X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Surprise Backpackers Reviews

110 Vauxhall bridge Road, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
585 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 48%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The sort of place you'd go to if you needed to stay in the city centre but couldn't find a better option.. Rooms are cramped. Bathrooms are dirty and one section is always flooded. The free breakfast items have to be chosen carefully - everything seems to be from TESCO's Everyday Value range. The wi-fi connection is very poor. The only positive things about it are the location and the friendly staff. Didn't use the kitchen to cook anything, but sat there one evening and did see one mouse.

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Don't stay here. Ever. Here's a list of what to expect from your stay in hell: *Staff had no idea which of the 3 floors our room was on *BED BUGS -furious. Severely bitten *Dirty toilets and showers, would be more filthy after using the facilities than when you went in *Bedroom floor wet *Bedding all damp and mouldy *Seen a rat in the breakfast dungeon. Disgusting *Bread at breakfast mouldy. Get an EHO in here immediately. Appalling.


91%

스태프분들이 엄청 친절하고 위치가 정말 좋음.


54%

You'll get what you payed for,in London hostels horribles ,except very expensive.. There is no common room,so after midnight go sleep or stay outside,it's always queue to bathroom Very boring atmosphere!!!


57%

I feel like I can't really complain, as this hostel was one of the cheapest I could find and it was very well positioned near Victoria and the river. But be warned, it is fairly gross - I definitely wouldn't stay more than one night. And those triple bunks are a nightmare!


77%

Good staff

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Over a pub. Simple but OK. Very convenient location. Stayed one night mid-week and it spared me an overnight return coach journey. Slept well on my 3-tier bunk bed.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Dirty Rooms, unsteady beds, mini reception, unpleasant bathrooms (unisex), Toilet out of Order,... Breakfast okay, clean sheets

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Very poor hostel. Dirty, only two showers and two toilets for the entire building with shower lines up to an hour long! Very unpleasant stay!


71%

It wasn't a bad hostel because there was breakfast included, it was well situated, and very cheap regarding to that and it was secure. It was also good because of the beds and some of the showers were hot and just perfect. But the hostel had really few showers (some of them not working properly), the floor was always full of water. Few toilets too, in only one of the floors. Small kitchen & Common Room. No heat in the room, but they were too hot. And I spent 4 nights with disrespectful people.


71%

They have to spent some money to renovate the bathrooms and the kitchen and clean more often and good. Then i don't have any other bad points to mention. The staff is more than great!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

- Girl in my room was mad at me since she booked an all female room. receptionist joked about the cleanliness of the shower room upon arrival. Don't add breakfast to your stay, not worth it. Lugagge room = pigeon palace. matras lies on a plank, pillow and blanket are synthetic, I had lipstick or something on my sheets. showers were raggedy. old people live there. OLD AND BUSTED + enough plugs for everyone in the rooms +nice neighborhoud

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Very small room, should have less beds. Showers and bathrooms durty.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The place has not good infrastructure to work as a hostel. The shower room and toilettes are very messy and the cleaning isn't well done. The kitchen is bareble, but should be more organized and cleaned. The rooms are small and the beds are not very resistent for three people sleep without shaking its structure and making noises.

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

There was mice all over the hostel. I went in the kitchen to get water and there was mice eating food of the floor. In my room, you could hear the mice running around. In the morning, I told reception that there is mice all over the hostel, she didn't seem shocked nor surprised at this. The receptionist was unattractive, overweight, grumpy and rude even huffing at two spanish girls asking her to speak slowly. The council have a duty to close the hostel for health reasons. It is unfit to trade.


83%

Nice little place with great beds. Very near tubes and barclays bikes and bus stops. Near main tourist sites.


49%

The hostel lacked any elementary security mechanism that could guarantee first of all, no loss of personal items. Luggage was stored in a room whose key could be handed by the reception to anyone asking for it (that means anyone staying in the hostel or even passer-by , as shift changes in personnel and 24h incoming or departing customers did not guarantee any face control). What is more, the lockers in the rooms were pretty small and with no key.


83%

it was nice to stay ere, perfect position..maybe should be cleaner but the best at its own price

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

excellent!


63%

Good location, surprisingly clean kitchen for a hostel, only 4 showers and 4 toilets for the whole hostel, but at least there was always hot water, basic breakfast (cereal, toast and jam), wi-fi was really unstable in the room, but good downstairs in the pub, beds are a bit wobbly when someone moves in their bed, especially if you´re in the top bunk, but overall alright. Some rooms go out to the busy street, so earplugs are advisable. All in all it was alright for the money.


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback