Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sydney Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th May 2017
10.0

The Sydney is very centrally located, and the staff are quite superb. Probably the only negative thing that one could say about it is that the breakfast is just a bit monochromatic. But even there, it definitely does the trick, is just not as good as Jordanian breakfasts can be. Overall, an excellent value, and with all the services that a traveler would want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
8.9

Nice place and well looked after. Lockers in the dorms would be good though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
8.9

overall a great stay! There is a lot to do around the hostel and the staff is helpful and gives you a map and details on how to get places. The area the hostel is located is very safe and me and my friend (both females) never felt uncomfortable! also the hostel is real clean! The wifi only worked in the lobby though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 54 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.1

Breakfast is NOT included altought they say so in Hostelworld. Staff was nice, especially the girl who cleans every morning. WiFi was very good, location is OK. No lock in the dorms and no security lockers. They have a fridge and microwave which I found useful. Reading lights would be helpful. Only two bathrooms for all the dorms. An average hostel in general terms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
6.9

More of a hotel with some bunk beds than a hostel. No atmosphere and staff weren't exactly helpful. Good location, near Rainbow street and the main part of Amman, with parking outside and a coded door to enter the property. Overall, a decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.4

Very clean and well located, you can rest, tourist sites are on a walking distance (more than 10 min)... but you can enjoy amman if you stay here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.4

I loved my stay here. Very safe, warm & friendly. I would definitely come back. It's a home away from home and one of my favourite hostels. Great value for money. I stayed in the dorm. Also Tariq who works there is amazing amazing amazing! He treats everyone there like family & will completely sort out your trip & is super flexible & helpful. Thank you! Only things is - would be a bonus to have a bedside lamp & locker. But still all very secure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. We are glad that you had a great time. We are looking for good quality small side lamps so we will install them soon and there was a locker you can use. We would love to see you again.

9th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice place, helpful staff and decent (but not free) breakfast, tours are extortionately expensive though, if you can find multiple people to do a tour the cost is split between you otherwise its really expensive.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. The breakfast is not included for the dorms as it is written in its description. Unfortunately, to get around in Jordan is not cheap as many might think but it is much cheaper than England. Our tour prices are alot cheaper than any tour agency or other hotels but they can not compete with local transportation prices if found. Hope you enjoyed your trip and stay with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

great value for money and nice place. not particularly lively atmosphere but this was typical of jordan it seemed to me. my main qualm was, as nice as the staff were and as helpful as they were in many instances, upon travelling around the country, i found their advice on seeing different places to be either surprisingly uninformed or self-interested. They said they didn't know how to do many visits of sites apart from renting private taxis (which they offered) but cheaper options were available

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oliverpullein
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.1

Basic room. Good location helpful staff and friendly staff but had some issues getting hot water. Clarify at the start that you booked with hostel world as this effects the price and will avoid confusion.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We have hot water 24 hours now :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.