Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 581 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 581 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 5.2
  • Facilities 5.7
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers Located at 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach, Sydney.
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales nsw 2026 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach
64% 581
-33.8904743 151.2730479
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
6.0

I never write reviews, but this place really made me angry. The internet is slow unless you pay additional money which is not mentioned anywhere in their description. You have to pay an additional 3$ fee for the bedding stuff which they only tell you once you have given your 30$ deposit for the key and you are casually informed that you will only get 27$ back. Only has good reviews because, if you do so, you get free fast internet. Don't get me started on the tiny cockroaches everywhere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.4

Surfside made our first week in Australia perfect! From the get-go the staff is friendly and beyond helpful. They go out of their way to make sure you have a good time—cooking dinner for everybody a few nights a week, asking about your day when you walk through, and always making themselves available for any questions you may have. The free surfboard and skateboard rentals is awesome, the location is perfect, and the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jun 2016
4.3

The room is dirty...and you need to pay money for clean bed sheet! Then you need another $30 for key deposit! The night was full of noise and yelling and people staying long term were inconsiderate! Wouldn't come again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • frankymuro
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th May 2016
5.4

Bad place

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
6.0

Positives: about 1 minute walk to the beach; most of the staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately this hostel caters too much to long term residents and if you only stay for a few days it's pretty awful. The kitchen is inadequate, small and dirty with nothing to dry with. Also, what kind of a place needs a deposit for a saucepan! Shower locks didn't work and noise regulations were completely ignored. charge $3 for bedding but won't tell you until after booking. Felt unwelcome and awkward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th May 2016
6.9

Good location and security but more of a workers hostel than a travellers hostel. Reception closes during the afternoon until 5 so no cooking facilities as you had to leave a deposit for a frying pan. Free surfboards which is a big plus however lacking in atmosphere at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
3.4

Being so close in proximity of an amazing beach and great location of cafes Is the only good thing about this hostel. The creepy, atmosphere overshadowed everything else. Not particularly clean. Staff cut corners in service as a norm. Left with lots of my intimate and sleep hygiene possessions gone. Spent more money dealing with the effects of the atmosphere of living here than I would have if I'd spent more in another hostel. As a Female traveller I felt it was dangerous.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Stayed in room 5 for five days and it was great! Staff was helpful and easy going and enjoyed the atmosphere hanging out with everybody.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
5.7

This issue with this place is the guy who runs it & the fact he bribes you for 5 star reviews which made me feel cheated. He's terribly mannered, runs around hot tempered and nickel & dimes you for everything. Internet isn't free & once you've paid for it, only works in the breakfast area where a non-stop English drink off is happening nightly. I stayed in a 12-bed dorm which was filthy. The tenants are loud & obnoxious. Who asks $30 for a key deposit? felt very hostile for a hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2016
4.6

Beware of the manager

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.