X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

THE BEACH waikiki boutique hostel Reviews

2569 Cartwright Rd., Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1191 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I found out this place used to have a bed bug issue and while they assured me the problem was taken care of and there were no more bed bugs in the facility, I couldn't sleep in my bed because there was very clear evidence of this past bed bug issue (ie bed bug blood/feces stains on the mattress cover and some molts/exoskeletons on the bed frame). In my opinion, even if the problem occurred awhile ago, you need to clean it up better - at least get new mattress covers.


100%

Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend New Years. Super friendly, super clean and super fun. Highly recommend...way better than any of the other places in Waikiki for an all round hostel

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay there. Very helpful and nice staff. Nice atmosphere. Valuable facilities including a large top roof/lounge with cool travelers hanging up there. Still small enough structure to get a good sense of community. Sooooo much better than the other close-by hostel we stayed in after.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Wifi was weak in the rooms, but aside from that the staff was extremely helpful! I had a fantastic time there -- Hostel had planned events and staff would take us out. Overall a great experience.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff gave the soul to hostel; best experience ever!! Highly recommended!

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

our stay at the hostel was amazing. stuff, guests, Location - everything was perfect. And if you re lucky you can win free sky dive for Christmas :P

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location on Waikiki! Not the best hostel but not a bad place to stay.


97%

Great location and comfortable rooms. Staff was friendly, but not fully knowledgable about local landmarks. I would certainly recommend this hostel and stay there again.


94%

A lovely 4 night stay. Really awesome staff. Nice rooftop terrace. Sweet breakfast. Excellent.


94%

The staff is very polite and solves almost all issues within minutes.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is on a street with many other hotels next to Waikiki beach therefore it is a great location. The rooms each have their own fridge bathroom and kitchen area (although you can't cook in your room, the extra sink is useful). Additionally, there is a very nice rooftop area with a bathroom, cooking area, and many places to sit. The staff are friendly and can help book some cars and trips. Breakfast is offered, however, it is mostly muffins and bread so I stored my own healthier food.


97%

Very good hostel but the staff is not always willing to help you. Especially Jose only provides help for Things he likes to do.


100%

The best place for staying! Highly recommended!

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location. Nice room (4 bed female room), very friendly staff, would stay again!

  • 24th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Such great staff; superb location; modern and spacious rooms.


91%

Booked for a four person dorm for three of us, got a private room with TV and ensuite. Staff were very helpful, free pizza night was great but get there early. Close to everything, but we didn't really meet anyone in the hostels. Would recommend for clean and affordable Waikiki accommodation.

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location!! My only complaint is the bathroom in the room smelled pretty bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you wonderful stay at the hostel. It can be little crowded in the private bathroom of MIX 6 bed room. You may not see this because your stay was only one night, but we do have excellent daily housekeeping service in noon. We will pay more attention on this area next time. Mahalo!

89%

Good overall


83%

This hostel was an old hotel. Each room is a hotel room with bunk beds, a kitchenette, lockers (bring your own lock) and bathroom with shower. Towels are available for $1. Good sitting area upstairs, although the night I was there not too many people congregating there. Decent beach a couple of blocks away, although it's quite shallow and full of coral reefs (great for snorkeling). A nice typical Hawaiian 'lunch plate' drive-in diner about a 5-7 min walk away (rainbow drive-in).


80%

Bathrooms were quite stinky. Honolulu's humid weather and rain help to ensure that it never gets dry in there...


(71 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback