Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.5
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 560 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 6.3
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
5.4

Paid for what I got. Very cheap and that reflected. Incredibly outdated. Mattress that should have been thrown out 20 years ago. Very dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
2.0

Do not book this hostel. It needs to be de-listed from Hostelworld. We have both stayed in hostels worldwide and this was revolting - an absolute hole. Wish we'd read the reviews before booking - anyone who has given this hostel an average or good rating has been paid. Frankly, you should be paid to stay here. Sheets dirty. Toilets / showers disgusting. Reception desk staff were rude. Holes in the walls. No curtains. Cheap and basic is one thing. This place is quite another.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
3.1

Before booking please read the reviews. If you have paid and booked already and happen to be reading this when it is too late like we did then we are so sorry. If you are looking for a clean comfy bed with decent shower facilities and a great atmosphere then please do not book here. No cleaning routine, 1 of the beds was occupied by 3 consecutive people during the week we were there and not once was a sheet or cover changed. The mattresses are about 4inches thick. Cold dirty showers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd May 2017
3.4

Don't stay here spend a bit more for somewhere clean and with nice beds. Staff weren't friendly and there were no curtains in the room which was more like a cupboard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
2.6

Worst stay ever. Dirty, unfriendly, loud and just a really really badly run place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th May 2017
6.3

The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly. The kitchen was never clean when I was there, but that had more to do with other people that were staying in the hostel, because no one cleaned their dishes. Bathrooms and dorm room were pretty clean. All in all my stay was good and I would go there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Apr 2017
7.7

Not as bad as I expected based off of the reviews. Great security (code on main door, locks on dorm door, and lockers), good location, dorms were reasonably clean and bathrooms seemed okay. Also had long term luggage storage which is $2 a day and very handy. Downsides - had to wait about half an hour to check in because cleaning wasn't done, and wifi is ridiculously priced. Totally fine if only staying a few nights, and worth the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
7.4

The place was in a great location. I had a private room and it had no window and was very small. The place could use a good deep cleaning, but it wasn't too dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
8.3

Good for those looking for a real backpacking place not just a cheap hotel quite an old building which has its charm . My private room has no windows which is my only complaint

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.3

Excellent location had booked private room with own ensuite which could have been cleaned better but when asked for fresh sheets and towels was no problem staff obliging handyto supermarket and chemist was very noisy first night but after they moved on was all good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.