Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Central Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 289 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
Sydney Central Backpackers Located at 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Sydney Central Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross
72% 289
-33.8720902 151.2238454
Sydney Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.3

The staff was nice, location made it easy to get around. I will definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • flying_fish_boy48
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
4.6

Was quite dirty and smelly, Staff were helpful. Most people there are working not traveling it seemed. In quite a ruff part of town but good access to stuff

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
6.3

The bedroom was large and clean, however, the kitchen was a mess, completely disgusting on my first morning, only four bowls in the whole kitchen so I had to wait until someone washed theirs to have breakfast. Very small lounge area. Bag room was just a cleaning cupboard, I had to dig my bag out from dirty washing when I picked it up. Some inconsiderate long term residents regarding noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

Great location to kings cross area, friendly staff at check in. Easy check in process! Great people around the hostel and the workers are super friendly!! Easy to get around this area and some really cool places to eat out. The hostel has the option to cook which is great aswell!! Just cook later or early as it gets quite busy in the kitchen with everyone cooking. Some great places to go out drinking and hostels offer some good discounts on places nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.3

I only stayed here for a few days but had a great time. I was made to feel really welcome by everyone as soon as I got there. Free wifi is good and the rooms are fine. Not the cleanest of hostels but because it's an old building it can't really be helped- the staff clean it ALL the time (so thank you :)) Location is great- I would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th May 2016
8.3

20 minute walk from Sydney CBD and 2 minute walk to Kings Cross station. Cleaned on a regular basis - but due to un hygienic people living in the hostel the bathroom and kitchen got so messy and dirty at times. The rooms got really cold and night with only a small thin blanket given as extra- and when the window had to be held shut with 2 tins of soup it didn't help the situation. Some other guests had mentioned about water coming in through the window but nothing was done! A bit of a shame!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jennellybean69
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2016
6.3

Staff were cool . The atmosphere is friendly but the bathrooms and showers aren't clean And there are 2 showers and 2 toilets for a whole floor . It smells . Woukd not go back to .

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great little place, cozy kitchen and plenty of interesting travelers. The wifi login system is annoying, but the connection is solid. Lovely little rooftop patio with a great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.0

Overall really enjoyed stay, facilities were good, lockers in room and staff were helpful. We were put in a room with a messy person but the staff quickly moved us to a much cleaner room. The only thing about the hostel is that pretty much everyone who stays here lives here long term so it makes you feel a bit left out, but of no fault to the actual hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
7.4

Enjoyed our stay at this hostel,good location (could walk to centre) clean & comfortable(although the rooms were very small).Decent sized kitched though busy. Nice crowd staying there,TV area with dvds & a couple of computers.Wifi kept disconnecting which was annoying. Staff were average,was unimpressed with one guy who wouldn't let us collect our laundry on our last night so we had to travel with wet clothes the following day (laundrette had shut but we didn't realise & he wouldnt unlock it).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.