Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1230 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jamesevertonfan
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.0

Good Place, although there are better places closer to the busier part of the beach

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
6.6

Kitchen was kind of gross all the time. The staff was nice but drank more than the people staying at the hostel and threw out our properly labelled food... the boogie boards are free to rent but are broken. Decent rooms and better kitchen that other close hostels. Although the knives are incredibly dull. We would probably stay here again but would bring our own knives.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.3

Good hostel, it is a party hostel. So don't be mad if u get waken at 2:30, facilities are fine, staff is cool. No resort, but great value for the price. The only thing they say they have free parking, they have only 3 pakring spots, but during weekend it is easy to park for free on the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.9

Is good for up to 2 days. Is really hot and you can't sleep sometimes ! Overall good value for money you pay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

Enjoyed our stay here. A party hostel but despite this we never went out with the hostel but wasn't an issue. Rooms are a good size but do get hot and stuffy. Staff were really top notch so helpful and pleasant. Like the range of films they played in the living room. Fridges could be cleaned out more often and free minibus service was around as bus broke down so we almost missed our bus. But top stay all in all!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
4.3

Booked to stay 4 nights. The first night was okay, slept fine. The second night we were kept awake until 4.30am by the party outside our room. Attempted to contact staff to get them to sort it out but there was no emergency number given so no way of doing so. Promptly checked out the next morning. The only blessing was that the girl (Lisa) on reception was really apologetic and got us a full refund for the remaining 2 nights. If you want to get some sleep, I wouldn't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Nov 2016
6.3

The hostel it's self was fairly clean nothing to bad The problem is the staff, it seemed like they didn't really care and just did what they wanted On our first night we were really disappointed because every night you can go out and there's reps who take you the first pair we had where awful! Drunker than everyone else especially the blonde girl, she was rude, she told the bouncer at the club not to let my friend in because she didn't like her which is so unprofessional, 2nd night was better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
4.0

I left without even staying the night. The room (6 bed dorm) was really gross- smelled bad, hair on the blankets and dried boogers on the sheets, the bathroom was really bad. Building looks like it's falling apart. If you're thinking I sound snooty, I've stayed in (and lived in) some pretty "bohemian" places but nothing like this. When I said I wanted to check out early the staff member didn't even bother to ask why. The only good thing about this place is its proximity to the beach.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
5.1

Stayed here for 3 nights. There seemed to be more staff than guests. This would've been fine had the staff not been so loud & arrogant. Making us feel uncomfortable in the chill area- like we were intruding. Being annoyed that we asked reception staff about laundry facilities. There was a dying mouse/rat by one of the fridges which a member of staff got rid of with a dustpan used for general kitchen cleaning. He then boasted about after saying 'mouse cleaning' part of his job.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Nov 2016
7.7

Friendly staff. Cooking facilities and pool. Wifi only in reception and communal area. Arrange pub craw Saturday and Wednesday which is fun once out but no atmosphere pre craw at hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.