X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sydney Backpackers Reviews

Victoria House, 7 Wilmot Street, NSW 2000, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
259 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 55%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Cheap. Kitchen Is far too small for the amount of people the hostel can accommodate for. Otherwise not bad for what you pay or.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The first night I was in hotel, the spring mattress was sagging. It was really uncomfortable for my back. I could not sleep well that night. The hostel should change these mattresses.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

The whole place has a very dark, claustrophobic feeling. The bathrooms and showers smelled so bad- no windows so there was no ventilation. The location is good overall but is definitely located on a shady, random side street, so I would be careful at night. The beds are basically tabletops- SO hard. I would not go back to this hostel. There are plenty around the area where you can get A LOT better for the same price, if not less. The beds are not made for you, and you have to pay for a towel.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The rooms was ok: very spacious, useful lockers, fridge and television (we didn't use it) but it was realy cold! I complained about the air con and the staff wasn't very helpful at the beginning, but after that they checked the air con system and realized there was a problem that was fixed. And they gave me an extra blancket for free. The hostel vibe is completely missing, and that's a pity because the position is really really good, very central and near to lots of facilities!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Location and price are good. However it does not have a backpacker vibe.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Wifi was working poorly. Also, the matrasses in the top bunk beds were very hard. The location was very good though, close to the museum trainstation (easy to reach from the airport) en not too far from the city centre.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Just don't stay at this hostel. Yes it's cheap but the lack of atmosphere, friendly staff or visitors make the whole thing pointless. There is also a building site next door who start at 8am everyday of the week. It was dirty, didn't see one cleaner my entire stay (5days) and the common space is shocking. Just do yourself a favour, book somewhere else.

  • 1st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hostel and the amenities provided. My 6 bed female dorm had a television and a refrigerator, which was something I had not seen before in a hostel. The bathrooms were in general quite clean but they did not have any soap for hand washing. The staff were OK but seemed generally uninterested. Location was perfect ~ 20mins walk to pretty much all of the "essential" sights of Sydney and the area felt very safe. Cheaper than other options. I recommend!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Hostel was in a great location and very close to everything you need in Sydney. Only downside is the cleanliness off the hostel.. A number of the showers and toilets were pretty disgusting!

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Room was freezing and had no heat (even after asking staff to turn it on). Had to pay for extra blankets just to keep warm at night. Room had moldy smell, bathrooms were absolutely disgusting. Sketchy characters staying there. Kitchen was small and hard to use with so many people in there at once. Location is good, right off George St in the CBD. Mini refrigerator in the room which was nice as was the free wifi. Overall, avoid staying here. Go to 790 on George, or pay extra for Bounce.




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback