Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 5.1
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 4.8
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers Located at Level 1, 102 Albert Street, , Auckland.
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland Level 1, 102 Albert Street
59% 452
-36.8482727 174.7638344
Surf 'N' Snow Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2016
4.3

Mattresses and pillows were so thin there may as well have not been anything. And beds were so creaky. Had to pay for wifi and wasn't even good. No lockers in rooms and one plug socket between 6 people. Majority of staff at reception had no clue what they were doing or how to do anything.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.4

Big Hostel good location, but they just have one stove working for more than 30 people... was very hard to cook in the lunch and in the dinner time, when everybody want to use at the same time!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
6.3

This hostel is very good located, one of the best. But is really dirty, the sheets are not very clean and the bed is uncomfortable, no windows so you can imagine the smell. Kitchen is not very clean and organized. But for one night is just fine. Oh the shower is good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Oct 2016
6.9

The manager is a nice helpful guy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Oct 2016
2.9

DO NOT STAY HERE, I am a backpacker from Scotland and don't have particularly high standards for hostels but this place is a complete joke, rooms are a total mess and full of people staying long term, showers and toilets are TERRIBLE, this place left me at a loss for how it is still running as a business!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Oct 2016
4.9

The bed was so uncomfortable you could feel the bars underneath you as you slept.. no one was friendly expent our German room mate the first night and he moved hostels because of how unfriendly everyone was. It wasn't clean had cold shower when there was water. Only bonus is its walking distance to Queen Street.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Sep 2016
3.1

NADA RECOMENDABLE. Llevo más de 10 años transitando hostels por todo el mundo y nunca había visto algo así. La habitación estaba MUY SUCIA, las sábanas también (no creo que estuvieran lavadas), al igual que los baños. Ningún control de las habitaciones, en la habitación que era de 4 personas dormimos 6 (las acompañantes de dos de los chicos). Mucho ruido en general. El servicio del internet, WiFi, muy caro. 4 dólares la hora y funcionaba pésimamente. Un caos de organización.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.0

Good location, warm staff, but lot of longstay backpackers and it's a mess in the rooms! Nice bathrooms!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
4.0

Long term people never lock the doors, anyone can and do walk in. room also disgusting, I did not have any space to even step to get to my bed let alone put my bag anywhere. Peoples stuff everywhere and half the kitchens cutlery in the rooms. Did not get told about 15 mins free wifi a day when I checked in and found out the day I left. Doesn't feel like a backpackers

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Aug 2016
7.1

I stayed here a few days but had to move in the end cause the Internet here is expensive and it never works. Couldn't even load a Facebook page! The people who stay long term here told me that it's always been like that, and they have all given up on using it so they go elsewhere for Internet. Great location. Rules at this place are loose and a bit flexible, I really like that. Very relaxed vibe. Very good for meeting people !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.