Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.5
Rating 576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.5
Rating 576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 5.5
  • Atmosphere 4.7
  • Cleanliness 4.0
  • Facilities 4.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • isaacbale
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Jul 2017
4.3

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in central Auckland, and have no hang ups about staying in a dirty room with no window then this is the place for you. The location really is perfect - in the shadow of the sky tower, but don't expect much for the price you pay. Every room is filthy and appears unfinished, the bed was dirty and door didn't lock properly. The toilets/showers however, were kept clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
3.7

This backpackers is appalling. I stayed in a private room but I would never use this hostel again. I'm used to staying in hostels and appreciate that's not a hotel but there has to be some basic cleanliness. I had to sleep on top of the duvet and use my own towel as a sheet over my pillow as there were so many stains on the sheets and pillow case. The room smelt awful and a strong smell of damp greeted you as you opened the door. The bathroom had rotten timber skirting and framing. Awful hostel!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
7.1

Security and location as the best thing about Surf and Snow. However the showers were cold and I was woken both nights from people playing pool in the early hours of the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
5.1

The kitchen was poorly equipped, no knives, forks or spoons. Fridge was broken also. The halls were dirty, lots of rubbish in the bathrooms. Smells in the corridors. Excellent security. Would not stay here again. No curtains in the dorms either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
4.9

Very dirty and terrible bedding

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
5.4

Paid for what I got. Very cheap and that reflected. Incredibly outdated. Mattress that should have been thrown out 20 years ago. Very dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
2.0

Do not book this hostel. It needs to be de-listed from Hostelworld. We have both stayed in hostels worldwide and this was revolting - an absolute hole. Wish we'd read the reviews before booking - anyone who has given this hostel an average or good rating has been paid. Frankly, you should be paid to stay here. Sheets dirty. Toilets / showers disgusting. Reception desk staff were rude. Holes in the walls. No curtains. Cheap and basic is one thing. This place is quite another.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
4.3

Poor cleanliness and overcrowded rooms. The only plus is the location!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
3.1

Before booking please read the reviews. If you have paid and booked already and happen to be reading this when it is too late like we did then we are so sorry. If you are looking for a clean comfy bed with decent shower facilities and a great atmosphere then please do not book here. No cleaning routine, 1 of the beds was occupied by 3 consecutive people during the week we were there and not once was a sheet or cover changed. The mattresses are about 4inches thick. Cold dirty showers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2017
3.4

Don't stay here spend a bit more for somewhere clean and with nice beds. Staff weren't friendly and there were no curtains in the room which was more like a cupboard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.