Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfing Etxea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Wonderful hostel in an awesome town. The people were excellent and I can't wait to go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.7

We quite enjoyed our time at Surfing Etxea! The faculties were mostly very clean, with good, sturdy beds with large, lockable drawers, however oddly placed power plugs. However, they had added an extra bed, and this guest did not have a locker. Due to the location of the reception, there was minimal contact with the staff, however they were very helpful in organising a taxi for us. The activities board was a little tricky to understand at times. Good location, though, close to the beach + town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.7

Surfing Etxea is a fantastic hostel for several reasons: Close to the beach, you can sign up for surfing lessons, there is a great community feel, and the staff is very kind. I will definitely stay here again when I return to San Sebastian!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.1

A bit pricey but still a nice, cozy and intimate hostel in a very lively and convenient location. Very social and easy to meet other travellers. Try their rum smoothies at thevbar downstairs. No laundry services, cooking / alcohol allowed in the kitchen / common room. And be warned it's 15€ to leave luggage in the hostel on check out day. Bit odd to charge for such a basic hostel amenity but aside from that, I highly recommend this hostel for the social factor alone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

The best place and people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

best hostel i've ever been more of a house than a hostel great staff david and aritz at the bar next-door are great fun and good for advice. the staff arranged for us to rent bikes and sup boards and took us out to the island best time i've ever had place is clean as can be bathrooms are nice and tons of space 1 huge other has 2 toilets 2 showers I love this place and intend to be back many more times. and when you can try the homemade banana bread in the cafe... so good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.7

Etxea could easily be a home away from home. Vibrant smiles from all the staff who go out of there way to make sure your trip is one you won't forget. The SUP tour we done was by far the best day inhale had of all my travels. The atmosphere in the streets and the two minute walk to the beach and old town make it the ideal location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
9.4

Great friendly staff who introduced us to the local vibes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Cool hostel. Great location - Gros is a cool neighborhood. Cool, friendly staff. Sometimes the dorms can feel like there are a lot of people staying in one area, but I never felt cramped or uncomfortable. Highly recommend!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever stayed at, two minutes' walk from the beach and it's clearly run with love from the staff. It's basically a large apartment turned into a hostel - the dorms aren't huge but they're big enough, the staff are lovely and it's small enough that you can't help but meet new people . Facilities are wonderful, brilliant if you surf (or if you don't!) and the bracelet keycard is genius. Limited kitchen (which will change soon) and no drinking in hostel but otherwise perfect!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.