X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sydney Central YHA Reviews

11 Rawson Place, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
885 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

sometimes noisy at noon……because the pub downstairs...

  • 8th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Washrooms need to be cleaned more often.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Frontdesk was super friendly and helpfull. Just srayed for one night so didn't used the further facilities

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel itself is great, it has a movie theatre, a pool on the roof, friendly staff with good tours and walks as well as plenty of opportunities to meet others. The biggest issue with the place is that it is overrun by families using it as a budget hotel.


80%

I think you should extend the free wifi into the cinema room.


60%

Bed was dirty, bedding wasn't fresh. I had no pillow case on my pillow. The showers never seemed to be cleaned and neither were the rooms. There was an awful smell in the room 620. I checked out early. There is some activities on for guests and there are quite a few other backpackers. Location is good.


57%

The toilets were not very clean and because the doors are keycard operated, they lock you out at 9.59 which is a bit mean given check out is at 10 and sometimes you need to be a little bit flexible in life. Was also significantly more expensive than hostels out of Sydney which given the YHA is a large organisation, I think is a bit mean.


89%

Really nice stay, good atmosphere & free WiFi. Also let us use our last few days to a different YHA which was really continent for us. Excellent location, like 20 minute walk into town and only 30 seconds to central train station.


100%

Brilliant hostel, bathrooms were really clean, staff were friendly and the facilities were excellent


91%

I would definitely stay here again, it's a little more money than most places, but there was nothing to complain about. The whole hostel was very clean, the showers had great water pressure. The pool isn't really for swimming, more for just sitting. The location was great for getting around.

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location next door to central station and easy access to all attractions. Clean and comfortable stay with friendly atmosphere, suitable for all ages. Staff were helpful. Thanks to the manager Sam, you were really helpful and made us feel really welcome.


100%

by far the beset hostel I've stayed at. All the facilities are very clean and there is so much to do at the hostel such as swimming pool, rooftop BBQ, sauna, cinema and many large communal areas for everyone to hang out. There is always social events going on in the evening so I was never bored and it was a great way to meet people. 10 out of 10

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This hostel is completely lacking in atmosphere as most ppl staying here (at least in my room) are year long travelers with no money or energy to do much. Honestly I found it to be a very weird place, also didn't get a lot of effective assistance from staff when asking for city or transportation information. No free wifi in rooms, minimal outlets, and they ran out of pancakes on free breakfast day. Would not stay here again or recommend to a friend.


69%

Really nice and clean hostel, would just say since being at a different one the atmosphere there wasn't that great! Staff/guest interaction wasn't great compared to others!


94%

Do not miss the walking tour with Robyn ; an excellent guide and a lovely personality .

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Basic accommodation as you would expect but other hostels are better than this one.

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Next to central station and can walk to most places in the city very easily. Clean, secure facilities with lockers in rooms. Free wifi in communal areas, although this can make it slightly unsocial at times as everyone is on their phones etc.


83%

Really lovely place to stay - lots of lounge areas and activities. The showers were consistently quite dirty - full of hair etc. Rooms were nice and there are plenty of lockers if you need them!


100%

Amazing staff, great location, excellent facilities

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Great staff, and location. Atmosphere is terrible if you're looking to meet people or go out. It was full of families, and kids. Good if you're simply looking for a quiet place to sleep. Wouldn't stay there again simply because the atmosphere. Washrooms weren't that clean, rooms didn't get the garbage taken out and cleaning was hours late. Fairly minor things. Overall good for families and kids.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback