Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.0
Good 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.0
Good 496 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 5.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 5.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2017
7.1

Chilled hostel in a great location. Lots of long term residents but they were all fun to be around! The staff were super friendly and helpful and really helped my mate and I out when we thought we were gonna be street sleeping 😂 Getting on and off top bunk without a ladder made for a few laughs every morning and evening! I'd defiantly stay again if I'm ever back in Sydney. Coogee was a nice area away from city madness.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Feb 2017
5.1

Not very clean, too much noise the night and the kitchen and share space are too small

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Very nice friendly staff. Best location right in front of the beach. Not the cleanest but very cheap so can't expect the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
6.3

It's a shame about the hygien and the bed bug infestation. The security is poor although because everyone is so made back it's very low risk. It is the dirtiest hostel I have stayed in and I have bites all over me it very disgusting.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
3.1

This was by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. I booked a 6 bed female dorm. When I arrived my bed was 1 bunk bed in the middle of a common area which was shared between 18 girls. I was woken up every hour of the night by 1 of the 18 girls coming into the room. The bathroom was filthy. There was no AC. I found a cockroach by my belongings. The reception is closed more then it is open. The staff is very unfriendly. The ONLY good thing about this place is the location. DONT STAY HERE!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Dec 2016
9.4

Had a really good stay here over Christmas, good for meeting people the location is great and the staff are really chatty. It's not the cleanest of places but you can't knock their efforts it's cleaned daily. The place doesn't deserve its hostel world rating. Although $3 for 1 hour wifi is ridiculous but you don't need it. Kitchen is well equipped but very small but it is a small hostel. Defiantly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
7.1

Super ideal location right next to the beach, the hostel has everything you need. I enjoyed my stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

THANKS! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Nov 2016
4.3

Pretty much a dump. Stay here for no more than a couple of nights if you want to check out Coogee/Bondi - the location looking right over Coogee Beach is great. Aside from that the staff were very grumpy, the place was dirty af, no air con, a lot of things broken or falling apart etc. Fairly cheap, but it would have to be for what you're paying for o_o

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Nov 2016
5.4

On the website says Free Breakfast , but didn't have any (not sure if I would eat there anyway). The all place stinks and was very dirty. Great location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.