, hardly working fan to cool the room. Bedding was dirty with black spots on the sheets, alumpy pillow and an incredibly thin mattress. Came down in the morning to check out and there were people asleep on the sofas in the common area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
3.7

Shortly: Dingy, dodgy place with a good location and charges for whatever you might think of. Seems like all the beggars, sellers and drunkards from the Queen St. stay here: couldn't sleep properly either night I was staying there, because it was super loud, disturbing and the sheets, OMG, the sheets -you wouldn't wanna sleep on it, believe me. Pay for wi-fi, for public PC ("USBs are not working, music, youtube, Skype is not allowed, ...").Common room is in bad condition with barebone couches

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2016
5.7

The room was dirty¡¡¡ the kitchen was dirty and the pans and pots were old and unusable. Sofas and curtains were rotten. Internet was an extra price and it is unbelievable because in Auckland you can use 1GB for free everyday¡¡

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Feb 2016
5.7

The Location of this hostel is good, but that is pretty much all of the good that I can say about this hostel. Staff was trying to be helpful, but ended up giving me wrong information to get rid of me, which of course didn't help me at all. It wasn't that clean and the beds, linnens etc. have seen better days. Beds are extremely uncomfortable. Kitchen is in the basement and has no athmosphere whatsoever. For all that it is quite expensive to stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
6.3

I strongly recommend investing in new mattresses. I was shocked at the state they were in, as a result I was given bath towels to even out, this did not and will not help stayers to feel comfortable. It was very helpful of staff though,considering the limited amount they could've been done. I was upset by the drunken in the kitchen at night. In such a small space, there was no room to cook, nor relaxing whilst cooking when everyone was in your face and screaming. I didn't have dinner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2016
4.0

I really do not recommend this hostel at all. The swarms of flies in the kitchen and mouldy ceilings didn't really give a homely vibe. The rooms also reached temperatures near to that of the Sahara desert. There are lots of nice hostels in Auckland to stay in that are cheaper and 100x better than surf n snow!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2015
2.9

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOSTEL. It is the worst hostel I have stayed, on my whole 8 month trip. Security is very poor, its really dirty and the facilities are in terrible condition. If you stay you will most likely have a terrible experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.