Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers Located at 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach, Sydney.
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales nsw 2026 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach
66% 623
-33.8904743 151.2730479
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
4.9

The rooms stank of swetty feet, were about 40 degrees celcius and the beds were so old and knackered that you could feel the boards you were trying to sleep on. Could hardly sleep there. Also, in the girls bathroom one tap was loose and it was not clean even though it was cleaned practically every day.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
2.0

I couldnt travel due to health problems and do y told them two weeks before the check inn date and that they told me they re sold the beds they dont whant to give me my money back (they charge me the full stay in anticipation) I think that that is steeling from me.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
8.9

First Hostel I've stayed in, was one of the best few days I've ever had. Awesome staff, awesome people and comfy beds

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
9.4

There were some issues with other guest making too much noise at 4am and the manager could not be more apologetic and handled the situation really well by asking them to leave. I felt welcome at the hostel and the staff were very helpful. The location could not have been better. I would recommend this surfs use to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
4.3

The fan in my room wasn't working. Staff didn't attempt to fix it. Very cramped and not the cleanest.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
7.1

Good location a few mins walk from Bondi beach. Cool atmosphere for young travellers! Rooms aren't great, abit smelly and worn out, mattresses could be replaced. Storage for belongings and suitcase/backpacks could be better. Bathrooms are decent and modern! Great outdoors suntrap and good kitchen and bench eating/socialising area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, close to the beach and cafes etc. The people staying at the hostel were all friendly and, whilst communal areas (inside and outside) were not overly inspiring, people gathered there for drinks in the evening which I liked. Reception shut at certain times which I found a bit annoying as nobody there a couple of times when I needed. Hot, powerful showers. Small lockers on landing. Kitchen small for the number of people there. Bunks wobbly, but comfy. Decor could do with an upgrade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
6.0

The hostel has an amazing location! But thats all... The bed is avarage The toilet, super small and super hot at all times No charger points close to the bed You can not use hair drier, otherwise will come the fire alarm and you will have to pay a fine @@ No lockers in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel has a real family feel and it is very easy to make friends and feel welcome. It is also a great location. The showers and bathrooms and cleaned well everyday. I encountered no problems, yet some people who checked whilst I was staying there had no bed as it was overbooked and had to sleep in the TV room which I felt was unacceptable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
6.9

Really young and party hostel. No locker in the room. Have to pay a big deposit for the room and another deposit if you want a locker. Hidden fees of 3$ for "cleaning" the beds after you (eventhough you have to bring all you bed sheets downstairs at check ou) no free wifi. No wifi in the room even if you pay for it. Just decent, but not a lot of options in Bondi beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.