Hostelworld.com

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Located at 3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, , Surfers Paradise.
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
Australia
Surfers Paradise Queensland qld 4217 3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd
79% 1105
-27.9931947 153.4295176
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
7.4

Good hostel only a few minutes walk into the centre and very close to the beach and a tram station. Bathrooms were quite run down but other facilities were good (pool, tv in room, common area). Organised nights out were the best part, a great way to meet people and loads of fun!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lewisbarnett
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Apr 2016
8.3

I had a very pleasant stay at this hostel, I loved the atmosphere, with the hostel being quite small it is really easy to make friends etc, the kitchen is amazing for cooking and I enjoyed the common room with some belting filmeson! The nights out that are ran by the hostel are good too. The only concern or for the hostel to go forward is the fact they don't have safes in the room, they have a big general safe at reception but it's not that same really when you have personal belongings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
5.7

We stayed here for 3 nights and would never go back and would urge others not to stay here. On our 4th morning we woke up to many of our personal belongings stolen. This included: 4 iphones, 2 ipads, 1 purse, a passport, a go pro, new nike trainers and clothes. This hostel is not secure as someone came onto the premises and managed to take our belongings in the middle of the night! Please be very weary if you do stay here!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
4.0

My roommates had their phones stolen, iPads , GoPro , a passport, shoes . You tell me would you give it a good rating ?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

Loved this place! The pool is a valued asset to the hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful, loved that the wifi, the computers, the movies and the cutlery and crockery was free. It was good that they offer amazing nights out but there is no pressure to go on then if you don't want to. Noise level wasn't bad. Just overall a great place. Only pointer would be to expand the bar and sell spirits aswell! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.7

It was my first time in a Backpackers and Surf n Sun accomplished all my expectations. It is really nice that Since you get to the hostal young people recieve you and guide you in Surfers Paradise. The experience of meeting new people in your Room and social areas is a plus that can't be replicated. All the people are nice and the hostal is very well located. Totally recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2016
3.1

The type of people attracted here aren't backpackers its 18-30yr olds on holiday with their friends. There seems to also too many staff who seem to also have a priority over paying guests when using facilities for own use. The facilities are awful, disgusting, dirty, smelly, no wifi in rooms, Staff very unhelpful. Everything closes at 9-10pm and gates locked unless you are staff who spend all night partying in the common areas. While paying guests are sent to bed bored with nothing to do.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Mar 2016
4.0

Horrible hostel, people throwing up outside dorm, drunk antics in room. Dirty room, no security lockers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
6.0

We came before the check in time, and the staff let us put our bag in the lounge room, which was great and secure. But we came back later after dinner only to find out that the room we booked wasn't available! So we had to find another place to stay for our 1st night :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.3

Security was felt minimal, i had my phone stolen, and apparently my sandals as well. who does that? Even though it was impossible retrieve my phone, they did nothing to make me feel better or make it up to me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.