X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort Reviews

2837 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
753 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Extended my stay but an extra 3 nights as it is just a great place to stay and the staff and other backpackers there was so welcoming and friendly. Thank you to Lee (the manager) for managing to squeeze me in the extra 3 nights such a great guy. They have a free bus that runs into the city every hour which it great and the female bus driver (Rebecca) was punctual and fun to be around. The bar prices are fair too. Thanks you all for some great memory's. I will be back at some point. Alex.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic Hostel , perfect location, friendly staff , perfect mix of chill out , work out and party. Free Wifi and laundry. Discounted theme park packages available from reception. Loved every second and was sad to leave !!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

good, only a little bit hot in summer as there is no aircoditioner


97%

Great place to stay!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel with lots of fun organised activities, would strongly recommend to anyone!

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Typical back packer hostel. Nice atmosphere. Was just passing through, suited my needs. If this is the deciding comment if you should book a bed or not.... I'd Say book it! :)

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

An excellent hostel which I would thoroughly recommend. Run by backpackers for backpackers. Facilities are amazing, staff are sociable, and with wifi only being in the reception area it meant it got everyone talking. Organised nights out, volleyball game etc. Room was perfect! Ten minute walk from the city, we went surig Schoolies but I'm not much of a party person, this was out the way and ideal so it was very quiet at night! Excellent place!


80%

This backpackers is only a twenty minute walk to Broad beach, so if the hustle and bustle of Surfer's Paradise is not really your scene Broad beach offers a wide range of dinning, is close to Jupiter's Casino and Pacific Fair Mall. The backpackers its self offers a shuttle into Surfer's Paradise and there is a tram right outside so getting around is nice and easy.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had so much fun , such an amazing astmpshopere with friendly staff and a perfect location. Definetely will be back here in the near future :)

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Originally booked only 3 nights stay but booked a further 3 nights when I got there. Lots to do, bar crawls twice a week which were good to meet other backpackers. Volly ball matches every night with free beer for the winning team! Really nice pool to chill out in, a hoop if you like a little basketball, would definitely stay here again!


57%

The TV room was very unclean and not hygienic. Facilities to make tea and coffee was not enough. There should be a separate proper tea pantry. Space was not adequate to accommodate the crowd and hence compacted. Rooms were gloomy and dark .

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome staff. Loved the backpackers they were very friendly and even had nights out with a bunch of then. The property was very clean and inviting. They always clean the hostel once a new roommate arrives which is excellent andd peace of mind for cleanliness. Will stay again for sure and it was a 15 minute walk to the city with a free shuttle bus.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The localisation of the backpacker was great, the staff awesome, the room was also great

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We rent a twin room, which was good that it was a unit and we only need to share kitchen, toilet and fridge with two more housemates. Clean and private enough.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Good staff, friendly


83%

The bar tender was excellent and super friendly for a pom.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location just outside the main bit of surfers paradise, opposite tram stop 'florida gardens' (or about a 10-15 minute walk). the private room were in a shared appartmwnt with only one other room, which was great. there's a pool, bar, free washing machine...the only annoying thing was that you had to pay a $5 deposit to use crockery. would definitely recommend!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is amazing, i come hear with my girlfriend its very secure, you have meny things and activities to do. Staff are always for you. Exelent point near averithing. The hostel is always clean there is people working all day on it.. pool exelent. Very very nice hostel. I realy recommend it. If some day i come back to surfers, i will stay at this hostel for sure.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good hostel for a couple of night's stay. Free hourly shuttle bus into town was useful. Rooms and bathrooms could have been cleaner.


74%

Good: Clean, Free shuttle bus every hour // Propreté, bus gratuit toutes les heures Not good: volatile/moody employees, they don't know anything they can't explain how the go card works, Free wifi only from 7h30 am to 10 pm it's very slowly and it works only close to the reception. Personnel pas très chaleureux, lunatique et ils ne connaissent ou ils ont la flemme d'expliquer comment la vie marche ici comme la go card ils n'ont pas été capable d'expliquer certain fonctionnements

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Surfers Paradise Hostels

Please give us your feedback