Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfing Etxea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 331 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Surfing Etxea Located at C/ Zabaleta Nº32. Principal derecha, 1, San Sebastian.
Surfing Etxea
Spain
San Sebastian 20002 C/ Zabaleta Nº32. Principal derecha, 1
92% 331
43.3248078 -1.9736988
Surfing Etxea
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.7

Nice hostel with an amazing crew! The location is perfect for surfing, the new bar they just opened up is really charming!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2016
4.6

Though clean, modern, and in a good location, this hostel had MANY negatives. Breakfast was sliced white bread, instant coffee and bran flakes. No alcohol permitted on premises (among other rules) with threaten to "throw you out" with fine of 100-500 euros. No activities planned, no family atmosphere, SO loud at night and hot (no ac), toilets didn't work well. We weren't allowed to stay in the hostel for even 1hr after checkout, after paying combined 500 euros for our stay they made us leave

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.4

We had a great stay at Surfing Etxea, the hostel is small and has a great atmosphere. Great for a solo traveller. The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the surfing beach and 15 minute walk to the old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
9.7

We loved Surfing Extea! Amazing staff and awesome vibes. Our room was next to the common area unfortunately so we heard people talking late into the night. Very clean! Alex was amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

Alex and Chris were the best! Friendly knowledgable and inclusive. Great location, good atmosphere because it's small!! Highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
10.0

I've never felt so at home as this place. It's small enough to where you'll have the opportunity of meeting everyone in he hostel and making the best of friends while staying here! From taking surf lessons with each other to going out at night and eating Pinxtos with each other! I would come back just for the people you get to meet! The staff Alex and the crew are super chill, helpful and friendly! The bar down below is a plus as well! Would definitely be coming back here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.1

Great small hostel and super easy to meet people as a solo traveller. However 11pm 'quite' rule not strictly enforced by some workers so I would keep that in mind if you were after a quiet sleep. Rooms get pretty hot with no aircon. Other than that I had a great stay with very knowledgable and friendly staff. Two minutes from beach and 15 minute walk from bus station to airport or train station.10 minutes, if that, to the main town. Highly recommend. No drinking rule gets people out & about.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Great chilled little hostel if all you want to do is surf and explore the city. There's no party atmosphere but you are in San Seb so the moment you step out the door there's plenty of fun to be had. Loved the people I met at the hostel and the staff were great. Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.1

Loved Surfing Extea! Met really amazing people, the hostel had a great atmosphere for that. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hostel itself was well designed and clean. Facilities were great. It was a fair walk from La Concha beach (maybe 15-20m) and about 10m from the old town, but 2m from the surfing beach La Zurriola. Would definitely stay again/recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.7

Far and away my most enjoyable hostel that I've stayed at. A 2 minute walk from the beach and 10 minutes from the Old Town it is in a perfect location. Alex was incredibly nice and always willing to help out. Only 26 beds in the hostel so you're bound to mingle with most people. Bonus points for the waterproof wristbands to get in and out of the hostel. GENIUS idea. It is slightly expenive but 100% worth it. Only downside would be lack of locks on doors but had no issues.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.