X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers Reviews

3323 Surfers Paradise Blvd, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
927 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Been in Aus over a year now and stayed in over 20 hostels! By far one of the best I've ever stayed in! Not the cleanest but it doesn't always matter it's a hostel what do you expect! The staff are brilliant really friendly and the hostel is so relaxed! Great fun for going on a night out aswell all the staff get involved! Best thing about it is its cheap!! Such good value for money!


80%

He who desires quiet time dwell not here. Fun atmosphere, good community areas, nice kitchen, staff were quite pleasant for the most part. Not much storage in the dorm I was in. No lockers, but there was a storage area behind the staff desk. Literally 1 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to several clubs.


97%

The staff really make this hostel what it is. Always getting the party started. On Paddys day in particular it went off! TVs in your room is great if you want a quiet one but down by the bar is were its at. Really great staff, Nick in particular was a really nice guy that was always keen to help and make sure were having a good time. SURF N SUNNNNNN!


86%

Loved the staff that was working there! Did their best to involve everybody in the parties and pub crawls!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The first hostel i stopped in in1994 and just as good now if not better.Generally a fun,chilled atmosphere in the hostel.Would stop again-hopefully will not leave it as long this time!


77%

Nice small hostel with a pool and a bathroom in every dorm. A bit outside the city centre, took about 20 minutes to walk to the closest supermarket

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

So unclean! Common area and kitchen in need of upgrade and serious cleaning!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, so close to the beach, as had booked a double room was staying in more of a wee house/unit which was a massive bonus and there was also a pool which is great. staff were easy to deal with. our front door wouldn't seem to lock but our rooms did. there were a few cockroaches around. stove/oven didn't work which was slightly annoying, but I would still go back

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Wifi is a waste of time, couldn't connect when sat next to the router, no lockers, pool area is nice. Kitchen is decent but needs more pans, surfboard hire at 20 bucks for 2 hours a total joke considering other hostels do a whole day for 15! No BYO alcohol either!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Not being allowed liqor in any common areas is tough for people to get to know each other before going to the bar. No one wants to buy drinks for long from the hostel bar before spending money at the real bar.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, fun pubcrawl, super close to the beach :) oh and easy to meet people!


60%

Staff was pretty lazy. They laid around the pool all day. Great pool though.


54%

We found the female staff to be extremely rude and unaccommodating. The manager and male staff were the complete opposite and very friendly, however after the reception we received on the two days we were there we could not wait to leave.


80%

It's a nice place to stay. It's close to the beach and only 10-15 minutes from the centre. Every night the most people go out together, that is pretty cool and all the visitors are familiar with each other.


100%

My stay @ Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers was absolutely Amazing!!! I met some great people at the hostel and the staff go us in some very fancy clubs for free and made sure we even got discounted drinks!!! Awesome People.. I would Totally recommend people to get the private rooms there!!! Cheers =)

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Big living space in the apartments. Need some refreshing in common areas to get higher rating. The staff was friendly but sometimes a little bit unprofessional.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I really enjoyed staying at surf n sun. I found the staff to be great and very helpful. The facilities, though small, were all in one general area so you could really get to know people around the hostel. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend the hostel to anyone traveling the coast. Specially with it being so close to downtown and the beach!

  • 4th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was nice. Staff very friendly. There just wasn't much to do at night if you weren't into partying.


89%

Great staff, helpful. Nice atmosphere if you like a few drinks and want to go out in town. Nice facility's, pool, tv room and outside area are great social areas. Rooms are good. Good location. Coming back to gold coast and will be staying here again.


54%

The hostel is really close to the beach and walking distance to the clubs, it has a swimming pool and rooms where not too bad.But wifi was not working, no lockers (a safe on reception) and the staff is the ruddest if never seen, they only care about going party. Specially the blonde girl, she was horrible, it seems she is in holidays and costumers are bothering her. For example when I told her I couldnt get online she just repply me: Yes, I know! Without even looking at me... INCREDIBLE


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback