Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfers Dorm House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
9.7

My favourite place that I've stayed. It's like a little family. The people who run thebhostel are so nice. It's always cleaned and it's such a fun space to be! Awesome location and awesome experience here. Almost everyone here has extended their visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2017
8.9

Very nice hostel, it feels more like living in a sharehouse than being in a hostel, I felt at home the moment I came in,it's easy to meet people there, cosy kitchen and awesome rooftop terrace, very close to the beach and some good restaurants, very friendly and helpful stuff and good vibes, I extended my stay and would definitly come again =)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.7

The atmosphere in this hostel is unique, a big vibe of communality is going on, which was nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful - also for scooter rentals, transportation to or from your next/previous travel destination,... just great. The facilities are very basic but clean. Under 5 minutes and you're on the beach or eating great food - so the location is all you could wish for. Very chill rooftop terrace, too! I'll be back if I'm ever in the area again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Clara, thank you for your comment. Your compliment made the day for all of the staffs here. We will still improve the facility to make a better stay for our guests. Hope to see you again next time

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jun 2017
9.4

Can't really judge atmosphere as went off season, very clean and staff lovely. Very close to beach but idealy would have scooter to get to most popular spots in Canggu. Had a great time here and extended my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Louisa thank you for your compliment. Glad that you had a good stay at Surfers Dorm and we are happy to hear that. The most popular spots in Canggu is the Surfing spots and the beach clubs attached to it and we are 5 minutes walking from them :) Hope to see you again and we will improve our self by the time you come back

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
8.6

Perfect for the budget backpacker. It's location it 300metres from Finns and Berawa beach so ideal for surfers and partyers. The Hoste itself is quite basic but has everything you need. Great value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your compliment. We will still keep improving our service and facilities to make Surfers Dorm a better accommodation. Hope to see you again next time

4th Jun 2017
8.3

Nice place, very close to the beach. They have a housekeeper who cleans every day but there are still lots of ants roaming around. This place is about a 5 min or less walk to the beach and several restaurants. Be prepared to walk up steep and narrow stairs if you take a room with Air Conditioning. Very simple, basic accommodation for anyone not requiring a fancy place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback. Glad you had a great stay at Surfers Dorm. As Bali is a tropical island, you might find more insects rather than in other area, which is natural, We will keep the housekeeper informed about the ants problem. Hope to see you again next time

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th May 2017
5.7

This place is a beautiful location / but we could not sleep at all - there is no air con and in a dorm of 8 people it's awful! The bathrooms are small and not clean and the beds are really old and move a lot. So you can imagine what it's like sharing a bunk bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Yes our location is within walking distance to many beach club, surfing spot and eatery. As stated in the website that 8 bed dorm is a budget dorm with fan only, which caters for people who don't like to sleep with air conditioning. However, you can ask our staff to change to 4 bed dorms with air con or private room with air con at anytime without penalty and we would be happy to accommodate you

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.1

Great place and location to feel Balinese life with surf, food and shop just around the corner. The place itself is quite (not a party place) and the staffs are really nice, they know how to treat their guests and I had good sleep ~~ Still need to improve facilities to make it such a cool place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Hope to see you again next time!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
9.4

Nice and helpful staff! They gladly arrange bike and transport for us. Good little hostel with equipped kitchen to cook and rooftop chill area. Old Man beach is just a few minutes walk and many little cafes around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to help all of our guests anytime. Hope to see you again next time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.