X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surfer Paradise Donosti Reviews

Paseo Zubiaurre 10, San Sebastian, Basque Country, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
128 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

I thought the hostel was really dirty. There was never toliet paper in the restrooms, and I even saw a cockroach in the garage. The staff was nice, the place made me feel uncomfortable. The apartment is also hard to find (the surfer sign is barely visible)


54%

it is not actually a hostel but a house that a lot of people live there. The guys are great and very helpful but still it needs improvement. When i reached the hostel it didn't have any sign of it's name. only a piece of paper that had almost fell down.


80%

a good hostel for the position and the atmosphere, very handly and helpful staff!

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We were in San Sebastian during the city festival so accomodation was all very expensive and hard to find. The staff at the hostel all were friendly and helpful even when a few things didn't run smoothly such as the wrong lock being put on our door and no wifi. We stayed in a 4 bedroom unit separate from the main accomodation which was quiet and comfortable.


77%

Surfer Paradise is a funny little hostel. 18 beds, 2 toilets, 1 shower - and it actually all worked out alright! The hostel is so small that everyone kind of hangs out together, which is pretty lovely. More brochures for walking tours, attractions etc would be helpful. It doesn't look like a hostel from the outside - look for the Argentinian lifeguards hanging out the top windows. If you're fussy, probably being your own sheets. It's about a 15min walk to the restaurants of old town.


69%

Very nice and friendly staff. The prices are very high though and just one shower in an entire hostel is not really ideal. Overall a good place though that I would recommend.


80%

Surfers Paradise is a nice place to stay! A bit run down but with a great atmosphere and lovely staff! I loved it!

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel is full of character and has an awesome vibe to it. Staff were really friendly. Was like staying in flat! Highly recommended!

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The guys who run it are very friendly and as helpful as possible though there is a language barrier (maybe I should just learn Spain). There is no security and at times the front door was just left open. The atmosphere in the house is good, however, it is because of the guests, not because of the facilities. 2 toilets shared between roughly 25 people and one shower but both are clean. Location is a bit of a walk from the bus station. Takes roughly 20mins to walk into main city centre.


89%

Good location, friendly host! For us it was only one night and it was comfortable.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff is really friendly. There is only one shower for more than 10 people.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The "hostel" was actually a house stuffed with beds in the former rooms, some without basic ventilation. The staff were three shirtless boys and the reception was a notebook over the kitchen table. The shared space used to be a garage, it seems, but still some surf boards and boxes were pilled on top of each other. One of the two bathrooms was locked from time to time for no apparent reason. If we had more time we'd had discovered that are cheaper places with better facilities in town.


40%

Small little place, cozy surfer feel. The first floor dorm smelled of mold as is all too common among hostels these days. Option to play mp3 players on the stereo system is always a plus. Overall, not worth the money but not the worst place to crash.


69%

At first we had to carry out bags uphills pretty far in the heat, then it was almost impossible to find (just a bit of paper with the hostel name) and when we were finally in it looked more like a guys appartment then a hostel. But hey - we're not picki like that! But the thing was that they didnt have any beds for us there - so one guy followed us across town to an other better "hostel" with great location! So all good in the end! Cheap, small but homely and clean! Friendly staff too!

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

I chose this hostel because of its high ratings in hostel world, but it turned out to be a disappointing experience and very low value for money (35 euros a night for a 10-person dorm!)The whole hostel has a single shower and two toilets two share between more than 20 people.That means that you must plan your day around the shower. Furthermore, is is far from being clean as the ratings might suggest, and for 35 euros a night you'd expect to be right in the center, but it's a good half hour walk.


37%

Location was good but about it. It was a pokey apartment, small, no space and 1 toilet between 16 peopls Charged me an extra night for no reason. Guys were not friendly and always rude. Better hostels around.


100%

EVERYTHING! Really clean, incredible location. Staff really helpful and friendly, internet access whenever we wanted it, met some really cool people! Have stayed in another hostel in San Sebastian last year and this was way better!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Andorra
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, clean and tidy, staff helpfull and friendly, good location.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, staff helpfull and friendly, clean tidy, good to meet people.Thanks guys. Keep going.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place, clean, very friendly personnel, fast internet connection, great location. I would definitely book once again in my next visit to San Sebastian..

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(75 results)


View all San Sebastian Hostels

Please give us your feedback