X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Reviews

3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
938 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stayed here for a few nights and ended up back for a couple of weeks! Honestly the most friendly hostel I've ever stayed in. All the staff make you feel so welcome and have something different on every night! Wifi was free which is always a bonus! as was body board hire. Kitchen is huge and always clean! Rooms get cleaned everyday. Can't say enough about the staff and facilities at this hostel! If you're up for a good laugh and a bit of banter i would definitely recommend here.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Got recommended this hostel by a friend from back home, wish I'd gone with my first choice of a newer hostel up the road straight away. This hostel was pretty crappy to be honest. Staff are clicky and unwelcoming, apart from Gemma. The hostel has 0 atmosphere. And you have to leave the down stairs area at 10pm, and you can't even watch movies in your room on the TVs after that time. So practically its go out, or go to your dorm. Stayed here for 3 nights, was so glad to move to a different hostel

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • millytigerlily921092
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Hostel right on the beach, would definitely recommend it and stay there again. Small cosy atmosphere and great for people wanting to party.


77%

We were in a 6 bed dorm, with an ensuite. It was good value for money, they offered great nights out every night of the week. The kitchen shut at 9pm which was a bit early and the wifi only allowed a certain number of people on it at one time, so mine didn't work for the whole of our 3 night stay which was annoying. Overall it was good!


29%

Very unhappy with the service and staff at surf n sun. We arrived after booking a PRIVATE appartment, under the impression we had a private appartment to ourselves. The staff forgot to add that private actually meant you get a bedroom to yourself and share the rest of the appartment. We arrived home one afternoon and had other people in our appartment. This is totally unacceptable our property, valuables and all other items were sitting openly in the appartment free for these people to access.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi .I am sorry that you thought that you were getting a whole 2 bedroom apartment to yourself ??.But it is you who made the mistake and did not read the information correctly. We clearly advertise that a private room is in a 2 bedroom shared apartment. We also say this upon check in and when we bring you over to your room .In all our history we have never had anyone misunderstand this .. However if you had said something to us we would of given you a refund and you could of got a hotel.

97%

Been in Aus over a year now and stayed in over 20 hostels! By far one of the best I've ever stayed in! Not the cleanest but it doesn't always matter it's a hostel what do you expect! The staff are brilliant really friendly and the hostel is so relaxed! Great fun for going on a night out aswell all the staff get involved! Best thing about it is its cheap!! Such good value for money!


80%

He who desires quiet time dwell not here. Fun atmosphere, good community areas, nice kitchen, staff were quite pleasant for the most part. Not much storage in the dorm I was in. No lockers, but there was a storage area behind the staff desk. Literally 1 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to several clubs.


97%

The staff really make this hostel what it is. Always getting the party started. On Paddys day in particular it went off! TVs in your room is great if you want a quiet one but down by the bar is were its at. Really great staff, Nick in particular was a really nice guy that was always keen to help and make sure were having a good time. SURF N SUNNNNNN!


86%

Loved the staff that was working there! Did their best to involve everybody in the parties and pub crawls!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The first hostel i stopped in in1994 and just as good now if not better.Generally a fun,chilled atmosphere in the hostel.Would stop again-hopefully will not leave it as long this time!


77%

Nice small hostel with a pool and a bathroom in every dorm. A bit outside the city centre, took about 20 minutes to walk to the closest supermarket

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

So unclean! Common area and kitchen in need of upgrade and serious cleaning!


71%

Great location, so close to the beach, as had booked a double room was staying in more of a wee house/unit which was a massive bonus and there was also a pool which is great. staff were easy to deal with. our front door wouldn't seem to lock but our rooms did. there were a few cockroaches around. stove/oven didn't work which was slightly annoying, but I would still go back

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Wifi is a waste of time, couldn't connect when sat next to the router, no lockers, pool area is nice. Kitchen is decent but needs more pans, surfboard hire at 20 bucks for 2 hours a total joke considering other hostels do a whole day for 15! No BYO alcohol either!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Not being allowed liqor in any common areas is tough for people to get to know each other before going to the bar. No one wants to buy drinks for long from the hostel bar before spending money at the real bar.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, fun pubcrawl, super close to the beach :) oh and easy to meet people!


60%

Staff was pretty lazy. They laid around the pool all day. Great pool though.


54%

We found the female staff to be extremely rude and unaccommodating. The manager and male staff were the complete opposite and very friendly, however after the reception we received on the two days we were there we could not wait to leave.


80%

It's a nice place to stay. It's close to the beach and only 10-15 minutes from the centre. Every night the most people go out together, that is pretty cool and all the visitors are familiar with each other.


100%

My stay @ Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers was absolutely Amazing!!! I met some great people at the hostel and the staff go us in some very fancy clubs for free and made sure we even got discounted drinks!!! Awesome People.. I would Totally recommend people to get the private rooms there!!! Cheers =)

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback