Hostelworld.com

Surfside Backpacker

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.8
Surfside Backpacker Located at Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street, , Apollo Bay.
Surfside Backpacker
Australia
Apollo Bay Victoria 3233 Corner Great Ocean Road & Gambier Street
80% 186
-38.7620480 143.6708950
Surfside Backpacker
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
9.4

Really friendly staff and great beachside feel. Every kitchen facility you could want, pool table, free wifi, heaters. Great stop on the great ocean road and walking distance of great cafes/ restaurants. Would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
9.4

Great stopping point for Great Ocean Road! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
2.6

Great laid back hostel, , enjoyed my stay here would certainly return. The lady who runs this hostel is amazing

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
8.6

Lovely lady running the place. 2 huge kitchens, wifi, hot showers, good location. Can't complain. I would go back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2016
8.0

This is a basic hostel but comfortable and a great location a short walk from the beach. They have two kitchens, free BBQ and lounge area. Comfortable beds and newly refurbished toilets/showers. Perfect for a short stay in this small coastal town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jan 2016
8.6

Cool laid back vibe with a beachy feel! Friendly staff that give you a tour around the many common areas. Its not immaculate but well worth the price :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Dec 2015
7.4

Super nice hostel, directly located at the great ocean road, some small houses that make up a hostel! Lots of space outside and in the kitchen/chill out room , though our 6 bed dorm was pretty small and not a lot of space to open your luggage. I loved the peaceful atmosphere between the people, still would have liked to find a locker to store my belongings safely. There were enough kitchen facilities , but had to wait several times for using the bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2015
8.6

A very lovely hostel. Feels like home.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Nov 2015
9.7

I can't say enough good things about this place. It is in the perfect location, the staff are so friendly and welcoming, the atmosphere is great. Loved how the dorms were set up, especially the fireplace and the record player. Thanks for having us, I have already told my friends they have to stay there. Also, at night there were koalas around the property. So cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.