Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Central YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1074 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.6

there wasn't hair dryer in the toiler which is not convenient....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.6

Nice hostel. Busy and loads of people but clean and helpful staff. A bit far to walk to the harbour but very central to city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
7.4

I have never been totally satisfied with YHA's but this one was the worst so far; The bathrooms were really gross, The room was way too hot (no fans or ac) and there's no free wifi as per usual. The best feature is the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • KirstyDinning
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Feb 2017
6.0

Not fantastic, too big! People aren't really chatty or willing to talk to you. Staff are nice and it's a great location but the Hostel itself isn't fantastic, must better places that are better value for money!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
6.6

Thought YHA would be fab as its advertised as a 5* hostel, instead I found it very adverage and not as good as other places I have stayed at for a lower price. The general atmousphere was fine but the rooms had a grubby feel which I was not expecting and did not smell good. Corridoors similarly did not feel clean- nothing majorly wrong but nothing overly impressive either, would not nessicarilly choose to stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Well located near the train station, the hostel was easy to access and my room was clean and well maintained. All the rooms have electronic keys (as do the bathrooms) so make sure you don't go anywhere without yours! There were spacious lockers in every room (and USB power sockets in each one so you could safely charge electronics whilst out). The free wifi is only available on the bottom two floors and the small roof terrace but the speed was ok. Overall the hostel was convenient and v secure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • vinc_xxc3080
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Really clean and nice hostel You pay a bit more, but I think its worth it. Nice big rooms, kitchens and TV rooms. Nice rooftop as well!! The wi-fi should be better thought!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Very convenient with helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jan 2017
5.4

quite anonymous and the carpet really smelled bad in my dorm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

Excellent hostel, staff were the standout positive bits, they were really nice and genuinely interested in providing a great service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.