X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Taksim Sopha Hostel Reviews

Kuloglu Mh. Aga Kulhani Sok. No:5 Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
456 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

This was my second stay with you--my first was great but at what I understand was another location. The second, I was first guided to a dirty bed that someone else was staying in and told it was fine, then your staff had different thoughts, came back, retrieved me, and put me in a room that was larger than the one I'd signed up for but relatively clean. I had to beg for a towel, etc., it just wasn't fun.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Great staff really helpful with booking stuff to do and helping out with travel. Great location too.


83%

It was a hood hostel and the best part is that its near istiklal street Staff is very friendly and good But there is only one problem that you will have trouble finding it :)

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Great location, but not the cleanest or most comfortable of hostels. The bathrooms get wet after every shower because the curtains do little to contain the shower water. It's also a very loud hostel and you can hear the showers running through the walls. Definitely bring earplugs.


89%

This hostel is right up there with the great hostels I've been to in terms of staff friendliness, atmosphere & location! Located just minutes from Taksim square it is in the middle of a buzzing area packed with bars and clubs. The common area was always occupied by chilled guests and helpful staff, which offered loads of great advice (often also joining themselves) as to where to go out for a drink or local dinner specialities. Would recommend to anybody who wants to see the real Istanbul!!

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good stay - Welcoming atmosphere, easy to hang with the staff / other guests. Easy enough to follow directions there; just follow them and you'll get there. Facilities were just okay -- Shower head didn't stay on very well, but it's a good place to crash for a few nights.


100%

Have stayed in a few other hostels in Istanbul, but this one is my favorite. Great open, inviting common area where everyone meets up, friendly staff, perfect location with less outside noise than others in Taksim. The owner is a Kiwi traveler himself, so you can expect this to be a real backpackers joint. Highly recommended.


94%

This is my favorite hostel anywhere. The accommodations are simple but functional, the location is perfect, and the staff are amongst the best people I've met in my travels.


77%

Was only there for one night between travels, friendly staff as well as helpful. Good location not far from taksim sq, nightlife, restaurants and shopping. Easy to meet fellow travellers on the common area. Would stay here again if back in Istanbul


60%

It was in a good location but difficult to find. The staff were friendly but not as knowledgable as I would have hoped. There was only one bathroom. I think there are some improvements that could be made but for the price, it's pretty good value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh we wısh you would have asked. there is 3 bathrooms for the dorm rooms. not to worry. We have just employed a new guy but as the place runs like a famıly home maybe you asked another guest for ınfo wıthout knowıng

97%

Great hostel, staff are awesome and very helpful. Location is great for accessing the nightlife and the major tourist spots are all very easy to get to from this central location. Get to know the people who work here and you'll have a lot of fun!


100%

Everyone was really nice !

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is ideally located for access to bars, clubs, shopping, but also for the metro, which brings you into the heart of historical Istanbul. The staff are fantastic and helpful, the atmosphere is relaxed and the nights out organised by the hostel are great fun.

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant place! Please try to stay for a couple of nights.


86%

These guys were bloody champs! The whole team are really genuine, down to earth guys and the hostel atmosphere reflects their chilled out attitude. Always down for a night out or a night in, I thoroughly enjoyed my time cruising around Istanbul with these guys to point me in the right direction!


100%

Great people, it was a bit tricky to find but they more than made up for it. Close to the action. I would stay there again.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

What a friendly, safe and chilled out place to hang out. Such beautiful staff who always made you feel so welcome. comfortable and happy to point you in the right direction. I would happily stay here again and would recommend anyone else too :-)

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Hospitable staff, excellent location and absolutely worth your money. Only problem I could think of was that it was rather warm in the rooms - and it's half april at the moment - but I slept great nonetheless.


97%

The staff are friendly, the location is great, and the atmosphere welcomes you!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Coolest place to stay at you could get in Istanbul. Especially if you want to be in a strategic place like beyoglu, couple of minutes away from the vibrant Istiklal street. Staff tremendously friendly and the whole atmosphere is charming matches perfectly that of the beautiful of Istanbul. Definitely recommending this place, hands down. Cheers!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(320 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback