Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 224 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 224 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
Surfside Backpacker Located at Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street, , Apollo Bay.
Surfside Backpacker
Australia
Apollo Bay Victoria 3233 Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street
84% 224
-38.7620480 143.6708950
Surfside Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.1

Pros: Good location on the edge of town and short stroll to the beach. Lots of parking available. Friendly and helpful front desk. Great cooking facilities. Cons: Little security, no lockers in room, and room was left unlocked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Very relaxed atmosphere, really felt like we were on holidays. The staff were really friendly and gave helpful information about the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Nov 2016
8.9

I loved this hostel! Felt like a home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Nov 2016
8.3

Been there with 4 others on a great ocean road trip. Was a good stay good kitchen and nice beds. Very friendly staff forgot my external drive there and staff was great while returning it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

We were welcomed by the lovely Robin immediately, and she told us where we could lock our bicycles closer to our room (we were cycling Great Ocean Road).She also recommended nearby shops and restaurants. The buildings, kitchen and communal area which has a beautiful view of the ocean are very homely. Though we didn't use them, there were good value laundry facilities available. A general good atmosphere helped by the homeliness of the place! A highly recommended and comfortable stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
8.3

Robin is very friendly and helpful. Beds are nice and rooms are well kept. Bathrooms could have been cleaner, but overall great stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Oct 2016
10.0

Absolute gem of a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Oct 2016
10.0

A wonderful stay! Everything you need in a hostel plus stunning views! Great kitchen, showers, rooms and amazing staff. Thank you!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
8.9

The hostel is a bit old-fashioned looking but is run by a very sweet lady who gives a lot of great advice. The hostel is very clean and has a great little area for chilling out and looking out at a gorgeous view. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. The owner said she saw koalas running around early in the morning so keep your eyes open for koala spotting!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
9.7

Most lovely woman owns this place, she gives you a personalised guided tour on arrival and still does everything by pen and paper. Very cute place, you can drink in the common room as late as you want with the other 15-20 guests. Make your own entertainment or go to bed early its up to you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.