Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 10 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.3
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 10 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.3
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 4.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Hands down the best thing about the surf ranch is the staff! They were genuinely friendly, fun, and catered to our every need. Located close enough to San Juan del sur for easy access to town and surf beaches, yet far enough for peace and quiet at night with a distinctly jungle surrounding. Shuttles into town and beaches were handy and punctual. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
4.0

The room was full of bugs, there was no room cleaning at all. I had to go down to reception for toilet paper, which they didn't have. The internet does not reach the rooms towards the back of the property, and as there is no 3G service, you can't use any phone/laptop in the room. I ran into another visitor who also had similar complaints, including no food available at the resort, late hostel shuttle, no room cleaning, and no free breakfast as promised.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
2.0

Besides the staff, who are all polite locals, there is nothing positive about this "resort"! The place is rundown, grotty and depressing. The pool is cloudy, the bar area is dirty, the food is awful and the gym is an actual joke. The pictures of the resort are misleading and I have no idea where any of the positive reviews have come from. There are many other hostels, guest houses and hotels all over San Juan that offer considerable better value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
3.7

So much wasted potential at this "resort", if you can really even call it that. The staff barely care about the guests. The people who served drinks and breakfast were good, but the managers and other staff sit around and dont help out when they are clearly understaffed. Food is really below average and the prices are not good. The amenities are lacking. The rooms stink and were not very well cleaned. Pretty sure the owners use this place as a tax write off. Save your money, not worth it

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the service, bar, and restaurant. It sounds like you had an issue with the other staff? It would be great to know exactly what problems you have encountered so we can fix immediately, however we are currently going through the transition of new management so they have been replaced and everything is going great. The rooms I have checked personally and they do a great job of cleaning on a daily basis, we have hired more staff as well for these busy holidays. This time of year, when the resort is completely full, issues do arise, but rest assure, we are on top of it, and all issues have been fixed that you mentioned. You can see that our other reviews, people love the Surf Ranch experience. Although you did not get to enjoy it fully, I do invite you back in the near future and I will give you a free upgrade. Thank you.

  • patjames
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.4

Surf Ranch Hostel is a fantastic place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone travelling to San Juan. It is just out of town, no more than a 10 min drive with free shuttles running throughout the day. Honestly the property is so lovely and so well designed you hardly want to leave. The staff are generous and kind, we had an error with our booking and they were extremely helpful. The villa is beautiful and the private terrace out of this world. Only downside is food is a bit pricey

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the free shuttles, property, villa and staff. The food is priced out according to quality and our dishes range from $5 - $14. We only use the freshest and best products. Thanks again for the great review, and we look forward to your return in the near future. Thank you.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.