Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Harbour YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
Sydney Harbour YHA Located at 110 Cumberland St, The Rocks, , Sydney.
Sydney Harbour YHA
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 110 Cumberland St, The Rocks
91% 837
-33.8601972 151.2067651
Sydney Harbour YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Nov 2016
8.9

Amazing hostel. Phillip from reception is very caring. Breathtaking view at the rooftop. It is more expensive but there is a reason. Everything is really clean and there is lots of info for activities in Sydney and to travel to other places. Kitchen has every little thing you need. Room is big enough and ensuite bathroom is awesome. I would definitely stay here again but I know it is really popular so, book in advance!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.6

Great staff, great location, good price. Atmosphere did not seem to be anything out of the ordinary, however this could be because I didn't spend too much time at the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Callie7679
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.9

Staff were super friendly. I staying in a 4 bed mixed dorm, the room was comfortable, and the ensuite was clean. The beds aren't super comfortable but they do the job. Make sure if you want the air conditioning turned on, you ask reception because only they can change it. The kitchen facilities are large and well equiped. This is a family hostel, so don't expect much partying to be going on. And the view from rooftop is beautiful, especially at night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

This is a great place! Super clean, great facilities, and in a fantastic location at the Rocks. Only downside is it's run more like a hotel so the atmosphere wasn't really there. It has a fantastic view of the harbour from the terrace and is only a 5-10min walk away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Nov 2016
7.1

Pros: -On top of historic Rocks site -Great view of the Opera House and Harbor bridge from view deck -Large kitchen/dining area -Bathroom/shower access in the room -No age limit -Power outlet inside locker -Spacious rooms Cons: -Free Wifi limited to main lobby area -Don't get off at Circular Quay (CQ) to walk there with luggage, lots of uphills and stairs -Must tell front desk to turn AC on in the room -Closest access to CQ closes early at night, must go around front if late

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Nov 2016
10.0

One night stay on arrival in Sydney, close to Circular Quay train station and amazing views. The 24hr staff on reception were very helpful and printed my boarding card for my flight the next day. Everything you would expect from a good hostel: 24hr free wifi in the lounge, clean room, modern shower, had my own plug socket on a top bunk and each bed has it's own locker which is a decent size.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.6

Great Stay, I met very good people! Perfect location, walking distance from everywhere. Free wifi only available on the first floor. Room quite simple but spacious. You have to take your own lock for the locker. I was in the second floor and there was no lift, these things happen but no help was offered by the staff for helping me with the luggages, at least they could ask. Nice common area. Totally recommendable! Amazing terrace, greaaaaaat views from the rooftop!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Oct 2016
8.9

It a large complex(four floors) with a large gathering area(on the second floor), with tables and the kitchen area just off reception. It could not be more perfectly located for someone who is going to the Opera House for a theater program. All the water tours leave from a short walk from YHA-The Rock. Bus, Train, taxi all are close. Several swinging places are just moments away. The water ferry will take you to the beach. One can walk downtown. I found it worked 100% for me. Great staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Oct 2016
9.4

Perfectly located within walking distance of the Sydney Harbour. The rooftop views of the Sydney Harbour was amazing - it makes it a great place to watch the sunrise and sunset. I also liked how the room had its own bathroom, which had a modern/contemporary style to it, giving it an upgraded hostel feel to it. Unfortunately, free wifi was only available in the lounge - wifi in the rooms was extra charge. Hostel is a bit pricey but it's still worth the price based on descriptions mentioned above.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Oct 2016
8.9

Great location, clean kitchen and lots of kitchen units to cook on, en suite was really nice almost hotel quality, nice warm showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.