Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfbackpackers Bilbao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 380 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.0
Surfbackpackers Bilbao Located at Calle Luzarra 18. bajo, , Bilbao.
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
Spain
Bilbao Pais Vasco 48014 Calle Luzarra 18. bajo
74% 380
43.2723505 -2.9472005
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
6.6

Front desk was extremely helpful. Atmosphere was ok. Since there as only one bathroom two toilets to share with the whole hostel. Personally I wouldn't go back but those traveling alone wanting to meet new people. I highly recommend this place. Do stop by el globe for pintxos.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a great time there. It's very nicely decorated and clean. The shower was not working correctly though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
5.7

They bumped the prices up for Aste Nagusia (€27 a night!) but there's no way I would have paid that. I had a good time and met some cool people in their nice lounge/dining area, but the lockers were out of the rooms and flimsy, staff turned up an hour after check-in was meant to start which meant 10+ impatient people hanging around, the showers were right next to the lounge so very little privacy...and it was quite out of the way to boot. Maybe good for a cheap stay...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
2.0

WORST HOSTEL, AVOID. A drunk French guy GOT IN MY BED and almost attacked me and reception was never around, so nobody was around to even help. I had to fend him off myself and had nobody to even tell. All other guests mentioned the same -- "Where the hell is reception, and where and when can I even check in?" I wasn't even able to check in until Day 2 of my stay, and wasn't even able to check out. Bathrooms are locked until 11am, wtf. Didn't feel safe here, and couldn't even shower.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.3

Ok, not great. Felt like sleeping in a big shed. Only small lockers in storage room. Not enough showers for everyone. Not the best atmosphere. But ok for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.0

Good! Only two showers working (one is constantly out of order) and the showers are locked until whatever time the staff wants to unlock it in the morning (around 9.30) which is the only hostel I have ever been to where this happens! Other than this, no complaints. Did the job just fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
6.0

Once you get used to the location it's fine. A short walk to the Guggenheim and there's a Metro not too far away which links you with the old town. The hostel is not the cleanest hostel I have stayed in and also the showers aren't available until 9:30am which I found to be quite late if you wanted to get up and do things. Similarly with the breakfast not starting until 9:30. Not enough toilets or showers for the amount of people and the lockers look broken and are in a separate room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
7.7

Good: good social space and v nice atmosphere; kitchen; staff v friendly. Bad: lockers are not lockers; can't shower before 9!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Good atmosphere in the hostel. The common room / kitchen is in the middle of the rooms so it's very social. Nice staff very chill vibe. It's not extraordinary but I had a nice stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay at surf backpackers in Bilbao! All of the staff are friendly and helpful, always keen for a bit of a chat too which is nice. Good music as well! Really good location, walking distance to all the sight you need to see. Highly recommend, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.