Hostelworld.com

Sydney Central Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
Sydney Central Backpackers Located at 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Sydney Central Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 16 Orwell St. Kings Cross
71% 276
-33.8720902 151.2238454
Sydney Central Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great little place, cozy kitchen and plenty of interesting travelers. The wifi login system is annoying, but the connection is solid. Lovely little rooftop patio with a great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2016
8.0

Overall really enjoyed stay, facilities were good, lockers in room and staff were helpful. We were put in a room with a messy person but the staff quickly moved us to a much cleaner room. The only thing about the hostel is that pretty much everyone who stays here lives here long term so it makes you feel a bit left out, but of no fault to the actual hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
7.4

Enjoyed our stay at this hostel,good location (could walk to centre) clean & comfortable(although the rooms were very small).Decent sized kitched though busy. Nice crowd staying there,TV area with dvds & a couple of computers.Wifi kept disconnecting which was annoying. Staff were average,was unimpressed with one guy who wouldn't let us collect our laundry on our last night so we had to travel with wet clothes the following day (laundrette had shut but we didn't realise & he wouldnt unlock it).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Mar 2016
6.3

Hostel is in an okay location, just a few minutes walk from Kings Cross station. The beds were ok and bathrooms clean enough. The kitchen would be amazing in a smaller hostel however was always way too busy with not enough seating. Lots of longer term guests here, not great for making friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Mar 2016
4.6

Small hot room, scalding hot or freezing shower, tiny kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
8.3

The only thing was the rooms were really hot and it was sometimes too busy in the kitchen. None the less nice rooftop and good location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
8.0

Stayed there for 2 nights on the weekend of Mardi Gras. Felt decently clean, liked being able to get the towel and sheets when we checked in and make our own beds! Provided breakfast was AMAZING and very convenient. Rooftop lounge was cool, but very dark and closed at 9:30 which seemed early. Front desk staff was very helpful with provided maps and helping us choose routes etc. No safe in the room so we had to use ones behind the desk. 1 cockroach in room but that's pretty good for Australia!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Feb 2016
8.0

Yeh was a nice place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Clarie88
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Feb 2016
5.7

Found the reception staff to be quite in helpful. Was told I was able to do laundry at 7.30am to go up and didn it was 12.30pm? The rooms are too small for the amount of occupants and extremely hot. With the window opening up to another window a foot away security isn't great as you can't close the windows as it becomes a sauna. Location is the best thing about this place and free toast in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2016
7.4

Reasonable stay although a few concerns that would stop me going back for an extended stay. 1. They photocopied my licence, forgot to give it back, never contacted me about it - even when I went to pick up my bags, and now it's my problem to send them a self-addressed envelope for them to post it back. That is a poor service experience. No apology either 2. 4 bed room was small and very hot, I was sweating most of the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.