X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Reviews

3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1029 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Rooms and ensuites didn't feel like they had been cleaned over the 3 days/nights, maybe just need to be refurbished a bit. Staff were helpful! Didn't like the vibe from other people staying there so didn't use communal areas much.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Supersweet hostel, nice people, good vibes! We loved it, even it was a littlebit outside the city centre. Would definitely recommend it, go there if you want to meet new people and have fun, that's the best place to stay in Surfers!


63%

Few information about basic questions from the staff and the room and bathroom not really good. Location perfect and good for drinks!


74%

Enjoyed my stay at Surf'n'Sun however the lack of Aircon majorly let it down. Had such a bad few nights sleep due to the heat of the room. If you like good nights out this hostel is good as it sets up predrinks and nights out and you get free entry to clubs etc.


89%

Got a free wash with hostelworld! free wifi and the hostel is super close to the beach Rooms are not ACed and a bit crampy, but still allright.


80%

Looks a little dingy from the outside but it's a cool place , good laid back atmosphere , nice pool , nice peopl , staff are cool and quirky , rooms are decent and mostly en suite , wifi is very bad unfortunately , common area is good , movies on all the time and plenty of places to relax, I would definitely stay there again.


100%

The best hostel I've stayed in ! Amazing people, amazing atmosphere ! Always something to do !

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Was ok place to stay but need to serouisly invest in a/c the rooms are like a hot box which makes it hard to sleep.


80%

Fun Place for Young People . Very Good Location!

  • 6th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Mixe
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Amazing showers and the couple that own it are fantastic and friendly but the younger girl on the desk came across as rude. The only thing I'd say was there were no lights at the other side of the accommodation block so it was dark getting to your room and even though safe you didn't feel it!


63%

The hostel shouldn't hire only backpackers. The staff was clearly inexperienced and the feeling was that there was no one in charge. There was drunk people everywhere, screaming like the world was about to end and walking around the corridor (including one of the staff members who invaded our room and talked by her self for several minutes).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi.Yes i employ backpackers so fellow backpackers can relate and feel comfortable with their fellow backpackers.I am the general manager that runs the hostel.Had you a problem during you stay? ? did you actual ask to speak to a manager ?? we are a fun party hostel and being new year we had a big party to celebrity the new year.

97%

Greatest location! Trams and buses are only 1 minute walk. Friendly staff! - they always came around to check that everyone was enjoying their stay at Gold Coast.

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are absolute LEGENDS!!!! I left some new sunglasses at the hostel and they posted them to me straight away... they've just arrived all wrapped up so they didn't get damaged on the way- very decent people :) The actual hostel was cool too, great pool area!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

the hostel is definitely not bad, but after reading all the reviews i really expected more. the staff is very friendly and I met a lot of nice people in the hostel. nonetheless, the bathrooms could have been cleaned better, the girls came nearly every day but the cleaning was really superficial and not really effective. during my whole stay (6nights) the free wifi worked only 2x and was of bad quality. i also found it very annoying that the TV was unbelievably loud all the time


94%

It is a party hostel and I really had a great time. The staff was really nice and helpful. Rooms are a bit old and there is no AC but for the price it's a good deal in the Gold Coast .


80%

Nice hostel, very familiar atmosphere. Rooms & kitchen are clean. There is a pool & free wifi as well, which doesn't work most of the time though. Free use of computers and printers. Free entry to a club & a free drink every night. No BYO in the hostel, however you can buy drinks at their little bar. Had a great stay there!


97%

Excellent atmosphere in excellent location. Staff are very friendly and approachable. Surfboard rental is very cheap, as is the bar. The only complaint I havd is that the music is turned up from 7:30 in the morning, making falling back asleep in the morning very difficult!

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The place was fantastic! Pub crawl on a saturday was definitely worth the money and such a good time out!

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Wow, it was awesom! Liked it very well! No worries

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Surf n Sun was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. It has a great location next to the beach and within walking distance of all the clubs, it's kept clean and has a sweet pool, TV room, and super cheap bar area. What really makes this hostel though is the atmosphere. The staff are beyond friendly and helpful, they actually hang out with you. During the day you can always find people to chill with and every night is a fun time, even if you don't go on the organized bar trips.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback