Hostelworld.com

Surfbackpackers Bilbao

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 291 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.9
Surfbackpackers Bilbao Located at Calle Luzarra 18. bajo, , Bilbao.
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
Spain
Bilbao Pais Vasco 48014 Calle Luzarra 18. bajo
82% 291
43.2723505 -2.9472005
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Sep 2015
10.0

Had a great time at surfbackpackers hostel the atmosphere was really great everyone was really friendly made some great friends the hostel its self was real nice all the facilities were kept really clean and the staff were friendly and willing to help with anything that was needed

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2015
8.6

Awesome hostel! Showed up late and owner accommodated me. The location is a 10 minute walk from the Guggenheim and maybe 20 to old city. Very friendly atmosphere and lends its self to partying. If you are looking for a quiet night on the weekend, bring the earplugs. There's a quiet rule at midnight but the drunks start stumbling in around 3AM....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2015
6.9

No windows, as soon as you recognize it, it seems weird. I didn´t like the fact that you can´t turn on the light by yourself in the common room, I got up "early" in the morning (at 8AM) and I had to sit in the almost dark common room for breakfast, not really cosy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adrianlui7335
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
7th Sep 2015
8.9

loved this hostel. it has a very laid back, chill feel to it. it didnt actually feel like a hostel, it felt like a home. kaya (I think thats how you spell it) knows quite a lot about the area and will explain things to you really well. I would definitely stay here again. quite 'far out' from the city centre but bilbao isnt big. 20 minute walk to the main areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2015
10.0

Everything was fantastic, Federico and his staff were laid back but made sure everything was taken care of properly for us and were down to party when nighttime rolled around! I honestly don't think I would've have nearly as good of a time in Bilbao without them and would highly recommend anyone who simply wants to have a good time to go there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2015
8.6

Good vibes and very nice staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Aug 2015
9.7

The owner is a legend. Great atmosphere and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
14th Aug 2015
8.6

Staff were wonderful! So friendly and even took us all out to a street fiesta one night. Location wasn't the best but if you are lazy it's close to the metro

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • constanzehaecker5984
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2015
7.1

The rooms were connected on the top of the room, so you could hear the people speking from the rooms next door. There were no windows in the rooms, so very bad air and a fan in the commonroom kept circulating the air what did not reach the closed doors. So it was bad air and pretty hot for that cold day in the room. But the staff was great and very helpful in general.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2015
8.9

The hostel is close to the city, (15 minutes walk to the Guggenheim museum). The staff was friendly and nice with us, the first night we arrived, one of the girl working there even took us out to a music festival. At the hostel, it was easy to meet people! The main problem is that you have to be out of the hostel at 12. I understand that they do this so they can clean up, but I think this hostel would get advantage of finding a way to clean up even if there's people around. It was a bit rude.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.