X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort Reviews

2837 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
792 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Had a great stay at the hostal staff were great and facilities were also great, arranged great bar crawls each week, would highly recommend this to everyone

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Would highly recommend! Had a really amazing time at this hostel! I was only planning on staying here for a few days but I ended up extending even longer because I was so happy! The facilities at the hostel are great with the free wi-fi and free washing! The rooms were always cleaned too. The staff at the hostel are the most friendliest and helpful and fun staff that I have met since I've been in Australia and I've been here for 5months! They have a great bar and organise the best nights out!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in countless hostels all over Aus, and this is by far one of the best. The facilities and room were great. The social aspect was fantastic, so easy to meet and chat to people. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Moved to this hostel and was so impressed! It feels more like a mini hotel than a hostel and is very clean. Staff are fantastic and are all so friendly. The Big Night Out was good also so I definitely recommend it.


69%

Location was great. Really close to an almost empty beach and a short walk from city center. Wifi was better than expected; it reached just outside the lobby. They start it at 7.30 am and turns it off at 10 pm. The room only had a ceiling fan which looked very dangerous and the room got really hot during the night (we stayed in a room with 7 beds)


86%

stayed here multiple times during my visit to oz,I absolutely loved my stay here everything from the staff to the atmosphere, could not have asked for more in a hostel, has shuttle bus that runs in to town every hour, comes in handy if you don't want to walk as well. again I would highly suggest this hostel to anyone. Keep up the good work guys! Gonna miss you all!


86%

The hostel in general is very good especially the bar and the swimming pool but I think the bedroom was too hot. The fan wasn't enough for the temperature in Gold Coast during the summer. I think they need to improve the ventilation in the bedrooms.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Kinda on the expensive side, but probably the best hostel I've found in Australia so far, so you get what you pay for. Great atmosphere, nice crowd. Only annoying thing is that the rooms were pretty warm, they have fans but they don't help much. Deposits for keys and crockery are really steep so keep an eye on your things.


94%

Great hostel. Very friendly atmosphere, even feels almost like a mini resort.


100%

Close the beach, close site center, perfect staff and vacation atmosphere!


63%

Was not fully told we would be sharing a unit with other people

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very hot in rooms with little air flow! Activities were great including Volleyball at 6pm every night bar and basketball ring was a great way to get people to interact with each other! Lockers in the rooms would be great but obviously not enough room. Overall happy with staff and my experience thank you.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Reception staff very very rude and very strong language with customer

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

You should have more girls in mixed bed dorms!!

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Microwave didnt work and stove top wasnt the best, not enough pots and pans. Couldnt cook a meal.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The microwave does work, we tested it straight away! There are loads of pots and pans in the kitchen cupboards but we keep plenty of spares if you come and ask.

83%

Overall good, fun place to stay. Volleyball & Basketball court and a pool for working off the hangovers. No lockers in the 6 bed dorm I stayed at. Hourly shuttle bus is handy. Location is a short walk from all the fun. The rooms could be cleaner and some things could be updated in the bathroom. There is a bar, which means no BYO, but the bar closes at 11, which means you have to leave if you want to have some drinks. Met lots of cool people and the pub crawl is awesome.


83%

Great hostel. Slightly out of town but the shuttle every hour made it no issue. No lockers in the room but there was a safe behind reception. Great staff who made you feel at home and close to a patrolled beach. Perfect for backpackers.


97%

Extended my stay but an extra 3 nights as it is just a great place to stay and the staff and other backpackers there was so welcoming and friendly. Thank you to Lee (the manager) for managing to squeeze me in the extra 3 nights such a great guy. They have a free bus that runs into the city every hour which it great and the female bus driver (Rebecca) was punctual and fun to be around. The bar prices are fair too. Thanks you all for some great memory's. I will be back at some point. Alex.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

Not really clean, staff not so helpfull and Location isn't the best, 20 min walk to city approximately. Only bonus: free washing machine

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic Hostel , perfect location, friendly staff , perfect mix of chill out , work out and party. Free Wifi and laundry. Discounted theme park packages available from reception. Loved every second and was sad to leave !!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback