Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
5.1

When we arrived at Surfside, it was unattended with the office door wide open. We rang the bell as advised and waited approximately 10 minutes. No one was around and only 1 car seemed to be in the car park. We were very uneasy with this as the place looked very cluttered and old. We did not feel comfortable waiting any longer and chose to leave. As we left I checked online for their refund policy which stated 20% charge. We called to cancel and was informed we had to pay full price. :(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
8.6

Loved Robyn, she was such a sweetheart. The location is great with awesome views. The place is charming with a cozy atmosphere. Highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
8.6

Best for the value of your money. Would love to stay again if get a chance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amandabergan
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
18th Apr 2017
6.9

Reasonable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.3

Robyn is the nicest host!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.9

This hostel is one of the cutest and quirkiest we've stayed in. The lady that runs the place is lovely and kindly put us in a twin room, even though we booked a dorm. The location is perfect and has stunning views from the main room. The inside is quite dated but we loved it! There was even a working record player. The kitchen has everything you need to cook. The place was clean and very quiet. Would definitely stay here and again and recommend for a nights stay when doing the Great Ocean Road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

really cool, something a little different! robyn was lovely and very helpful, definitely reccomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.1

This hostel felt like I was staying at my grandmas house. The hostel is older and the decor and beds appears outdated. The kitchen was an absolute disaster at the end of the night. When I checked it the morning it was much cleaner. Okay hostel for a night stay. Bathroom was renovated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ramast-hostelworld
  • Egypt, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Mar 2017
10.0

Nice chilled back hostel, small but has many bathrooms.. Super friendly old lady running the hostel. If u r doing great ocean walk, staying there gives you a 100m or so headstart

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.7

Good hostel for those doing Great Ocean Road. Big old kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.