X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sydney Central YHA Reviews

11 Rawson Place, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
701 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Private room was great: spacious, clean and comfortable. Attached cafe served cheap food as good as home-cooked.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

There is no special comment. All good.


89%

Had a good stay here. Was lucky to time it with 75th anniversary of YHA. So had party free drink is always good. Staff were mostly really friendly and helpful. Only complaints. Sauna never seemed to work. Apparently the handy man was gonna look @ it but i gave up after trying 2 use it twice. Global gossip internet again average kept messing up. Saying i was logged in on 2 devices when i wasnt. paid for 4 bed mixed dorm and copped all male dorms with old blokes who snored rubbish sleep.


91%

Expensive but you get a lot as it looks more like a hotel.


97%

Had a feet time. Can't wait to go back!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It Was good but below expectation from what website and advertising leads to believe.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, friendly staff. Rooms could do with a bit of TLC. In our double room, the lighting was too dim and the temperature too high. Bed comfortable, good to have a hair dryer. Cafe was brilliant and the general atmosphere was very good.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

not enought light in room and wifi

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean, perfectly located, amazing showers!!!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

All was good except the noise from our neighbor and it seemed they were drunk

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed here at the beginning & end of our trip. This was a typical YHA - a good place to rest your head but nothing special. It is right next to central station, making it good for those coming from the airport. It is a good jumping off points for different neighborhoods but is a long walk to the harbor. Bathrooms were mostly clean and were quickly cleaned up when dirty. Lower floors are loud so I recommend requesting an upper floor. Some staff is definitely better & more informed than others


63%

No towels and no free internet


91%

We really enjoyed our stay at Sydney Central YHA. The first day my wife had a fall and sustained a sprained ankle. On returning to the YHA after the incident she enquired as to whether they had any ice available to help reduce the swelling. The receptionist on duty was really great and ran around trying to locate ice eventually doing so at the Cafe attached to the Hostel. We were very impressed with her helpful attitude. Our room was great but bed linen and towels very worn.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback