Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 657 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th May 2017
4.6

You have to pay for wi-fi which is one of the most bizarre things i've ever heard of and the toilets are an absolute disaster.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous1234
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
4.9

Bog standard hostel with bare minimum facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2017
5.4

The hostel should have been good, considering the location and bulding. However on arrival hidden in the small print they take $3 of your deposit for sheets, which personally I think is bullshit as we only found out after committing a deposit on hostel world (we chose it based on the price). All the kitchen stuff was pretty grim and the "clean" cutlery was covered in ants... It was a shame as with better management could have been really good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
7.1

It's close to the beach and not a total craphole. I somehow got put into an all male room though and they didn't have anywhere else for me to go.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
4.6

If you don't mind showering & peeing with roaches or having them crawl on the table in the common room while you're eating then you won't mind staying here. If it wasn't for the awesome location I wouldn't have lasted 3nights. The wifi wasn't working the whole time and they "had no idea why." the lady who cleans the bathroom in the morning was throwing buckets of bleach water that splashed everywhere while I was trying to brush my teeth. Don't stay here! You're better off sleeping on the beach

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2017
6.6

The wifi is a bit of an issue as you only receive 2 hours free per stay but it doesn't actually last the 2 hours. Therefore if you are there for a couple of days you need to buy data, this was a bit of an inconvenience. There seemed to be a lot of drama at the hostel during our stay with girls fighting to the small hours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
3.4

Rude, condescending staff members. Made you feel very unwelcome. Arrived at 4pm and front desk was closed, seemed very layed back and at their own pace. Place was also very dirty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.9

Great cheap accommodation, great staff, atmosphere was happy and chilled. Only negative were the bathrooms, they were in need of cleaning, perhaps providing a rubbish bin would eliminate paper towel and general rubbish being left around. Otherwise a good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

Brilliant atmosphere, everyone gets together and drinks and makes you feel welcome! Staff are lovely!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed here for some of nights and have no idea why this place has not even better ratings.. the stuff is amazing (wanted to stay an extra night in the end, but they were already booked out, so they let me sleep in the tv room), their is a clean and big open kitchen were you can prepare your own food and an amazing backyard, where everybody chills at night. also amazing for meeting people, cause its so nice to hang out the location is SO good. Best street with cafes, shops, 1min to the ocean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.