Hostelworld.com

Sydney Beachouse YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 211 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Dec 2016
9.1

For some reason this was listed as a "Wonderful Location" but Collaroy doesn't really have that much going for it except for a beach. I'd look at Dee Why or Manly if you are looking for any sort of nightlife. Hostel was clean and the pool area was a huge plus. Staff weren't super friendly, very strict on rules (which could be looked at as a positive or negative I suppose) and generally not that helpful with even minor requests like turning on the BBQ.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
4.9

This place is sadly an perfect example of how the staffs "I don't care"-attitude is making this hostel way worse than it could be. Facilities are good and the location is great but the service is just awful. I really hope that the managers/owners change their employment strategy and start employing people that are service minded.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Dec 2016
6.3

Overall an ok stay but wouldn't go back. Room was very small and cramped, floor was concrete and had one rubbish old fan. 2 plug sockets on one side of the room and practically had to beg for an extension lead so that 4 of us could charge our phones etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is ok and can easily access other beaches but in the evenings there isn't much to do. The kitchen was TERRIBLE. There was nowhere near enough equipment even go a round a few people and was all filthy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.9

Really cool looking hostel. The staff was very friendly and I very much appreciated that Marco (the night manager) visited the rooms with us - showed that the staff has genuine interest in checking that everything is OK and don't just ditch you after you pay. It was a bit of a let down that you had to pay for WiFi, but everything else was pretty much perfect. A little more expensive than others, but I'd say it is justified. It's a quiet, clean, cool looking place to hang out, would recommend.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
10.0

Amazing hostel! Really chilled and right on the beach. Great if you want out the drunken brit hostels in sydney cbd. Location is awesome

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Nov 2016
9.1

Great location, quiet, comfortable bed, large kitchen and dining areas, helpful staff. I would have stayed longer, but they were full. Reception were happy to look after some of my gear, after I checked out, until early afternoon. Hope to stay again in future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Oct 2016
9.7

I had never stayed in a YHA hostel before, so my first impressions were this is really a place for "flash-packers". But by the end of the day I realized that YHA's are designed as a hostel, not just some old house that gets converted into a hostel. The staff is really friendly, the place is clean, great facilities and heck even a pool! If you fiend yourself staying in hostels often especially in Australia then maybe get the membership to save a bit in the long run.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.