X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Surprise Backpackers Reviews

110 Vauxhall bridge Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
512 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

- Girl in my room was mad at me since she booked an all female room. receptionist joked about the cleanliness of the shower room upon arrival. Don't add breakfast to your stay, not worth it. Lugagge room = pigeon palace. matras lies on a plank, pillow and blanket are synthetic, I had lipstick or something on my sheets. showers were raggedy. old people live there. OLD AND BUSTED + enough plugs for everyone in the rooms +nice neighborhoud

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Very small room, should have less beds. Showers and bathrooms durty.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The place has not good infrastructure to work as a hostel. The shower room and toilettes are very messy and the cleaning isn't well done. The kitchen is bareble, but should be more organized and cleaned. The rooms are small and the beds are not very resistent for three people sleep without shaking its structure and making noises.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

There was mice all over the hostel. I went in the kitchen to get water and there was mice eating food of the floor. In my room, you could hear the mice running around. In the morning, I told reception that there is mice all over the hostel, she didn't seem shocked nor surprised at this. The receptionist was unattractive, overweight, grumpy and rude even huffing at two spanish girls asking her to speak slowly. The council have a duty to close the hostel for health reasons. It is unfit to trade.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice little place with great beds. Very near tubes and barclays bikes and bus stops. Near main tourist sites.


49%

The hostel lacked any elementary security mechanism that could guarantee first of all, no loss of personal items. Luggage was stored in a room whose key could be handed by the reception to anyone asking for it (that means anyone staying in the hostel or even passer-by , as shift changes in personnel and 24h incoming or departing customers did not guarantee any face control). What is more, the lockers in the rooms were pretty small and with no key.


83%

it was nice to stay ere, perfect position..maybe should be cleaner but the best at its own price

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

excellent!


63%

Good location, surprisingly clean kitchen for a hostel, only 4 showers and 4 toilets for the whole hostel, but at least there was always hot water, basic breakfast (cereal, toast and jam), wi-fi was really unstable in the room, but good downstairs in the pub, beds are a bit wobbly when someone moves in their bed, especially if you´re in the top bunk, but overall alright. Some rooms go out to the busy street, so earplugs are advisable. All in all it was alright for the money.


37%

Dirty hostel. Location seems good but its not. Regular breakfast, bad wifi, old facilities. almost no hot water. dirty linen, totally unfriendly staff. almost nothing good dont go to this awfull hostel


77%

location is great, staff ok, breakfast ok to. It could be more clean and the beds are really loud!! The wifi is a little bad on the last floor and the common rooms are not very nice. Overall for the location and the price i think it's good :)


60%

The Bathrooms were all Broken, it's not comfortable to just have one Shower and Toilet for all inhabitants. Also it was very dirty and always wet and because of that very unpleasent. In Spite of that the kitchen was very nice, it could just have better facilities ( there's a huge lack of cutlery for example). Furthemore i didn't like this complicated architecture of the house. But the Breakfast was very nice and also the breakfastroom.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Finding bedbugs the first night in, and being in a room with an impossible to close broken door (the Turquoise Room) définitely made our whole stay start on the wrong foot. The friendly Staff and Pub downstairs were really appreciated, but the overall experience wasn't up to what we had expected when we came in.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location and price. Couldn't get any warm water in the shower - only hot.


29%

We went there for three nights and as soon as we arrived, we found dead fleas in our beds!! The showers are really dirty, the toilets as well. Plus the staff is not friendly at all. In terns of security our door wasn't locked at all we asked them to fix it but nothing has been done. I don't recommend this youth hostel to anyone. The only advantage is that it is closed to almost everything tourists want to see in London. ( 7minutes from Victoria Station)

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

it was the worst hostel ive ever been...i would rather pay double just to be sure i wont get any disease!! i dont recomend this hostel to anyone!!its not worth the price you pay even though the location is good....


69%

There wasn't too much space in the kitchen and the lounge. Liked having the lockers in the rooms for added security. The beds were three bunks high and were noisy. Limited bathrooms and showers.


63%

It was o.k. but I wouldn't stay past two nights-only place in London though that doesn't raise prices and still has vacancies over the weekend-good breakfast-lounge area sucks in same area of kitchen which is to small to be both-good showers your able to adjust temperature and pressure last throughout entire shower :^) surrounding area is great walking distance to Victoria station and plenty of places around to grab a hot meal-overall the whole place feels like a dingy pub


89%

Really lovely staff and bar stays open til 3am :)


77%

Located near Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, Parliament and Trafalgar Square are within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and cheerful. On the ground floor there is a pub, but by 10 pm the noise subsides and you can sleep normally. The room is VERY small, there is no space to leave baggage (guys, screw at least hangers on the wall!), a skimpy breakfast: toast, cereal, juice, tea / coffee. Bathroom and toilet are not too clean. Too little seats in the kitchen


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback