X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Reviews

3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
856 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We had a pleasant stay for two nights and enjoyed the apartment style set up particularly sharing a bathroom with only one other couple (if you book double room) hostel has everything you need, wasn't much atmosphere but can't control that. Bar closing at 10 probably contributes to that a little bit, aside from that location very good and staff friendly and helpful. Thanks


86%

Biggest pro: the entertainment program every night. Everybody is invited to join and the drinking games are fun. Very close to the beach, 10 min walk to city centre Cons: staff is only interested in you, when they have to be (like for the games, but still polite most of the time), bathrooms appear to be not very clean although cleaned dayly, not very much happening except for parting (but that's in whole surfers)


94%

If you're looking for a chill place with great people, great staff, great parties and loads of fun and drinking every night you're definitely in the right place here. The staff makes you feel very welcome and takes care of you when you have any problems. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Prolonged my stay a couple times because I had such a good time.


31%

Probably the worst hostel I have ever been. The structure is old, if you ask something to the girl at the desk about surfers paradise probably she doesn't know what answer, bed unconfy, ugly bathrooms, loud music, not so clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. But you did not once say anthing to us during your 2 night stay. We could of helped you in some way or given you a full refund . We do clearly advertise that we are a fun party hostel that goes out every night but you did not socialise with any one.

86%

Good to have a double bed room. Share the kitchen and toilet with other 2 visitors. Great to be here.


97%

Amazing hostel! Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff are so friendly and there are always staff to take you out everywhere and show you where to go. Would definately recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic stay at the hostel for the past few days. It started with me being picked up by Adam the driver, happy and smiling I knew it was a going to be a great party hostel. The room was great and the facilities were always clean and tidy. When I needed help finding where to go Gemma pointed me in the right direction. Overall brilliant trip

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

PROS: very friendly staff, organized bar night, every night with drinking games before so a good way to meet people, free wifi for 1 hour (at least), close to the beach, free pick up/drop off greyhound, on site bar CONS: its old, needs updating and feels dirty, young crowd, can't access the kitchen after 9pm (i just wanted to put my drink in the fridge) no BYO, 15 min walk to coles


100%

The best!!


97%

i miss Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers and my great "moments". I'm nostalgic! I'm booking there again ;)

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

I had a good time to stay here. Staff is friendly and helpful, location is good, not far to beach and 10 mins to city by walk. it's a party hostel, I really enjoyed it :)


86%

Very happy with my stay. I came for a relaxed, quiet time and that is exactly what I got. No silly restrictions and very friendly staff.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Awesome party hostel right on the beach loved it


80%

Ppl who work in there took me and my bf to a nightclub which was cool!

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The private rooms is out of the property, far from the hostel facilities. The room was very dirty and the sheets seemed to be used, with brown apperance and bad smell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you were not happy with your room. We say upon check in if you have any issues to come to reception and let us know. But you did not say anything so it is very hard for us to help you now. Our private rooms are fully equipped apartments situated right beside the hostel. They get cleaned daily with clean sheets We could of changed the sheets for you or given you a full refund if we had of known. Thanks

86%

Really good location just 1 min walk to the beach. They collect


83%

Good Hostel. Everything as expected.


100%

Every nice. Nice pool area Unit was lovely


77%

Good value for money as we had our own private room, which is actually a small flat. Shared with 2 other people. Great location!

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Booked 4 days and ended up staying there for a month. Location and parties are great! Wish there were lockers in the rooms.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback