Hostelworld.com

Surfside Backpacker

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
Surfside Backpacker Located at Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street, , Apollo Bay.
Surfside Backpacker
Australia
Apollo Bay Victoria 3233 Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street
80% 194
-38.7620480 143.6708950
Surfside Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.3

Quite a cute little place, but a bit of an old and warn feel to it and its was pretty dead when we stayed for a night. However the staff were friendly, there was a good kitchen space and its good enough if you're looking for somewhere to stop along the GOR, we would book again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
8.0

Robyn is lovely and very helpful. Nice lounge with warm fire and plenty of things to keep you occupied on a quiet evening. Bathrooms were not the cleanest or most modern I've come across on the road but could be worse

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

We went in May so it was quiet but a great spot to stay when doing the Great Ocean Road. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
10.0

Went to Apollo Bay for the weekend to run the Great Ocean Road Marathon. Loved my overnight stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.4

Really friendly staff and great beachside feel. Every kitchen facility you could want, pool table, free wifi, heaters. Great stop on the great ocean road and walking distance of great cafes/ restaurants. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.4

Great stopping point for Great Ocean Road! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
2.6

Great laid back hostel, , enjoyed my stay here would certainly return. The lady who runs this hostel is amazing

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
6.6

While areas of the hostel are very outdated the vibe fits the small quaint town. A good place to stop along the great ocean road but not fit for a long stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
8.6

Lovely lady running the place. 2 huge kitchens, wifi, hot showers, good location. Can't complain. I would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
8.0

This is a basic hostel but comfortable and a great location a short walk from the beach. They have two kitchens, free BBQ and lounge area. Comfortable beds and newly refurbished toilets/showers. Perfect for a short stay in this small coastal town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.