Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 334 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
3.1

I'd leave Sydney before having to stay here ever again. The place is disgusting, full of people who've clearly been there for a long Time and are working, walking in and out of each other's rooms, shouting and screaming. So roudy at night time, felt like I was in a zoo! Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, you can get a much nicer hostel for the same price elsewhere! We only went here because everywhere else was fully booked and we left it too late, only place available! Brutal! 😖

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.3

Wasnt exactly the cleanest and there was only 2 showers and toilets on each floor so found myself constantly waiting. Great location though and reception staff really nice so cant complain too much.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
6.6

Good location but my 4 bed dorm was tiny with nowhere to put your things...fine for one night though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
5.1

Place felt unsafe, no locks and unclean with cockroaches everywhere. We also booked and paid for a shuttle to the airport that never showed up and haven't recieved a refund for that yet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

A very cramped hostel, with poor wifi and nothing left for breakfast 1 hour after it started. They were sorry.. but I was hungry. If you are slightly over weight then you're not gonna fit in to the toilet.. sorry. But was clean which is good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.3

Rooftop is good. Free breakfast is also nice bonus. But there were cockroaches everywhere, no air-conditioning, no lockers and not enough showers and bathrooms. Also kitchen was too small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
5.4

The property did a turn over new year but it is very expensive for what it is. It's roughly 2.5km from the centre of Sydney although it is accessible by train. It's a bit of a fight to use the shower and toilet that is shared with 3 or 4 other rooms. An incident just before new year via email and an issue with payment was responded to in a a what felt intimidating matter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
5.7

Cockroaches in room, no fan given, constant flies in room, dirty and uncomfortable bathrooms, one of which had a broken window where people could watch you shower. Sorry but Backpackers are not to be treated like third class citizens.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.1

After travailing for a couple weeks after staying at this hostel, u can do lots worse even with the bigger hostels like Base and Nomads.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Nov 2016
9.4

Great atmosphere. Always clean. Perfect location 5 minute walk from the city. Awesome park just across the road. Free breakfast in the morning could be more exciting but it's free so can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.