Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surfbackpackers Bilbao

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Surfbackpackers Bilbao Located at Calle Luzarra 18. bajo, , Bilbao.
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
Spain
Bilbao Pais Vasco 48014 Calle Luzarra 18. bajo
79% 329
43.2723505 -2.9472005
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, I had a great time. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.6

We were welcomed immediately and were able to make friends with everyone as soon as we arrived. The location was pretty safe and we were walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. Nightlife was harder to find, but amazing once you found it. I would highly recommend bringing ear plugs if you can't sleep with noise. Overall, very welcoming and friendly and great value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • josheborall
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

Stunning decoration with a real surfer feel. Down to earth staff who interact well with the staff. Common area offers a good vibe with music on all day and a real social feel. Only down side provide a towel its a surfers hostel and the beds are a bit squeeky

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
7.7

It is walking distance from the museum and the metro is right around the corner to get further into the city. They turn off all noise at 12am which is nice so everyone can get some quite rest. Breakfast is cereal & toast and coffee & tea. Clean & modern. The staff will answer any question you ask & help you in whatever possible way they can.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • WebAsh
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my time at Surfbackpackers. Staff were friendly, like-minded travellers who were a good chat and bridged the gap between solo travellers. The hostel is quite basic, and whilst the rooms aren't entirely insulated from one-another (the walls are not roof height), the usual eye-mask/ear-plugs guidance for hostels sorts that out; but its not a noisy place anyway. Facilities are clean and I love the theme/character. Note: no dorm locks, but staff are always around so no problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
9.7

This is an excellent hostel. The location is very good and the staff are very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
6.9

If you get there before check in they tell you to get out. If you try to stay after check out they will tell you to get out. They really just want you out. The walls are more like plywood that doesn't reach the ceiling, so noise travels easily. Despite having "surf" in the name, the beach is quite far away (30 min to 1 hour on the metro). Way too expensive for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Great stay, super friendly and easy going, good common area, not to far from the centre :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Clean hostel with friendly staff . Close walking distance to the city centre

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2016
3.4

This hostel was ridiculous for the price it asked: the staff were unhelpful and would burst into the room without warning, the place was a mess and none of the rooms were actually separated because the plywood walls didn't reach the ceiling so it was very loud. My sheet hadn't been cleaned and the pillow was about a hundred years old. There was next to no security and "beakfast" was dumped on the table half an hour late. Felt like a bit of a mugging for 30 euros.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.