Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfing Etxea

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 377 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jun 2017
9.4

Cool hostel. Great location - Gros is a cool neighborhood. Cool, friendly staff. Sometimes the dorms can feel like there are a lot of people staying in one area, but I never felt cramped or uncomfortable. Highly recommend!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jun 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've ever stayed at, two minutes' walk from the beach and it's clearly run with love from the staff. It's basically a large apartment turned into a hostel - the dorms aren't huge but they're big enough, the staff are lovely and it's small enough that you can't help but meet new people . Facilities are wonderful, brilliant if you surf (or if you don't!) and the bracelet keycard is genius. Limited kitchen (which will change soon) and no drinking in hostel but otherwise perfect!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

nicest hostel i've ever stayed in!! super clean and the staff was awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Surfing Extea was hands down one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in. The beds were tall and sturdy. Bathrooms were shared between sexes and very clean. The living area and terrace outside was perfect for hanging out and meeting other people in the hostel. And the cafe-bar downstairs was the best place to start/end a day. Josefina and Sol were so helpful and always around to answer questions or just to have a chat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
10.0

This is hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed in and even recommended it to others through the rest of my travels. It was all redone and incredibly clean. The staff are so helpful and nice. The magnetic strip bracelet keys instead of a card is so nice especially if you are going to go surf or swim. They have great connections with places in town for renting bikes and boards. The atmosphere that is promoted here is also so good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jun 2017
9.4

Stuff super nice and welcoming. They are also very helpful in providing tips on San Sebastian and around and also when I asked for an extra night, they arranged my stay very quickly! The house is clean, rooms cosy and beds comfy! Surfing lessons are not organized in advance but if you wanna take them the stuff will organize them for you - also trying to find someone else interested to take a group lessons. I would definitely go back..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
10.0

Lovely lovely place! Cozy, homey atmosphere with everything you could possibly need in probably the most ideal location in the city. I came here as a solo female traveler and had a very easy time meeting others. The place is very well-decorated and clean as can be.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th May 2017
9.1

I didn't want to leave this hostel!! It is more of a guest house than a hostel. Very friendly chilled staff and very well located. 100% stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • NadiaMiree
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

100% recommend this place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a dorm but the beds were very comfortable and there was a tonne of room for packs in lockable under bed storage. Place was very clean and showers amazing. Also highly recommend popping down to the bar downstairs for a drink before starting your night and most definitely back there for coffee and toast (like €1.50 or something ridiculous) for breakfast. The irritating thing is that you have to pay for luggage storage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.7

Omg. I'm in love with this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.