Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

TAS D VIAJE Hostel - Surf Camp - Suites

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 639 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel is great and worth the money. To improve: The rooms are a bit tiny but it was fine due the room weren't full. 3 lockers for four beds and only one that wasn't break.... The clearness of the room could be better, specially the ventilator full of dust (it will probably kill everyone if turned on) Recommendations: if you ae not going from December 24 until mid of February, do not expect a city full of people and things to do but if you get sunny weekends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JayVleugels
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Mar 2017
4.9

My rooms smelled like fungus or mold. Period.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.7

We really enjoyed our latest stay at Tas D Viaje. This was our first time having a private room and it didn't disappoint. Really cozy and charming private room with our private bathroom. We even had a window that showed the ocean. The staff was very nice and helpful, the hostel was very clean, the atmosphere was very relaxed, and the location was very convenient. I thought the private was a little pricey for the off season, but it was a special weekend for us, so it all worked out. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
9.7

Good hostel for a couple of nights, not a whole lot to do in Punta del Este in the low season, but my stay was comfortable and the staff were great. Close to the beach and restaurants/shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
9.1

The only issue with this hostel is the surfboard rentals. They charge a lot of money for old, poorly maintained boards ($15/day which is the price for a room in the off season). My friend took a board out and the leash (which was very old) broke after riding 2 small waves. The staff was very chill about the whole issue, but the owner demanded he pay for a leash. Anyone who's owned a surfboard knows leashes only break after a long time and lots of use. Outside of that, we loved this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.6

Pros: A very neat n clean hostel (the lady cleans atleast 4-5 times a day including a round at night), very well located, few blocks from the bus station, 1 block to the beach and the market. a very nice courtyard bar, prices just like any bar in PDE. wifi is great. lots of lockers Cons: rooms are cramped, the biggest issue is with 1 charging port, so u end up charging almost at the reception of the gallery. breakfast is so limited with just cold stuff there for the price they charge. pricey.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2017
8.0

Very well located, 5 minutes walking from the bus station and close to nice beaches, bars and clubs. Decent lockers in the rooms and overall good cleanliness and atmosphere. It is not allowed, however, to drink alcohol bought outside the hostel and the bar inside the property charges 2-3x the price you would find in a supermarket or liquor store.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
5.1

The rooms are incredibly small so you can't even stand shoulder to shoulder with another person inbetween the bunk beds and you can't sit on the lower bunk bed without hitting your head on the upper one. Indoor common spaces get crowded quickly. The rooms are incredibly hot and a noisy fan does only help little. The lockers in the room did not close. Incredibly noisy during the night since the bar is close to the sleeping areas. The hostel crowd consists largely of young party people.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
9.4

Great ambiance and location. Very good ambiance the night at the bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.