Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 5.0
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Located at Level 1, 102 Albert Street, , Auckland.
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Level 1, 102 Albert Street
60% 470
-36.8482727 174.7638344
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jan 2017
5.4

I don't make bad on the staff they were ace , location is brilliant, but the hostel itself is like a crack den !!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • robynschneidergale2900
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
6.3

This is my third hostel in Auckland, and by far the worst. In fairness it is also the cheapest! The bathrooms were really nice and clean, the kitchen okay, but the room (10 bed dorm) was awful. When we arrived early evening everyone was sleeping and the room smelt bad. When I woke up I found an old mouse poop in the bed... Luckily I was with a friend so we could laugh through the experience, but alone this hostel would have put me off Auckland for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
7.7

Nice staff, but entire building is a sauna. Kitchen in basement, very hot and muggy, poor ventilation. Rooms hot/uncomfortable to sleep in (only one small window to open and it would only open half way) and the main lounge/reception area is not a comfortable place to hang out. On the plus side, coded entry and nice bathrooms. Wouldn't go here again though unless no other places available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
5.7

It smelled a bit in there room I was sleeping. The 10 beds were not all full and there were mostly guys sleeping. And because it was New Years Eve it was hard to fall asleep while the location is not far from Queens Street which is a +.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.1

Exactly what I expected for the money I paid. Brilliant location and would definitely stay again. Think some people need to remember it's $25 per night. Don't expect the Ritz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
7.7

Good hostel, friendly workers. It's fairly basic but that's all you need travelling

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Dec 2016
6.0

i have been to many hostels but never had that many mixed feelings. the staff was friendly, the room was large, the location was good. the kitchen was trashed, the building was old and with mold, signs everywhere about being careful of your belongings being stolen (must be happening often if they put so many signs), common room dead (no music, no tv, no weekly activities, no vending machines, only a pool table and some books). the place has potential to improve and lots of room for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Dec 2016
4.3

Mattresses and pillows were so thin there may as well have not been anything. And beds were so creaky. Had to pay for wifi and wasn't even good. No lockers in rooms and one plug socket between 6 people. Majority of staff at reception had no clue what they were doing or how to do anything.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.4

Big Hostel good location, but they just have one stove working for more than 30 people... was very hard to cook in the lunch and in the dinner time, when everybody want to use at the same time!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
6.0

Yes, I'll not recommend this place... but is cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.