Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,200 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.2
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Located at 3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, , Surfers Paradise.
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
Australia
Surfers Paradise Queensland qld 4217 3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd
74% 1200
-27.9931947 153.4295176
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
4.3

Booked to stay 4 nights. The first night was okay, slept fine. The second night we were kept awake until 4.30am by the party outside our room. Attempted to contact staff to get them to sort it out but there was no emergency number given so no way of doing so. Promptly checked out the next morning. The only blessing was that the girl (Lisa) on reception was really apologetic and got us a full refund for the remaining 2 nights. If you want to get some sleep, I wouldn't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
4.0

I left without even staying the night. The room (6 bed dorm) was really gross- smelled bad, hair on the blankets and dried boogers on the sheets, the bathroom was really bad. Building looks like it's falling apart. If you're thinking I sound snooty, I've stayed in (and lived in) some pretty "bohemian" places but nothing like this. When I said I wanted to check out early the staff member didn't even bother to ask why. The only good thing about this place is its proximity to the beach.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
5.1

Stayed here for 3 nights. There seemed to be more staff than guests. This would've been fine had the staff not been so loud & arrogant. Making us feel uncomfortable in the chill area- like we were intruding. Being annoyed that we asked reception staff about laundry facilities. There was a dying mouse/rat by one of the fridges which a member of staff got rid of with a dustpan used for general kitchen cleaning. He then boasted about after saying 'mouse cleaning' part of his job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Nov 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Cooking facilities and pool. Wifi only in reception and communal area. Arrange pub craw Saturday and Wednesday which is fun once out but no atmosphere pre craw at hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.0

Excellent location for the beach not too far from downtown shops, nightlife and food. Shuttle service to the bus stop was greatly appreciated. The property itself works fine just needs some TLC like the stairs are scary rusty metal and old beat up wood repainted too many times, fans could use a dusting, fridges a clean starting to have an odour, and hire one more person your staff were friendly and have great personalities but their hours are too long.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
7.1

Nice place with nice staff. Only issues where it was a 15-20 minute walk away from main centre and there was no lockers to store items. Tv in common area which was always on and you can request what you want which was good. Staff did claim it was a party hostel but nothing really happened on big nights out and everything in the hostel closes at 10.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
3.7

Pretty dirty party hostel ... if you don't want to sleep and don't care about a dirty enviroment, this would be the perfect hostel for you

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Stayed two nights, the dorm was immaculate as were the bathrooms and the communal areas. Great party hostel, had a wild Saturday there with free entry into a club! Already recommended the hostel to anyone going!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.0

Great hostel. No lockers are provided which kind of sucked your room stays locked pretty much all day. Staff were great, providing free shuttles to and from the bus station. Also, you get free laundry if booked through hostelworld!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
9.4

I had a really great time at this hostel, one of the best I did in Australia, clean, well located but mostly important the staff was amazing everyone is friendly easy going and always happy to help!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.