Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.3
Sydney Central Backpackers Located at 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Sydney Central Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross
69% 324
-33.8720902 151.2238454
Sydney Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2017
6.6

Good location but my 4 bed dorm was tiny with nowhere to put your things...fine for one night though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
5.1

Place felt unsafe, no locks and unclean with cockroaches everywhere. We also booked and paid for a shuttle to the airport that never showed up and haven't recieved a refund for that yet.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
5.7

A very cramped hostel, with poor wifi and nothing left for breakfast 1 hour after it started. They were sorry.. but I was hungry. If you are slightly over weight then you're not gonna fit in to the toilet.. sorry. But was clean which is good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
5.4

The property did a turn over new year but it is very expensive for what it is. It's roughly 2.5km from the centre of Sydney although it is accessible by train. It's a bit of a fight to use the shower and toilet that is shared with 3 or 4 other rooms. An incident just before new year via email and an issue with payment was responded to in a a what felt intimidating matter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Dec 2016
5.7

Cockroaches in room, no fan given, constant flies in room, dirty and uncomfortable bathrooms, one of which had a broken window where people could watch you shower. Sorry but Backpackers are not to be treated like third class citizens.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.1

After travailing for a couple weeks after staying at this hostel, u can do lots worse even with the bigger hostels like Base and Nomads.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Oct 2016
4.9

Really nice rooftop ! But we spent all time trying to get rid of big cockroaches in our bedroom.. And the wifi is not working well

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Sep 2016
9.7

The owner was so accomodating and helpful. It made my move to holiday/work in Australia so much less stress free. Every few days I would extend my stay (I couldn't find more permanent housing) they were friendly and attentive even have me a discounted rate. I would stay here agian.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
3.1

Room was occupied long term by labour workers that turned the room into his own private kitchen/closet/rubbish museum. Got another room by reception. That room had 2 long term labourers who also used the spare (our) beds as their closets and food storage areas. Immediately Left to find a hotel room Would like my $16aus deposit returned thank you

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my stay. Staff very helpful, especially the owner Mike who gave me lots of sightseeing tips. Friendly atmosphere. Generous breakfast, kitchen a little small but spacious rooftop where you can barbecue. All good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.