Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.9
Rating 471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 3.4
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
5.9
Rating 471 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 5.2
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 3.4
  • Facilities 5.5
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers Located at 186 Arden Street, Coogee, Sydney.
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales nsw 2034 186 Arden Street, Coogee
59% 471
-33.9200017 151.2569761
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Sep 2016
3.4

DO NOT GO THERE. Expect 3$ cash more per night for 'cleaning' that he will take from The breakfast is supposed to be at 8 but at 8h30 I had to go work and he was not yet here. Breakfast : cereals but you should buy your own milk. Some bed had insects that bite you, building workers had to stop working to recover from it. You can not let your bagages some hours checkout ( even though they have enough space ) you need to pay for it. You need to pay for wifi or use macdo's. Stolen wallet

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
8.6

It could have been a little cleaner and it would be nice to have free wifi and a towel (or linen) included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
3.7

The Wall was loose in our room the staff was rude when we were checking in and the kitchen was so dirty I didn't want to use it. The toilets in the girls bathroom didn't have any locks and there were cockroaches.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2016
7.4

Fantastic location! Staff were friendly. Some parts were a little dirty. Our window wouldn't close and that was a concern for safety but otherwise a pretty good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2016
4.3

Very poor cleanliness, negative atmosphere and it had a large number of permanent "workers" living in the dorms. Guests partied to all hours of the morning and myself and friends did not feel welcome or safe at times. Not an enjoyable backpacker experience at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Apr 2016
6.3

The backpacker was really disgusting !! sand everywhere, lock broken .... I only recommend the location

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
6.3

It was in a great location and the guy who let us in was really nice. Otherwise it was kind of grimy, and SO loud at night. The girl at the front desk was also not friendly. I'd stay in an Air BNB if you want any sleep and a shower with a door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
4.3

The staff were extremely rude, we stood for 10mins being ignored at reception. No lights and full of cockroaches in ladies bathroom we told staff members but nothing was done.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
27th Mar 2016
5.7

Great location, pretty horrible experience. Rooms were stuffed up upon check in so the private room we booked ended up having to share with multiple other people. Our $140 bond took over 3 weeks to be refunded! Very disappointing! Will not stay there again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2016
6.6

Got upgraded to a four bed room and had the room to myself for most of my stay at $22 a night which was great! The staff were quite rude howevrr the location was awesome and id deffinatley reccomend the hostel, just don't have high expectations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.