Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 533 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.3
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
6.3

A very interesting stay. Found it very bizarre that there were people living, full time, in the room we stayed, which made for an interesting atmosphere. Beds were extremely uncomfortable, with kitchen dirty but with all essentials. First night was pleasant and location very good - in the heart of the city. However, second night involved frequent disruption from inconsiderate room mates. Wasn't so bad for us as we only stayed there for two nights, but felt sorry for the few respectful residents.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
5.1

This has to be the dirtiest hostel I have ever stayed in! This hostel needs a good lick of paint and a good clean!! The beds and mattresses are that old you can feel the springs in your back!! This hostel is full of dirty workers who don't clean up after themselves!! And the kitchen well that's just a no go all together really!! I'd spend the extra couple of dollars a night and stay at the attic backpackers or somewhere like that!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • elliott48
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
4.3

The place needs a good clean. The bad hygiene in the showers mixed with the dull atmosphere and run down interior made me excited leave. The amount you pay does not justify what you receive.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay if you wish to be Central. Staff seem genuinely to care. Showers the water could be hotter. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
6.9

Hostel was at really great location. Everybody have own locker in room and they use keycards. That's about all the pros. Cons are dirty showers, kitchen was small, hot and didn't find cutlery or cups anywhere. Ovens were also really bad, had to wait a long time pan to heat up. Other guests were loud at night, yelling on hallway etc. Mattress was thin as paper and pillow was thinner. Over all, that's what you get with less money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
6.3

What we expected - nice friendly staff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
3.7

The rooms and kitchen were dirty and disgusting, and we had to change our room for the second night as the reception had messed up someone else's booking. One of the worst hostels I've stayed in New Zealand and definitely not worth of $35 per night. WiFi was also super expensive and overall it wasn't what you expect when you pay that much.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
3.4

This place was disgusting. We ended up not staying the full time and finding another hostel. It was dirty. We booked 2 beds in a room and only 1 bed was available. The linen was disgusting. Rubbish everywhere, spelt very bad, no toilet paper in the toilets.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Was just in the city for one night and this hostel was a perfect location and great price. Facilities seemed clean enough, although toilet paper was out in all but one stall. Lock bins for each bed (bring your own lock). Might be a noisy location as it is right on a main street but I was tired and fell asleep right away. Staff was super friendly. When I checked out I asked if I could stay in the lobby to charge my phone and the answer was yes, however, there was 5 or 6 people sleeping there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
6.9

Great location. Really big hostel. Bad mattress. Fridges were pretty gross. Kitchen not the nicest. Wifi by the hour and worked well. Staff were nice and friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.