Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Backpacker

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2017
10.0

really cool, something a little different! robyn was lovely and very helpful, definitely reccomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.1

This hostel felt like I was staying at my grandmas house. The hostel is older and the decor and beds appears outdated. The kitchen was an absolute disaster at the end of the night. When I checked it the morning it was much cleaner. Okay hostel for a night stay. Bathroom was renovated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.7

Good hostel for those doing Great Ocean Road. Big old kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
7.7

Surfside Backpackers was a good hostel for the one night my friend and I were traveling Great Ocean Road. The facility was definitely old and dusty, but otherwise clean. We had a pleasant experience with the host, who was very accommodating. I would recommend it for a short trip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Feb 2017
7.1

As a place to sleep for the night on a long journey, it suited just fine. Nestled in an old cluster of buildings full of charm and worn decor, you'll find this place stuck in a generation past, where the only visitors are those with their minds already on the next day's adventure. Nothing fancy to boast of, it's a community of fellow travelers seeking a bed to stretch their legs after hours of sitting and driving the GOR.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Great little place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.4

Very chilled out hostel about 10 - 15mins walk into Apollo Bay. Had great cooking facilities and a nice garden. We had a private room which was small but comfy. Shared bathrooms were clean enough but could've been a bit cleaner. Definitely good value for money when looking at prices of other places in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.0

The hostel was clean and the owner was helpful. The atmosphere wasnt our cup of tea. I'd recommend it to 18 - 21 year olds, if you're ten years older then this place will prove a suitable pit stop on your great ocean road adventure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Great location and old school backpackers with cosy furnishings. Everything was nice and clean and the host was very welcoming. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.0

Great location just 2 mins walk from the Main Street and beach. Hostel was a little run down and mismatched with the bedding. General surfaces etc were clean but there were lots of cobwebs and dead flies on other places. No lockers in rooms and wifi did not reach the room either. Owner was really friendly and kitchen facilities were really good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.