X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Reviews

3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
950 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

We stayed in a private room for a couple, an apartment style room. We have seen worse, but the room was very dusty and moldy, and small. You could tell the place had not been cleaned thoroughly. The bed sheets creeped us out. The bathroom wasn't too bad, but the fridge was very dirty. Would not recommend this place.

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel was pretty sketchy overall and wasn't very clean. It appeared really old and unkept and although I saw someone clean the washroom, they did only a very quick clean which didn't seem to be effective. Since I stayed when it was off-season, there were way more staff than guests at the hostel and they weren't particularly welcoming to those of us staying there, making for somewhat of an uncomfortable environment.


100%

Surf n sun is an amazing hostel to stay in, it is in an excellent location, literally at the beach with shops and bars near by.It is a party hostel and the friendly staff always get you out your room every night with different things going on, its great for people to meet other travellers. if you don't want to join in on the nights out though they offer free wifi and free use of computers, the lounge area also has a massive TV and a huge movie and TV show selection you can request to watch.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

awesome hostel. meet loads of friendly people here who are up for a good time. friendly staff who all come together to make you feel welcome and comfortable. also, stacy, how ya goin. room 16. speaker.


71%

This hostel was good for the one night in surfers. The room was basic and the bathroom a little run down but fine for what we needed. Although I had to duck down to use the shower and I'm only 5 ft 6!! We went on the pub crawl organised which was a lot of fun but mainly cos we met some cool people. The staff didn't organise all that much. However the atmosphere in the hostel in the evening was real good :)


100%

Stayed here for a few nights and ended up back for a couple of weeks! Honestly the most friendly hostel I've ever stayed in. All the staff make you feel so welcome and have something different on every night! Wifi was free which is always a bonus! as was body board hire. Kitchen is huge and always clean! Rooms get cleaned everyday. Can't say enough about the staff and facilities at this hostel! If you're up for a good laugh and a bit of banter i would definitely recommend here.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Got recommended this hostel by a friend from back home, wish I'd gone with my first choice of a newer hostel up the road straight away. This hostel was pretty crappy to be honest. Staff are clicky and unwelcoming, apart from Gemma. The hostel has 0 atmosphere. And you have to leave the down stairs area at 10pm, and you can't even watch movies in your room on the TVs after that time. So practically its go out, or go to your dorm. Stayed here for 3 nights, was so glad to move to a different hostel

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • millytigerlily921092
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Hostel right on the beach, would definitely recommend it and stay there again. Small cosy atmosphere and great for people wanting to party.


77%

We were in a 6 bed dorm, with an ensuite. It was good value for money, they offered great nights out every night of the week. The kitchen shut at 9pm which was a bit early and the wifi only allowed a certain number of people on it at one time, so mine didn't work for the whole of our 3 night stay which was annoying. Overall it was good!


29%

Very unhappy with the service and staff at surf n sun. We arrived after booking a PRIVATE appartment, under the impression we had a private appartment to ourselves. The staff forgot to add that private actually meant you get a bedroom to yourself and share the rest of the appartment. We arrived home one afternoon and had other people in our appartment. This is totally unacceptable our property, valuables and all other items were sitting openly in the appartment free for these people to access.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi .I am sorry that you thought that you were getting a whole 2 bedroom apartment to yourself ??.But it is you who made the mistake and did not read the information correctly. We clearly advertise that a private room is in a 2 bedroom shared apartment. We also say this upon check in and when we bring you over to your room .In all our history we have never had anyone misunderstand this .. However if you had said something to us we would of given you a refund and you could of got a hotel.

97%

Been in Aus over a year now and stayed in over 20 hostels! By far one of the best I've ever stayed in! Not the cleanest but it doesn't always matter it's a hostel what do you expect! The staff are brilliant really friendly and the hostel is so relaxed! Great fun for going on a night out aswell all the staff get involved! Best thing about it is its cheap!! Such good value for money!


80%

He who desires quiet time dwell not here. Fun atmosphere, good community areas, nice kitchen, staff were quite pleasant for the most part. Not much storage in the dorm I was in. No lockers, but there was a storage area behind the staff desk. Literally 1 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to several clubs.


97%

The staff really make this hostel what it is. Always getting the party started. On Paddys day in particular it went off! TVs in your room is great if you want a quiet one but down by the bar is were its at. Really great staff, Nick in particular was a really nice guy that was always keen to help and make sure were having a good time. SURF N SUNNNNNN!


86%

Loved the staff that was working there! Did their best to involve everybody in the parties and pub crawls!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The first hostel i stopped in in1994 and just as good now if not better.Generally a fun,chilled atmosphere in the hostel.Would stop again-hopefully will not leave it as long this time!


77%

Nice small hostel with a pool and a bathroom in every dorm. A bit outside the city centre, took about 20 minutes to walk to the closest supermarket

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

So unclean! Common area and kitchen in need of upgrade and serious cleaning!




View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback