Hostelworld.com

Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 4.1
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.7
  • Security 5.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 5.3
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 3.8
  • Facilities 4.1
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers Located at 186 Arden Street, Coogee, Sydney.
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales nsw 2034 186 Arden Street, Coogee
53% 459
-33.9200017 151.2569761
Surfside Coogee Beach Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
6.3

It was in a great location and the guy who let us in was really nice. Otherwise it was kind of grimy, and SO loud at night. The girl at the front desk was also not friendly. I'd stay in an Air BNB if you want any sleep and a shower with a door.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
4.3

The staff were extremely rude, we stood for 10mins being ignored at reception. No lights and full of cockroaches in ladies bathroom we told staff members but nothing was done.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2016
6.6

Got upgraded to a four bed room and had the room to myself for most of my stay at $22 a night which was great! The staff were quite rude howevrr the location was awesome and id deffinatley reccomend the hostel, just don't have high expectations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Mar 2016
3.4

I walked in and walked right out to cancel this hostel. It is BY FAR the dirtiest hostel I've ever seen. This "6 bed" dorm that I had booked was inside of a 12 bed dorm that had another so called "6 bed" dorms in it. Since there were no doors it was basically a 24 bed dorm. There was so much food, empty beer cans and spilled alcohol all over the floor, I couldn't even find a spot to put my suitcase down. Staff is unfriendly, ignorant and clearly not aware of how bad this place is.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2016
6.0

The location is perfect if you want to be close to everything, but probably not so perfect if you actually want to sleep since it is very close to the road and people are very loud. The staff and people staying there were friendly. But it was really hard to sleep with all the commotion going on all night, the road, and the girl sleeping in the bottom bunk moving all night... So for one night it was ok, but way too expensive.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2016
4.0

This place was chaos! No noise control, over stuffed rooms full of sand, they got my booking wrong I had to correct them.. The common room is on the top floor so people were loud on top of the rooms..it was a disaster! Oh and a man stayed in the all woman's room on a Saturday night!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
2.6

Very dirty! Internet doesnt working and payed!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
6.0

free breakfast is cereals, you have to pay for milk, cleaning fee for sheets, sand from the beach is everywhere, so you end up sleeping on a bed with sand. I have travelled a lot and these are the worst beds I have ever slept on. Foam mattresses with bed slats(most of the time not enough, so it feels like your sleeping on train tracks. No fans in the room, so it is unbearably hot, no lockers in room. And they added 2 beds to my already crowded room on Saturday night. Staff hot or cold.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
2.0

Didn't end up staying there as it was so bellow all expectations, would not recommend to anyone!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2016
4.6

Huge BED BUG problem. When I arrived they had to clear out an entire room of people to do cleaning because the infestation was so bad. I saw one guy literally covered head to toe in bites. The toilets are dirty and the rooms are hot, cluttered and small. I usually never write negative reviews, but this was by far the worst hostel I have stayed in the past 5 months of traveling. Only two good things: the incredible location and the great people you meet during the nonstop party.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.