Hostelworld.com

Sydney Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 239 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Sydney Hostel Located at 9 Shabaan street, Downtown, Amman.
Sydney Hostel
Jordan
Amman 9 Shabaan street, Downtown
85% 239
31.9519037 35.9285384
Sydney Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th May 2016
9.1

Fantastic place right in downtown and a short walk from Rainbow Street. Cheap, clean dorms and a very nice lounge area. I stayed in three different budget hotels in Amman and Sydney was by far my favorite. Hot water is only available in the morning and at night but that's understandable considering the cost of utilities in Jordan. Bathroom is clean and they even have a shower curtain! Boogie the cat is the man. He's not always there but when he is, he sucks up all the attention.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

Sidney Hotel is amazing. And it is the people who work that who really give it its quality. They keep the place well serviced and clean, are very helpful with navigating Amman and arranging transportation, etc. Tariq is simply amazing. The hotel wouldn't be half as good without him. Very pleasant to talk to, helpful, warm, and gives a good impression of Jordan and Jordanians. The man deserves a promotion!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
8.9

Overall a good hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The locatation downtown was excelent. Walking distance to most everything. There wasn't much of an atmosphere when I was there. But that may have more to do with Amman than the hostel itself. There is not a whole to do in this city. The only downside is the single shared bathroom. Not too bad most of the time, but there can be a bit of a wait when everyone is taking showers in the morning. I would stay here again if I was in Amman

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
9.7

Good location to Rainbow street and down into town. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
8.6

The dorm rooms here are extremely good value. A comfortable bed, bargain breakfast (2.5 JD) and excellent location make this a really good choice fo stayin in Amman. It is super close to an abundance of extremely good restaurants, popular with locals and tourists a like. The guy working here was always very helpful for recommendations and travel advice, despite seeming to always be working. It's slightly dark in the hostel due to a lack of natural light but that said I'd definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.0

super friendly staff, thanks for everything :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jan 2016
5.7

Might be good for the hot summer days, but at this moment the entire hostel is ice cold. Even with the extra blanket, I was shivering all the time. To top it all off, I caught a terrible cold and was coughing and sneezing the whole holiday. Bathroom was also quite run down and since there's no shower basin, you're literally flooding the whole bathroom every time you're taking a shower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2016
10.0

The man in charge was very professional and accomodating. It's the perfect location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2016
6.6

Dorm rooms are fine and place is comfortable. They cheat you when you arrive. Hostel World says breakfast is included but they charge you extra for it. They said its for the private rooms only. When I asked how I would know that he said they tell you when you arrive. Dishonest.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
9.7

A great budget hostel. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. There are two cats in the living room. I LOVE THEM. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.