Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 6.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.4
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
8.9

Was just in the city for one night and this hostel was a perfect location and great price. Facilities seemed clean enough, although toilet paper was out in all but one stall. Lock bins for each bed (bring your own lock). Might be a noisy location as it is right on a main street but I was tired and fell asleep right away. Staff was super friendly. When I checked out I asked if I could stay in the lobby to charge my phone and the answer was yes, however, there was 5 or 6 people sleeping there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
6.9

Great location. Really big hostel. Bad mattress. Fridges were pretty gross. Kitchen not the nicest. Wifi by the hour and worked well. Staff were nice and friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Mar 2017
2.0

Absolutely vile. Worse place I've ever stayed in my entire life. So bad I've had to take pictures and and videos of everything. The place is a health hazard and needs shutting down! Staff were rude and unhelpful when i asked them to clean the bathrooms and the kitchen and advised it was not their responsibility. Disgusting!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
4.0

Very dated and unclean facilities

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • hilvert_maria1216
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
4.3

Horrible Experience Smelly linen. Staff not able to provide towel, although they made me come back to the counter 3 times. Only Wood no springs underneath 3cm thin matress. Lights in bathroom turned off 4min after i began to shower.not able to turn it on again from within the shower... Unfriendly roommates hearing loud music were just the Top of the iceberg. Have been to alot of hostels in my life,but never as Bad as this One. Cannot recommend at all

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
4.0

Dirty room/bed (stains and other people's hair) and super small room (4 square meters max). The room had no window and it was an isolated super hot and sticky cell! For 44€ per night, a lot more should be expected and provided! Never again!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Feb 2017
4.9

The bed wasn't made up when I arrived, and what bedding there was was stained. There were extension cables all over the room and noisy pipes across the ceiling. The kitchen was filfthy, though it was very patiently cleaned by staff. Having said all that, the location is great and it's cheap.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • prosoftnz7294
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Feb 2017
4.6

Filthy place when I was there. Toilet drain pipe next to my bed... so woke up every time someone above flushed a toilet. Have photos to prove it

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
5.7

Bathrooms and beds were dirty...the atmosphere wasn't good either...many unconsiderate other guests

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
6.9

Not as bad as some of the reviews out there. Great value for money and simple and easy. Kitchen was a bit cruddy and rooms have no windows with paper thin walls, but its fine for what i expected and for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.