Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Harbour YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
8.6

A really great location! Not much atmosphere but I found it a great place to stay for one night to be close to Circular Quay and the Rocks. Nice and clean with comfy beds and an outlet for each bed. The staff were really helpful as well. A bit expensive to me but very worth it for a night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel is the best choice I've made. Perfect location close to tourist attractions and to the train station. Lovely staff and clean rooms. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
10.0

Was in Sydney for business and found YHA private room with ensuite a great stay. Great facilities, proximity to The Rocks and CBD, and nice clean, quiet YHA. Thanks :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

Everything about my stay was great, except for the cost. I am a YHA member, i booked the room online, but I apparently was not able to get the members discount because of who i booked through, I was not aware of this till i went to pay for the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.9

Good hostel (location!), would stay again. However, one complaint: There is no (free) wifi in the rooms, only in the 1st floor common area. And the free wifi was super, super slow. You have to pay extra for wifi in the room. Also strange: Lots of old people (60+) in a hostel that has "youth" in its name (YHA). They did not really bother me (although some were louder than most young people), but in a hostel branded to be a "youth" hostel I would have expected me (30) to be one of the oldest.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2017
10.0

Biggest kitchen I've ever seen. And everything is clean. View of Opera House from balcony and proximity to Opera House make this a great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
8.6

Great location!! Close to the harbour and in an awesome neighborhood with lots of restaurants and an open air market on the weekends. Facilities were nice and new and the hostel felt very clean. Would not recommend for someone traveling alone as this was not a very social hostel compared to others I have stayed in but that was my only complaint!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Clem7Chan
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location and views, would stay here again and remember to book early if u want to stay for a couple of nights!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kocathy0925955
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.3

It's a clean and safe place that is in the heart of Sydney, but there's not much going on here socially. It's a big hostel so the staff kind of just does the bare minimum and doesn't interact with guests. Wifi was pretty good, and they have a big lounge. They sell coffee and breakfast pastries at the counter, but there are a couple good bakeries nearby where you could get something better for the same price. I feel like muted kindness or lack thereof might be an Aussie thing towards Asians.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
6.3

Great location and view of the harbour from the roof. Staff were... OK. Although compared to other hostel staff nowhere near as energetic or fun. With regards to value for money, I paid $50/night which was a ridiculous amount to pay for what it was. Admittedly it's Sydney but come on, that's an extortionate amount to pay for what it is. Would not return.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.