Hostelworld.com

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.6
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.5
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.3
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 415 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.6
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 5.8
  • Atmosphere 4.5
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.3
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Located at Level 1, 102 Albert Street, , Auckland.
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Level 1, 102 Albert Street
53% 415
-36.8482727 174.7638344
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
8.6

It's the cheapest hostel in the middle of Auckland CBD. Transport, super market, restaurants and take away shops are just in the door step. All basic facilities are satisfactory comparing price. Kitchen and reception are 24/7. A big group of very friendly long-term guests stay here which can give a homely feeling being away from home. Staffs are really cooperative and helpful to sort out any problem and very professional to sort out budget travel plans in NZ. It was indeed very good experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Jun 2016
4.0

WORST HOSTEL IVE EVER STAYED IN. The hostel was really dirty. Me and my friend paid extra for a private en suite room. The room had no windows and ventilation so was stale and smelt. The hostel had provided a fan. There were patches of mould in the bathroom and the bed sheets were marked and stained heavily. To sum up we felt like we were staying in a boiler room mixed with a crack den. DO NOT STAY HERE.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2016
7.7

At first, I did not expect much, as it is the cheapest hostel in the town and one of my friend did not recommend me to stay here. However, the rooms are relatively clean and tidy. Friendly staff and perfect location, just central of Auckland close to transport(bus, train) station and supermarkets. Kitchen was big enough and it has all required utensils. Overall, I enjoyed stay here even though it was only one night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jun 2016
5.7

This hostel is pretty basic from the rooms to the facilities (kitchen, tour desk, bathrooms, chill out area, reception). A lot of Japanese tourists stay here and they are very friendly. Abit expensive for what you actually get. But you can get discounted prices for long term stay so make sure to check out the rates before you pay for each night. Great location but uncomfortable mattresses and some showers have poor water pressure and lack of hot water which is terrible in winter.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
6.3

I didn't like this hostel. The mattress was too thin ( and I usually don't complain about that) and I had no place at all to put my backpack. Even though it is very cheap, I wouldn't go back there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.9

Thank you Surf N Snow for this amazing time in your fantastic hostel. I really enjoyed my time in your lovely place with this perfect location close to the City Centre and the Sky Tower. All staff members are really great, helpful and at any time prepared for questions and tips. The Japanese manager is nice as well and comes with experience about New Zealand. All facilities are clean and tidy. I would really recommend this beautiful and international hostel to everyone! :-))

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
7.4

Surf n Snow Backpackers is ideally located right in the middle of Auckland CBD. Everything you need from shops, restaurants, activities, bus stops to the airport etc are all just a few minutes walk away. The staff are very welcoming and will go the extra mile to help you when/if they can. The rooms are relatively basic but cleaned daily, so as long as you don't expect a hotel then they're comfy enough to stay in for a few nights. The kitchen is an OK size, however it can get crowded.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
3.1

Staff was not really professional and the facility wasn't that clean !!! Disappointed ... They should ask a quorter of the money that they ask for those kind of rooms. The beds are so uncomfortable if you sleep on the floor it's much better for your back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2016
4.0

I walked into a dark stuffy windowless room with no aircon and only a loud, hardly working fan to cool the room. Bedding was dirty with black spots on the sheets, alumpy pillow and an incredibly thin mattress. Came down in the morning to check out and there were people asleep on the sofas in the common area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2016
3.7

Shortly: Dingy, dodgy place with a good location and charges for whatever you might think of. Seems like all the beggars, sellers and drunkards from the Queen St. stay here: couldn't sleep properly either night I was staying there, because it was super loud, disturbing and the sheets, OMG, the sheets -you wouldn't wanna sleep on it, believe me. Pay for wi-fi, for public PC ("USBs are not working, music, youtube, Skype is not allowed, ...").Common room is in bad condition with barebone couches

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.