Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfbackpackers Bilbao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 372 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.1
Surfbackpackers Bilbao Located at Calle Luzarra 18. bajo, , Bilbao.
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
Spain
Bilbao Pais Vasco 48014 Calle Luzarra 18. bajo
75% 372
43.2723505 -2.9472005
Surfbackpackers Bilbao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a great time there. It's very nicely decorated and clean. The shower was not working correctly though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2016
6.3

Ok, not great. Felt like sleeping in a big shed. Only small lockers in storage room. Not enough showers for everyone. Not the best atmosphere. But ok for a short stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
6.0

Once you get used to the location it's fine. A short walk to the Guggenheim and there's a Metro not too far away which links you with the old town. The hostel is not the cleanest hostel I have stayed in and also the showers aren't available until 9:30am which I found to be quite late if you wanted to get up and do things. Similarly with the breakfast not starting until 9:30. Not enough toilets or showers for the amount of people and the lockers look broken and are in a separate room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
7.7

Good: good social space and v nice atmosphere; kitchen; staff v friendly. Bad: lockers are not lockers; can't shower before 9!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2016
8.6

Good atmosphere in the hostel. The common room / kitchen is in the middle of the rooms so it's very social. Nice staff very chill vibe. It's not extraordinary but I had a nice stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jul 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay at surf backpackers in Bilbao! All of the staff are friendly and helpful, always keen for a bit of a chat too which is nice. Good music as well! Really good location, walking distance to all the sight you need to see. Highly recommend, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff, I had a great time. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
8.6

We were welcomed immediately and were able to make friends with everyone as soon as we arrived. The location was pretty safe and we were walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. Nightlife was harder to find, but amazing once you found it. I would highly recommend bringing ear plugs if you can't sleep with noise. Overall, very welcoming and friendly and great value for your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
4.3

Only 3 toilets, two showers when many people are staying there. What's worse is the employees say, you can only shower from 9am until 11pm. I asked why and they said people normally sleep then...wrong every night there were people playing drinking games in the living room late which is surrounded by dorms. They said you can only use the kitchen until 11pm too. I heard people being rowdy all night. People used the microwave at 4am

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.1

We had an absolute blast at this hostel. The staff, Kaya, Hellen and Federico were all so great. The whole place was so welcoming, the place is very relaxed during the day and there's a great vibe each night. We made a load of great friends and we'd definitely be back if we're ever in Bilbao!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.