Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 607 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 607 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.1
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers Located at 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach, Sydney.
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales nsw 2026 35a Hall St, Bondi Beach
69% 607
-33.8904743 151.2730479
Surfside Bondi Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
9.4

There were some issues with other guest making too much noise at 4am and the manager could not be more apologetic and handled the situation really well by asking them to leave. I felt welcome at the hostel and the staff were very helpful. The location could not have been better. I would recommend this surfs use to friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
4.3

The fan in my room wasn't working. Staff didn't attempt to fix it. Very cramped and not the cleanest.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
7.1

Good location a few mins walk from Bondi beach. Cool atmosphere for young travellers! Rooms aren't great, abit smelly and worn out, mattresses could be replaced. Storage for belongings and suitcase/backpacks could be better. Bathrooms are decent and modern! Great outdoors suntrap and good kitchen and bench eating/socialising area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, close to the beach and cafes etc. The people staying at the hostel were all friendly and, whilst communal areas (inside and outside) were not overly inspiring, people gathered there for drinks in the evening which I liked. Reception shut at certain times which I found a bit annoying as nobody there a couple of times when I needed. Hot, powerful showers. Small lockers on landing. Kitchen small for the number of people there. Bunks wobbly, but comfy. Decor could do with an upgrade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
6.0

The hostel has an amazing location! But thats all... The bed is avarage The toilet, super small and super hot at all times No charger points close to the bed You can not use hair drier, otherwise will come the fire alarm and you will have to pay a fine @@ No lockers in the room

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.0

The hostel has a real family feel and it is very easy to make friends and feel welcome. It is also a great location. The showers and bathrooms and cleaned well everyday. I encountered no problems, yet some people who checked whilst I was staying there had no bed as it was overbooked and had to sleep in the TV room which I felt was unacceptable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Oct 2016
6.9

Really young and party hostel. No locker in the room. Have to pay a big deposit for the room and another deposit if you want a locker. Hidden fees of 3$ for "cleaning" the beds after you (eventhough you have to bring all you bed sheets downstairs at check ou) no free wifi. No wifi in the room even if you pay for it. Just decent, but not a lot of options in Bondi beach.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • benjaminsinclair6053
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Oct 2016
2.0

Terrible hostel. Hidden fees for sheets. Cockroaches in the room. Cigarette butts on the floor. Very noisy. They give you free wifi if you submit a 5* review, so the rating on hostel world is inflated.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Sep 2016
7.4

Overall a decent hostel. Bedrooms were quite nice and clean, kitchen was clean but got a bit busy at meal times. Lots of free stuff to rent, e.g surf gear, however it is in bad condition and they charge a fortune if you break/lose it. Location is great, close to the beach and not far from shops. "Free wifi if you rate us 5 stars" may lead to some disproportionate ratings.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.9

Nice hostel. Stayed 2 nights. Ping pong, basket ball net, surf board/ bod board free. Make sure to bring at least 50 dollar deposit to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.